Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Panasonic Puzzle  (Read 316 times)

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 777
  • Uno comms 80/20
Panasonic Puzzle
« on: August 28, 2018, 10:15:24 PM »

Yesterday I was having router troubles with Asus DSL-N55U and swapping an exact copy router with the exact same config SSID and keys but my Pansonic TV wifi wouldn't accept the swap and insited I go through the setup process and re-enter the same key.

Is the TV filtering the router by MAC because that is the only thing I can think of. Other wifi gadgets Phone, desktop PC with wifi happily reconnected to the spare router?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24558
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2018, 10:58:38 PM »

Did you have to perform that task twice?  :-\  First time when substituting with the spare DSL-N55U and then when the original DSL-N55U was restored to normal duties?

It certainly seems as if the problem was due to MAC filtering . . . unless there is some other weird parameter the television required to be updated. (But I can't think what that might be.)

Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 777
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2018, 11:13:46 PM »

Correct I had to do it twice once when the spare was in place and then again when the original router was put back in place. It is the only equipment that does it.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

andyfitter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2018, 01:19:09 AM »

Stale ARP data?
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 777
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2018, 01:24:03 AM »

Maybe but why do my phone and desktop wifi just swap seemlessly between the two routers but not the TV?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

andyfitter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2018, 01:37:49 AM »

Different tcp stack implementations? Maybe the TV caches the old arp data and only resets it when you reset the WiFi.
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 777
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2018, 01:43:18 AM »

I see where you are coming from. On screen I just get a "connecting" dialogue, then "failed, please use setup".
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39360
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Panasonic Puzzle
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2018, 06:39:37 AM »

I've had that on a Sky Q box after swapping routers, and starting the Sky network setup again from scratch fixed it. I use an ethernet connection to the box, not wireless.
Logged
  Eric
 

anything