Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: DLM Reset  (Read 1447 times)

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
DLM Reset
« on: September 22, 2018, 08:31:35 AM »

Good morning,

I am new here so go easy  :)

I had an engineer out yesterday and he performed a dlm reset.
He said my line was capped at 35 meg and he changed it to 55 meg.
Do the below stats look to be in line with this as i expected a change in the early hours?
Stats recorded 22 Sep 2018 07:31:04

DSLAM type / SW version:   IFTN:0xd086 (208.134) / v0xd086
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6F039g1.d24m
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                     17 hours 18 min 12 sec
Resyncs:                   0 (since 21 Sep 2018 19:37:32)
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     18.9      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not monitored      
Connection speed (kbps):   43213      5521
SNR margin (dB):           6.4      6.2
Power (dBm):               13.4      -8.7
Interleave depth:          1      1
INP:                       0      0
G.INP:                     Not enabled      Not enabled
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

RSCorr/RS (%):             0.0052      0.1482
RSUnCorr/RS (%):           0.0002      0.0000
ES/hour:                   10.9      32.2

Thanks,
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31695
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2018, 09:12:37 AM »

Hi and welcome. :)

The reset appears to have worked and cleared the 35Mb cap.    55Mbp is more of a product cap set at the DSLAM.

Your line appears to be more or less running at full capability (Target SNRM is 6.3db). 
From memory 20db atten gives some where in the 50 Mb range but it entirely depends upon the amount of crosstalk on your line.   
You are also on an ECI cab so don't have the benefit of G.INP and x dB.   



Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2018, 09:17:00 AM »

Thanks for the info I'm about 500 meters away from the cab so I expected I bit more but still a lot happier than the 35 meg I was getting :)

Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31695
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2018, 09:25:39 AM »

>> I'm about 500 meters away from the cab

What does the dsl checker predict for your line?
https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2018, 09:33:19 AM »

See attached,

Apparently according to BT a should get in between 52 and 55Mbps,
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31695
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2018, 09:45:58 AM »

Hmmm.    That is rather low and you are only just above the handback threshold.  :(

Presumably the engineer carried out the usual line tests as well as just resetting DLM?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2018, 10:09:13 AM »

Yes he checked my master socket and said there was a fault at the cab and went off to fix it.

Then he rang me about an hour later to say he had applied the fix and done the reset.

My speed went up straight away to the 43Mbps when I thought DLM would do its thing overnight.

I did swap routers as soon as I came off the phone but surely this would not effect the reset?

I only plugged in my bt hub for the engineer visit as I didnt want him to refuse a fix due to using my own router.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1985
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2018, 10:20:40 AM »

Hmmm.    That is rather low and you are only just above the handback threshold.  :(

Aren't they just below it?

See attached,

Apparently according to BT a should get in between 52 and 55Mbps,

That seems an extremely narrow estimate.
BT will have given you an estimate by email when you signed up or last renewed.

52-55Mb is a considerably narrower an estimate than I've ever seen before.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2018, 10:28:43 AM »

How fast will it be?

We estimate your download speed will be between 54Mbps and 55Mbps, and your upload speed will be between 9Mbps and 10Mbps. 

The minimum guaranteed speed you can expect from your broadband will be 49Mbps. 

Actually it's narrower than I thought.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31695
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2018, 11:26:56 AM »

Aren't they just below it?


Oops sorry my bad.    :-[
Must have misread :(     If its below the threshold then they can go back to the ISP - especially now its emerged that BTr themselves quoted above that figure.

>>43Mbps when I thought DLM would do its thing overnight.

Engineer resets take effect immediately.    I can't see that DLM has anything more to give. Interleave = 1 (off).  ECI cab so no G.INP.
SNRM at 6.4 (compared to 6.3) may give you a tiny bit more if you reboot your modem, but not much.  :(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2018, 11:34:46 AM »

No worries I will leave things alone for now.
I'm too scared to do any more reboots anyway due to DLM don't want to be dropped again.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1985
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2018, 11:49:57 AM »

Wow, such a narrow estimate considering the BTw checker results.

Quote
The minimum guaranteed speed you can expect from your broadband will be 49Mbps.

That's the magic figure. You're well below it. You could call and request they try increase speeds.
They may try a pair swap/port swap if they haven't already.

If you're unlucky they may just say nothing more we can do and you would be free to leave your contact early.
That's not much good though as you would get the exact same from another ISP if on the same pair.

Interesting to note your line went straight to fastpath.
Recent DLM resets I've seen go interleaved, even on ECI cabs.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Shakermaker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2018, 01:11:41 PM »

On a few occasions I have noticed my SNR go up to 8.5db thus raising the attainable rate to 49Mbps.

If I was to do a reboot when this happens would my sync rate creep up to the attainable?

And more importantly would the sync rate stay there when the SNR drops back to 6db?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39360
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2018, 01:47:00 PM »

That will most likely be when a neighbour temporarily goes off line and reduces the crosstalk affecting your line. If you reboot during this period you will probably get an increased connection speed, then when the crosstalk returns, your SNRM will drop to ~3 to 4 dB. Whether your connection remains stable is in the lap of the gods.
Logged
  Eric

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6565
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: DLM Reset
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2018, 05:27:45 AM »

Also a welcome from me Shakermaker.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3