Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8

Author Topic: GEA results - Is our line that bad!  (Read 3642 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #90 on: September 27, 2018, 03:58:43 PM »

I've nothing more to add really, B*Cat .....

Thank you for looking and commenting . . . for that confirms I have not missed something obvious!  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4927
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #91 on: September 27, 2018, 04:53:45 PM »

Thank you for looking and commenting . . . for that confirms I have not missed something obvious!  :)

 :drink:
Logged

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #92 on: October 02, 2018, 05:24:09 PM »

Sigh.. I guess it wasn't the end after all.

I asked PN for a GEA test again just to see if the line had improved as the engineer said it would have, PN said they couldn't run one due to "bad records" and they'd send it back to Openreach.. Guess who turns up unannounced at our door at 4pm.  :-\ My brother explained to him that someone had already been and fixed our broadband, he still wanted to come in, but couldn't as mum isn't very well & set up camp downstairs.

I only asked for a GEA test, not an OR engineer, it seems that PN can't do that so send out an OR engineer WITHOUT an appointment yet again!  :lol:

At this rate I think we'll have all the local OR Engineers turning up at once.

Wow, just wow, I suppose I'm partially to blame though, I did ask for another GEA test, this isn't working so PN poke OR, who in turn possibly see a FAIL and send the broadbandulance (tm).  :D
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #93 on: October 02, 2018, 05:59:01 PM »

  :o  :(  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #94 on: October 02, 2018, 06:31:28 PM »

Haha broadbandulance.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #95 on: October 02, 2018, 06:33:35 PM »

Logged

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #96 on: October 02, 2018, 08:41:29 PM »

So they sent me a GEA test result...

Code: [Select]

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 25.7 Mbps
Upstream Speed 4.6 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate -1 Mbps -1 Mbps -1 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate -1 Mbps -1 Mbps -1 Mbps
Up Time -1 Sec -1 Sec -1 Sec
Retrains -1 -1 -1
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-10-02T18:15:13Z 2018-10-02T18:30:13Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 1
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

The response on the PN forum..

Quote
I've updated the ticket again with the GEA test you requested. For some reason while a fault is open GEA won't run on your line, I think part of that is because background records are being updated because of the aluminium issue you noted and that will take them a while. Then when we've been testing to get you that GEA because it can't run it auto fails and then auto raises issuing our an external engineer that has then been trying to gain access. Sorry about that!

 :-\
Logged

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #97 on: October 12, 2018, 07:49:52 PM »

OK out of the blue we get another GEA test (see attached) on the PN ticket after I'd asked them to consider the issue resolved/closed.

followed by this..
Quote
Thanks for your patience, to progress your fault we need to arrange an engineer visit. Please reply to this message with 3 available timeslots for an engineers visit. The available timeslots are weekdays either between 8am & 1pm or between 1pm & 6pm.

Please note if an engineer visits your premises and is unable to gain access or If the fault is found to be caused by your equipment, internal wiring or as a result of damage to BT equipment a charge of 65 will apply.

Please do not hesitate to get back in touch online at http://portal.plus.net/wizard or by phone on 0800 432 0200 if we can be of further assistance.

The only thing I can see as a "fault" is the high errors, but the net/line has been fine  :fingers:. I have no idea who they'd send to "fix" this, if there is ANYTHING to fix.

I chatted with my mother about all this and she remembers OR coming out when we were without internet for 3 odd months - to look for where the line enters the house. She told me it went through the front garden, enters the house where the kitchen window is (under the soil), under the kitchen and directly into the living/dining room.

---

I'm honestly getting sick of this. I don't know why they constantly insist on sending engineers out, surely they should have access to all the notes from the engineers? The engineer has told me (as already mentioned here) there is nothing else they can do because we have an aluminium line, surely PN can see this?

Sigh..

My questions are..
  • Do I ignore this and tell PN not to bother?
  • Ask for a new line to be installed? I doubt this would fix anything anyway.

I thank each and everyone of you for your input on this, you've all been extremely helpful :).
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #98 on: October 12, 2018, 09:37:57 PM »

I see that both this current and the last test show "Bridge Tap   Detected".

I would be inclined to ask Plusnet exactly what they think another engineering visit will achieve and suggest that they review all the previous notes.  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #99 on: October 15, 2018, 07:54:13 PM »

I see that both this current and the last test show "Bridge Tap   Detected".

I would be inclined to ask Plusnet exactly what they think another engineering visit will achieve and suggest that they review all the previous notes.  :-\

Sigh.. Our line has failed the GEA test again, no surprise, it's been raining!

I've attached what I've sent, their reply and my response so I don't have to type it out again - I've removed identifying information.

PN really want to get this sorted. It's interesting because BT themselves couldn't care less, PN appear to be like a dog with a bone  :D
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #100 on: October 15, 2018, 09:09:33 PM »

That latest GEA Test now shows both a HR joint and a bridging tap. The HR joint does not surprise me, knowing that aluminium cables are present in the D-side.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #101 on: October 15, 2018, 11:28:54 PM »

That latest GEA Test now shows both a HR joint and a bridging tap. The HR joint does not surprise me, knowing that aluminium cables are present in the D-side.

Unless OR are going to rip out all the cabling and replace it (I doubt this), there is little more they can do. Maybe Black Sheep has some ideas?

Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4927
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #102 on: October 16, 2018, 07:28:24 AM »

Unless OR are going to rip out all the cabling and replace it (I doubt this), there is little more they can do. Maybe Black Sheep has some ideas?

The only idea I have is that PN escalate this as a 'Chairman's office' task .... which should require the visiting engineer to liaise with our triage team before the task is closed.

The reason being not all engineers will have access to or choose to use, the WHOOSH tool that performs the kind of in-depth GEA test you post above. The triage team obviously do, ensuring the elusive HR/Bridged Tap issue has been isolated before closure.

If the mandatory and usual method of faulting can't identify the issues (PQT, FT2 and DSL Close out test), then the engineer will have to resort to simply connecting his HHT at various points along the network and allow the triage team to perform the GEA tests, until the problem is identified.   
Logged

mpmc

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • There is a fault.. with my brain.
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #103 on: October 16, 2018, 10:19:35 AM »

Thanks for your replies folks.  :thumbs:

I think based on what you have said BS, I'll have to be in the room this time and let them look at the actual GEA tests PN are seeing. Why oh why did they use aluminium! :(

Will update next week when I know more.
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1104
Re: GEA results - Is our line that bad!
« Reply #104 on: October 16, 2018, 10:43:03 AM »

Why oh why did they use aluminium! :(
Copper costs over twice as much as aluminium?
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8