Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem  (Read 332 times)

smallal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« on: September 14, 2018, 02:03:27 PM »

I had G.FAST installed a couple of days ago, BT sent the HH6XA router through the post but the engineer was kind enough to let me have a MT992 off his van as well.
Had a peek inside the MT992 & noticed that although it only has 1 LAN port fitted, the board is made to have 2 ports. Could this be a way to hack it as with the HG612 VDSL model I wonder.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1783
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2018, 02:40:31 PM »

Do you own a USB to TTL serial cable?
Would it be something you would be willing to attempt?

edit: the original MT992-10 that the OpenReach variant comes from only has a single Ethernet port.

https://e.huawei.com/en/products/fixed-network/access/ft/mt992
« Last Edit: September 14, 2018, 02:48:52 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2018, 03:20:09 PM »

Very interesting. Also worth a fortune on ebay right now! They are very hard to get hold of.
Logged
BT Infinity 2, Huawei 288, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A (bridge mode), pfSense

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23568
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2018, 04:26:05 PM »

Very interesting.

Agreed.  :)

However, after close scrutiny of both images, I do not see any obvious location (for header pins) to provide access to the serial console.  :(  I suspect that it will need someone with an oscilloscope, to probe various possible locations, to identify where such connections could be made.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

DaveC

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2018, 06:26:45 PM »

Out of interest, did you also get a "G.fast" faceplate fitted on your master socket?  If so, I think there would be interest to see photos of the internals of that as well.

Thanks!
Logged

smallal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2018, 07:00:18 PM »

I don't think there is a G.FAST plate as such.
The engineer said I already had the correct plate, its a MK4.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2018, 07:17:59 PM by smallal »
Logged

DaveC

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2018, 07:29:16 PM »

I don't think there is a G.FAST plate as such.
The engineer said I already had the correct plate, its a MK4.

Interesting the engineer said that - there are photos circulating (I think originally from openreach documents) of a faceplate with "g.fast" written on it, but maybe that's just cosmetic (advertising g.fast), and the internals are the same as the MK4.
Logged

smallal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2018, 01:26:35 AM »

I did notice the engineer had a new backbox & faceplate with him, but it was the same as I already have (MK4), so perhaps the photos were early versions of this plate.
Certainly it works fine as I'm getting the full 330/50 service (I'm only 80-90m from pod)
Logged

dee.jay

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Inside the Huawei MT992 G.FAST modem
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2018, 11:39:08 AM »

I did notice the engineer had a new backbox & faceplate with him, but it was the same as I already have (MK4), so perhaps the photos were early versions of this plate.
Certainly it works fine as I'm getting the full 330/50 service (I'm only 80-90m from pod)

Very nice! It's great to know that for those who can at least get it, are seeing the full 330Mbps.
Logged
Line 1 - Sky FTTC - 57832/16972 - HG612
Line 2 - AAISP FTTC - 57731/16679 - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
 

anything