Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Upstream target snrm  (Read 1094 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Upstream target snrm
« on: August 30, 2018, 11:20:13 PM »

I don't suppose there is any way I can get the upstream target SNRM back down again, to 6dB? The actual upstream SNRM is currently 8.2dB as mentioned in another thread and this is a real nuisance as it has chopped over 25% off the upstream speed of that link.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23889
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2018, 12:24:57 AM »

It is impossible to "tweak" at the transmitting end of a link. A "tweak" can only be applied at the receiving end.

If someone could apply such a configuration modification to the four DSLAM ports then all would be good.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2018, 12:30:45 AM »

Does an ISP's SNR reset affect upstream similarly to downstream?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23889
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2018, 12:37:36 AM »

It should do . . . unless I'm not thinking straight. Now that you've mentioned it, don't you have access to the controls via the A&A interface?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2018, 02:44:23 AM »

Indeed, I hit the SNR reset button on AA's clueless server but the upstream SNRM is still stuck up at 8.2 dB. I suppose I could ask them if they have any more magic tricks?
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2018, 04:57:30 AM »

I asked them about this, far too early for a reply, of course, as I sent it way too late.

By the way, I see Openreach is advertising their Broadband Boost service. Line #3 ( cwcc@a.3 BBEU20700055 ) had a fault a couple of weeks back at the same time as the new line was being installed. It has always, since the very beginning of time, been slightly under par. The line 3 downstream sync rate is about 200k lower than the other pair in the same drop cable. Line 3 is at 2737kbps downstream sync, as opposed to line 4 BBEU20709519 (the other pair in that drop cable) which is at 2924kbps.

Whilst line #1 (BBEU20700042) enjoys a downstream sync rate of 3037kbps - so, what, around 10% worse downstream? Also the line #3 upstream is not great compared to line #1, only 85% of line 1ís upstream sync iirc at 440k as opposed to 515k.

I wonder if Openreach could improve it by 10% by inspecting and tweaking some joints?

I wonder
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2018, 07:54:13 AM »

This morning, I did an AA speed test, got 1.52 Mbps upstream (am guessing that means TCP payload, but it could be a derived IP PDU rate which it should be but that would require an arithmetic tweak). So that is very good indeed, especially given that line 3 is still well under what it should be.

l also got 10.01 Mbps downstream.

The calculated sum of effective IP rates is 1.492 Mbps, so I think a tiny little bit of exaggeration by AA.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2018, 07:59:23 AM by Weaver »
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2018, 08:12:13 AM »

Ookla speedtester 9.76 / 1.32 using the test server at CoreIX in London and 9.74 / 1.34 at Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Club servers. They are of course a lot further away. So I won't accuse AA of exaggeration on that basis. For real serious exaggeration, the SpeedSmart server is happy to quote figures such as 1.7 Mbps or higher for the upstream.

SpeedOf.me quotes 10.7 / 1.35.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6263
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2018, 11:56:45 AM »

Talked to AA, who did another SNRM reset.

Suggested a few things to try. Swapping modems - carefully, to avoid DLM's wrath. And leaving modem off for at least 10mins.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23889
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2018, 04:55:35 PM »

I have always found that SpeedOf.Me exaggerates the results. And having "done the rounds" of all the available throughput speed checkers, I just default to the TBB version. (Even though the presented results are meaningless! There is no scale on the X-axis, so those squiggles mean absolutely nothing. There is no legend to describe the meaning of the different coloured squiggles.)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1093
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2018, 05:32:23 PM »

Does the colour of the labels "Download" and "X6 Download" not give you a clue as to the significance of the colours? (that's when looking at shared results)

« Last Edit: September 01, 2018, 05:37:36 PM by jelv »
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23889
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2018, 06:28:01 PM »

I don't see that screen. I was referring to the result screen, with which one is presented, at the end of a test.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1093
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2018, 06:51:38 PM »

Click "Results page" in the bottom left hand corner.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1093
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2018, 06:53:36 PM »

Are you logged in to the main TBB site when you run speed tests? If so clicking any of the results from https://www.thinkbroadband.com/my-profile#speedtestresults will show those graphs.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23889
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Upstream target snrm
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2018, 09:04:02 PM »

Not wishing to hijack this thread with irrelevances, I'll just briefly say that if I use the TBB speedtest utility (yes, logged into the main site) I expect it to give me the result, sensibly, and not be expected to left-click anywhere else.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2