Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?  (Read 2979 times)

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2018, 08:31:45 AM »

Yes, was looking at the VMG1312-B10A - and indeed, as you say, ~ 120 on eBay for them.

The VMG8324-B10A or VMG8924-B10A are incredibly similar (same chipset, same filter) and have not suffered the same sort of increase in price.

There is an 8924 finishing on ebay tomorrow just before lunch time, should go for a fraction of the price you see 1312s at.
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2018, 10:00:44 AM »

Thanks for the tip!
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39359
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2018, 10:34:05 AM »

There's also the VMG3925-B10B which has the same attributes as the two mentioned above.
Logged
  Eric

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2018, 10:43:10 AM »

OK, I'll bite.

Snagged a VMG3925-B10B for 31 delivered.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

hacktrix2006

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • ADSL Stats:
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2018, 10:43:37 AM »

Ok my VMG1312-B10A has arrived how does one tell if it's generic firmware and how does one get the supervisor password?

So I followed bcats instruction however getting unrecognised command save_default clean and ideas as that command shows in help.


Edit 2: Sorted didn't see the older firmware requirement so now I have supervisor password ready to change it.

Sent from my LLD-L31 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 18, 2018, 11:34:46 AM by hacktrix2006 »
Logged
ADSL Stats: http://solidus1983.mynetgear.com:65508/index.html
(Only used during Diagnostics and requesting for advise)

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 536
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2018, 11:41:00 AM »

OK, I'll bite.

Snagged a VMG3925-B10B for 31 delivered.

Good stuff! I think this will probably be the modem most people go for in the future as it has better availability than the older ones.

Thanks to jhm there is firmware for jumbo frames:
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,21273.msg382724.html#msg382724

He also has firmware for setting the supervisor password (necessary for gathering stats with DSLStats or similar) to match the admin password every minute, but if you wish to acquire it yourself:
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,20006.msg373562.html#msg373562
Logged

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2018, 12:30:34 PM »

Awesome! Thanks. I'll definitely be doing that.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #22 on: September 24, 2018, 06:00:08 PM »

OK this is interesting. I have a ZyXEL VMG3925-B10B now sitting on my desk. However, I have no option anywhere to upgrade/flash firmware. I'm guessing I need a USB TTL device now?

EDIT: Don't worry, catching up with other threads, got some research to do!
« Last Edit: September 24, 2018, 06:21:25 PM by dee.jay »
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2018, 06:06:50 PM »

Just managed to snag a VMG1312-B10A for peanuts too. Result!
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1972
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2018, 10:50:07 PM »

There's also the VMG3925-B10B which has the same attributes as the two mentioned above.

No additional filter on this model though.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2018, 01:54:51 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6544
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #25 on: September 30, 2018, 04:31:06 AM »

@j0hn - good to know
Logged

majnu

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2018, 10:43:24 PM »

Hi
Same situation as OP but if I have a BT homehub 5 at my disposal should I use that instead of the VMG1312-B10A?
My local cabinet is a Huwaei one I think. This one here:
https://imgur.com/wMtQxd7

Whilst there is nowt wrong with my modem I need one that has integrated wifi and is compatible with my cab (Broadcom chipset) I think. Because I have a Ring doorbell which is really terrible at picking up wireless signal from my Asus 87U in the middle of the house.
The modem is situated closer to it but has no wi-fi.
Thanks
« Last Edit: October 02, 2018, 10:46:10 PM by majnu »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24508
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2018, 10:57:08 PM »

My local cabinet is a Huwaei one I think. This one here:
https://imgur.com/wMtQxd7

That cabinet certainly is equipped with a Huawei MA5603T MSAN and, thus, the line-cards use a Broadcom chip-set.

I can never remember the inner details of the various BT Home Hubs, so I will leave it to others to comment on the viability of a HH5. I have a vague notion that there is a HH5A & a HH5B . . . and one is better than the other.

I'm sorry but I am having difficulty understanding what you mean about the doorbell and an Asus device.  ???
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1195
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2018, 11:04:21 PM »

BT HomeHubs are locked down, so you cannot get full stats from them. :no:
Logged

majnu

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: A Replacement for the Huawei HG612 Modem?
« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2018, 12:00:05 AM »

Thank you. So hh5 is a no go.
Cat - In short my wireless doorbell is useless.
Now you've identified my cabinet is not ECI and is Broadcom based which zyxel model do I buy please?
Thanks in advance.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
 

anything