Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone  (Read 538 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2826
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2018, 03:56:12 PM »

Just to point out my issue with my line is that despite it having very low es it has been capped and had high interleaving for 2 years. Any request to TT is met with "your speed is within expected range" so they hide behind this to avoid calls to BT.

Stuart

I doubt very much that you'd have much luck with PN on that one, although doesn't changing ISP trigger some sort of DLM reset.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2018, 04:10:27 PM »

No problems at all disagreeing, my friend. You have obviously had a couple of poor customer-care instances, and quite rightly so, you have formed an opinion based upon that.

Like you mention above, I do deal with various providers on a daily basis, and IMHO (and that is all it is, as I'm not affiliated to any ISP whatsoever), I feel Sky's tech-team are one of the best there is.

I will admit, we get to speak directly to the 'Tier 2 techies', whereas you might be directed through their 'Tier 1 support' first ?? If so, I can see where your comments arise ... as a percentage of the Tier 1 support will just be script reading, the same for most ISP's support desk.  :)

Ah, then our experiences are different. I do wish I could get straight to the Tier 2. I am a Networking Engineer by trade, and am a CCIE, I allegedly know what I am doing :)
The early SFUP days were specialist Fibre Support engineers- those guys were amazing.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2018, 04:20:56 PM by dee.jay »
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3100
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2018, 04:35:27 PM »

I doubt very much that you'd have much luck with PN on that one, although doesn't changing ISP trigger some sort of DLM reset.

Yes I believe it does. However by going over the head of TT to BT last year I got the cap removed and back on fp but it lasted about 24 hours before DLM slapped it all back on. I am convinced there is a problem on my line but cannot get it taken seriously.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2826
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #18 on: October 01, 2018, 05:47:32 PM »

I think you will struggle getting PN to fix that, although as John said on the speed profile with double the allowable ES you may well be OK.

I take it there's no news on VM going live round your way then?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6269
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2018, 10:48:41 PM »

I fear Black Sheep, as he mentions, might be getting to the good people within Sky, as he points out, but I would not know.

I hear good things about IDNet. But in the end, you have to decide what you want to spend your money on, beer or ISPs.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2826
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2018, 06:12:02 AM »

I hear good things about IDNet. But in the end, you have to decide what you want to spend your money on, beer or ISPs.

LOL, my monthly beer bill certainly wouldn't cover my monthly broadband bill.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31600
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2018, 01:15:05 PM »

Just to point out my issue with my line is that despite it having very low es it has been capped and had high interleaving for 2 years. Any request to TT is met with "your speed is within expected range" so they hide behind this to avoid calls to BT.

Stuart

I would think, bearing in mind your other points then either Plusnet or IDNet.   The migration should reset DLM because of the different profile, although you will have to bear in mind that the new default profile will likely mean a short period of time with Interleave.   In view of the fact that you've said several times that you get a lot of localised thunderstorms, then the Speed Profile should benefit you. 

I had to phone Plusnet last week on behalf of another user.  It wasn't great that I had to wait about 20-25mins for them to answer the call, but when I did get through the person was extremely helpful.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3100
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2018, 01:32:06 PM »

Do we know which ISPs use speed profile pray least would be amenable to changing to it?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31600
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Suggestions needed for new ISP for VDSL & phone
« Reply #23 on: October 03, 2018, 09:25:05 PM »

Do we know which ISPs use speed profile pray least would be amenable to changing to it?

https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/DLM.htm#dlm_stability_level

BT - You many have to request. 
IDnet - I think they do, but haven't had it officially confirmed.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 [2]