Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?  (Read 581 times)

PRX

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?
« on: April 08, 2019, 10:37:02 PM »

Code: [Select]
> sys fwselect show
Version in first partition: 1.00(AASL.5)C0
Version in second partition: 1.00(AASL.0)b3

I can select any of these without any problems which is great since I can keep the isp's fw as a backup.
Am I correct that these have their own ROM-D or do they share the same ROM-D ?

Thanks !
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26903
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2019, 12:36:51 AM »

As there is only one ROM-D partition, as far as I am aware, then they would be sharing that data-store location.

One of the first tasks, that an owner of a ZyXEL VMGnnn-B10x would perform once the supervisor password has been obtained, would be to clear the ROM-D partition.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

PRX

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2019, 01:54:32 AM »

As there is only one ROM-D partition, as far as I am aware, then they would be sharing that data-store location.

One of the first tasks, that an owner of a ZyXEL VMGnnn-B10x would perform once the supervisor password has been obtained, would be to clear the ROM-D partition.
Thanks for your reply !

What a shame.
Anyway after reading some 60 pages of :
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,13930.0.html
Then threads about modifying headers, root/supervisor passwords and some more.
I guess it's no use to unlock/upgrade without having ALL the information to configure the box, which of course the ISP will not give.
(Config is done by remote server.)

I don't know how compatible ROM-D is with the config file as obtained by a backup conf made by the user.
But I read you can upload it to ROM-D and a proper factory reset should restore the settings as if the user uploaded the backup file.
A reset with no cables attached should (hopefully) give me a clean config just as if it came straight out of the box.
I found a default.cfg in /etc which is almost an exact match with the one I saved.

ISP :Online.nl
Fw :1.00(AASL.5)C0
Kernel :Linux version 2.6.30 Wed Jan 24 19:02:26 CST 2018
Looks like LTS version ?

Users report that after upgrade of fw the settings are lost.
Also it seems that 9 out of 10 users did not make a backup.
With some help users were to able to restore the modem in working order.
Looks like config and/or ROM-D gets erased ?
So erasing ROM-D should be avoided if possible in this scenario ?

Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26903
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2019, 09:13:09 PM »

I guess it's no use to unlock/upgrade without having ALL the information to configure the box, which of course the ISP will not give.
(Config is done by remote server.)

TR-069, I presume.

Quote
I don't know how compatible ROM-D is with the config file as obtained by a backup conf made by the user.
But I read you can upload it to ROM-D and a proper factory reset should restore the settings as if the user uploaded the backup file.
A reset with no cables attached should (hopefully) give me a clean config just as if it came straight out of the box.
I found a default.cfg in /etc which is almost an exact match with the one I saved.

Yes, that all makes sense.

Quote
ISP :Online.nl
Fw :1.00(AASL.5)C0
Kernel :Linux version 2.6.30 Wed Jan 24 19:02:26 CST 2018
Looks like LTS version ?

I very much doubt that the Linux kernel installed on the device is receiving any support. I suspect it was a case of build the kernel, install it into the image and forget about it!  ;)

Quote
Users report that after upgrade of fw the settings are lost.
Also it seems that 9 out of 10 users did not make a backup.
With some help users were to able to restore the modem in working order.
Looks like config and/or ROM-D gets erased ?

With your ISP's usage of TR-069, I suspect any manual intervention may delete the configuration and the ROM-D partition.

Quote
So erasing ROM-D should be avoided if possible in this scenario ?

Yes, in view of what you have explained, above. However if someone has one of those devices and is not tied to any particular ISP, then clearing the ROM-D partition would be step number two on the list of: "How to Revert Back to a Vanilla ZyXEL Device". (Step one would be obtain the supervisor password.)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

PRX

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2019, 07:22:32 PM »

TR-069, I presume.

Yes, that all makes sense.

I very much doubt that the Linux kernel installed on the device is receiving any support. I suspect it was a case of build the kernel, install it into the image and forget about it!  ;)

With your ISP's usage of TR-069, I suspect any manual intervention may delete the configuration and the ROM-D partition.

Yes, in view of what you have explained, above. However if someone has one of those devices and is not tied to any particular ISP, then clearing the ROM-D partition would be step number two on the list of: "How to Revert Back to a Vanilla ZyXEL Device". (Step one would be obtain the supervisor password.)
That pdf about TR-069 is some serious reading but it;s good to see what kind of tricks they can perform.

I think that in this ips's case LTS stands for very slow service, it takes about 1 week to get a reply...
Frustrated by the slow ips and my Voip problems I decided to give it a try.
Spend the last 2 days flashing and manually "re-constructing" the configuration.
But eventually I got there !
Right now I am on 1.00(AAKL.28)C0. :yay:  :dance:  :clap:

I started with .7 with the idea I would hopefully be able to upload the "clean" backups that I created earlier, since ROM-D would likely be erased.
Well ROM-D got erased and my configs were not valid, some illegal entries.
So I ended up manually configuring the modem with the notes that I made.
Once sorted out I saved that configuration.
After that I upgraded in small increments, each time restoring config from previous fw backup and create new "upgraded" config.
The config files created seem the load just fine.
Even the supervisor password somehow survived.

Right now I feel like minced meat, but so far it seems to pay off, internet working and hopefully Voip problems solved.
lets hope it will stay that way.
Later when my head is fresh I might have another look at these old configs and see if I can find those illegal entries.

Thanks again for your help !
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26903
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG8324-B10A. 2 fw's one ROM-D ?
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2019, 02:16:59 AM »

I'm pleased to know that success has been achieved.  :)

Quote
Thanks again for your help !

You are welcome.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
 

anything