Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Possible Line Errors  (Read 369 times)

andrewtjb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Possible Line Errors
« on: September 25, 2018, 10:15:39 AM »

Hi

Iím wondering whether someone here might be able to explain my line stats.

Long story short I used to be with sky with sync of 64/20 I then switched to Vodafone and soon as I switched over my speeds dropped to around 46/16. I complained, so Openreach came out and did a line reset and my speeds went up to 55/16 I figured this could be Vodafoneís modem not being very good though as I heard of other people having issues with it.
 
I recently picked up a HG612 so I could use my own router but since plugging it in I seem to be syncing lower again for some reason and Iíve noticed I seem to be getting a lot of HEC errors.

Does this mean thereís a line fault?

Hereís my telnet stats:
# xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 15926 Kbps, Downstream rate = 51880 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 15930 Kbps, Downstream rate = 52117 Kbps

Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        6.4             6.0
Attn(dB):        17.8            0.0
Pwr(dBm):        6.8             6.8
                        VDSL2 framing
                        Bearer 0
MSGc:           17              14
B:              239             238
M:              1               1
T:              64              29
R:              14              16
S:              0.1466          0.4775
L:              13864           4272
D:              1               1
I:              254             255
N:              254             255
                        Counters
                        Bearer 0
OHF:            25294929                1331966
OHFErr:         343             103
RS:             1618848293              585943
RSCorr:         3316            728
RSUnCorr:       5310            0

                        Bearer 0
HEC:            3184            0
OCD:            121             0
LCD:            121             0
Total Cells:    1669803996              0
Data Cells:     135186819               0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             200             82
SES:            0               0
UAS:            25              25
AS:             59552

                        Bearer 0
INP:            0.00            0.00
INPRein:        0.00            0.00
delay:          0               0
PER:            2.35            6.95
OR:             78.15           23.01
AgR:            52195.48        15953.49

Bitswap:        37931/37955             67/68

Total time = 16 hours 32 min 57 sec
FEC:            3316            728
CRC:            343             103
ES:             200             82
SES:            0               0
UAS:            25              25
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 57 sec
FEC:            6               3
CRC:            0               1
ES:             0               1
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC:            5               3
CRC:            0               1
ES:             0               1
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Latest 1 day time = 16 hours 32 min 57 sec
FEC:            3316            728
CRC:            343             103
ES:             200             82
SES:            0               0
UAS:            25              25
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC:            0               0
CRC:            0               0
ES:             0               0
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Since Link time = 16 hours 32 min 31 sec
FEC:            3316            728
CRC:            343             103
ES:             200             82
SES:            0               0
UAS:            0               0
LOS:            0               0
LOF:            0               0
LOM:            0               0
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1878
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2018, 01:34:07 PM »

can you post the results of the command

xdslcmd info --vendor

Unless you're on Huawei cabinet and G.INP hasn't returned I don't know how your were getting such high speeds with Sky.

Speed is the same regardless of ISP. You don't even change port on the DSLAM when you switch.
The DLM profile resets on a switch and sync speed can go lower for a week or 2 till DLM optimises the line profile but if you are on an ECI cabinet you're on the best profile.

It could be a coincidence that you got a crosstalker around the same time you switched. It's certainly nothing the ISP can control though. They ALL share OpenReach FTTC deployment and none of them can control a single parameter.

Different ISP's can choose different DLM categories/policies, known as Speed/Standard or Standard/Stable (terminology varies between different ISP's) but that is neither here nor there if you're already in the optimum profile.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

andrewtjb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2018, 05:48:58 PM »

xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 15946 Kbps, Downstream rate = 51644 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 15930 Kbps, Downstream rate = 52117 Kbps

ChipSet Vendor Id:      IFTN:0xb206
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xb206
ChipSet SerialNumber:   5501774959

I donít get it either I assumed it was either the modem or G.INP but looking at that it seems Iím on a ECI cabinet.
I was originally on the lower fibre package with sky and had 40/10 I then upgraded to 80/20 and it synced at 64/20 straight away and stayed there.

On the switch over day as soon as the sky router went dead I plugged the Vodafone router in and from the start it was in the 40s for download.

When the Openreach guy was here I queried why there was such a speed drop, but he didnít know either said the line seemed fine. He did say though that Iím on aluminium lines and they are fragile, but he said he checked for breaks but didnít find any. The only other thing else he mentioned was possibly a wire could have been knocked or something in the cabinet and said he would check that itís all ok in there before he leaves.

I didnít see any speed improvements, so I assumed it was all ok in the cabinet.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6272
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2018, 11:42:08 PM »

I get the feeling that you must have been experiencing a really low SNRM downstream at the time of the previous ISP. A tweaked SNRM target would explain this but I presume that was not the case. That idea does not explain anything because it just replaces one question with another even if correct. We are missing the stats with the previous ISP. Trying a better modem might help.

Also, a belated welcome to the forum.
Logged

andrewtjb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2018, 06:26:22 AM »

Thank you 😊

My line has been stable so can't really complain just would have been nice to get the fast speed back. Think my best bet now is to recconect the Vodafone router and use that as a modem instead of the hg612 as the Vodafone router is able to sync a little higher.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6272
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2018, 11:37:24 AM »

There are lots of good modems that are more modern than the HG612, so the Vodafone random one is not your only choice.

I use a ZyXEL VMG 1312-B10A, which is superb. However, I am on a slow ADSL2 link, so not a valid test relevant to your case, but lots of kitizens use ZyXEL modems and swear by them and some presumably use VDSL2 / FTTC. Those modems are not being made any more but new ones can still be had on eBay although they are horribly expensive as they are so very sought after. There are other ZyXEL wireless modem router combo devices available, which are presumably just as good in terms of modem performance [?] and are still currently being manufactured. I am not sure if the newer and cheaper VMG 1312-B10D is inferior in modem performance on a short fast FTTC line, but it is supposed to give inferior performance on ADSL, because the B10D lacks a filter present in the high quality analog front end of the B10A.

It is possible that a very good modem might give you more speed, but I do not imagine it will be a huge amount. Ask for modem recommendations from people here who know what they are talking about and are FTTC users if you wish.
Logged

andrewtjb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2018, 12:31:18 PM »

Thanks, Iíll have a look around Iíve got the Vodafone one hooked up at the moment I believe itís a Huawei HHG2500 with a BCM63168.

Itís working ok for now however my sync has dropped but I think Iíve set off the DLM from switching modems around so hopefully it should recover. On the plus side Vodafone guarantee 55meg so if the sync drops lower they gave you discount until its fixed so I can claim that while I wait.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6272
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Possible Line Errors
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2018, 01:14:57 PM »

So that is the same chipset. But the posh analog front end and filter might make a difference in some cases, but I would assume not in all, if your signal is just too good anyway.
Logged