Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Help building a new home network  (Read 1178 times)

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2018, 09:45:20 PM »

Is something like this a reasonable price?

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F161002261645

Ideally looking to hang on the wall in the cupboard or potentially sit on the floor at the back of it.
Logged

DaveC

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2018, 10:22:07 PM »

That seems a reasonable price, although you may not really need the power strip or brush panel. 

Do you not have room for a more standard 19" cabinet?  This would give you a much wider choice, and would probably be cheaper (or at worse, the same price).  As well as a little more breathing room, this would also give you the future option of rack-mounted switches, routers etc, if you wanted to get something a little more "professional".

TP-Link for example do some cheap 19" rack-mountable switches, but I've never seen anything that is compatible with a 10" rack.
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2018, 10:27:21 PM »

It was just really to keep everything tidy and safe in a cupboard. I will however look at the larger size. I get home tomorrow so I can do some measuring once I'm home for space.
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3674
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2018, 11:30:51 PM »

Just to reiterate earlier comments, if you are entering territory where you need to rack mount equipment, you probably donít want to put it in an unvented cupboard under the stairs.  You could install fans in the cupboard doors, but are you prepared for the noise nuisance?   And are you (or anybody here) qualified to do the maths for airflow requirements?

Appuratus that runs too hot will fail prematurely.   If you are lucky, it will just stop working.   If you are unlucky, failure mode might involve ignition of components, with possible fire hazards.

Imho Your main consideration, for an under stairs cupboard, needs to be cool running.  That equates to low power consumption, above all other considerations. :)
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2018, 05:20:28 AM »

Just to reiterate earlier comments, if you are entering territory where you need to rack mount equipment, you probably donít want to put it in an unvented cupboard under the stairs.  You could install fans in the cupboard doors, but are you prepared for the noise nuisance?   And are you (or anybody here) qualified to do the maths for airflow requirements?

Appuratus that runs too hot will fail prematurely.   If you are lucky, it will just stop working.   If you are unlucky, failure mode might involve ignition of components, with possible fire hazards.

Imho Your main consideration, for an under stairs cupboard, needs to be cool running.  That equates to low power consumption, above all other considerations. :)
I totally agree, if it was going to require something that needed cooled, I wouldn't put it under the stairs. Too much risk there.
I only plan on having a small 8 port switch, modem and router in it but probably sit the wireless router outside on a shelf.
It was mainly to keep everything tidy.
I guess, I would need to but what I need and see how warm it runs out with a box first?
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2018, 07:38:25 PM »

This is proving more difficult than I first anticipated.
Luckily I have a pre cut hatch where I want to run the cables to but every location I want to go to appears to be blocked by multiple foundations. There are two across my living room so will need to lift several boards and probably most of the carpet.

Same with the other room downstairs.

Gave up for today after spending several hours trying to think on how to get round this.
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3674
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2018, 08:56:30 PM »

A guy who worked for the same company I once did with used to moonlight doing structured cabling.  He offered useful advice, like using the boxing-in around a soil pipe to get from downstairs to upstairs, and using built-in wardrobes to get into the loft, then back again in a different room, maybe through a partition wall.

Point is...  to get from one room to another, any chance of going upstairs, around the loft, and downstairs again?   Cat 5 is cheap and, for gigabit ethernet, a 90 metre run will work just as well as a 2 metre run. :)
Logged

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #22 on: September 14, 2018, 09:27:59 AM »

Sorry for the delay, Been busy with work commitments so this took a bit of a back burner.
Having sat down and thought about it, I still think in this house, It will be easier to go through the floorboards. I'm currently looking to purchase this to create some little access hatches beside where I'm looking to pull in the cables.
It also saves me lifting or cutting full boards and gives me access in the future if anything goes wrong. Relatively cheap and a lot quicker compared to going and buying a board saw.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFdvMmpjVpk

All my carpets will be coming up for replacing in the next few weeks so perfect time to get this done and dusted!!
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3674
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #23 on: September 14, 2018, 10:20:34 AM »

Looks like a neat tool.   I can think of a number of occasions that I could have used it, over the years.

If you go through with this plan (sorry for pun), do let us know how well that cutter works. :)
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1015
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #24 on: September 14, 2018, 02:54:01 PM »

Reminds me of an incident many years ago. I worked for a computer company in their OS support department. In the computer room it was a mess of cables behind the computers so the boss decided to tidy it up by making a cheap false floor from 3x2 wood with loose laid chipboard on top. He needed to make 3" diameter holes for the cables so brought in his drill from home and a circular cutter.

Unfortunately his drill was only a 250W, the cutter kept jamming in the chipboard and stalling the drill and before long he burnt out the drill (he wasn't exactly taking it easy which didn't help).

I offered to bring in my drill which had been upgraded to a 850W by Black and Decker. I told him that he wouldn't stall that.

The next day he had another go with my drill and attacked the task with the same lack of care. I was right in one respect, he didn't stall the drill. However the cutter did still jam - something had to give! There was an almighty bang and the cutter disintegrated in to scores of pieces which went all over the computer room. How no-one was hurt was a miracle!

I think he was lucky in one way - if the cutter hadn't exploded he'd have broken both wrists!
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 425
Re: Help building a new home network
« Reply #25 on: September 14, 2018, 03:08:19 PM »

Reminds me of an incident many years ago. I worked for a computer company in their OS support department. In the computer room it was a mess of cables behind the computers so the boss decided to tidy it up by making a cheap false floor from 3x2 wood with loose laid chipboard on top. He needed to make 3" diameter holes for the cables so brought in his drill from home and a circular cutter.

Unfortunately his drill was only a 250W, the cutter kept jamming in the chipboard and stalling the drill and before long he burnt out the drill (he wasn't exactly taking it easy which didn't help).

I offered to bring in my drill which had been upgraded to a 850W by Black and Decker. I told him that he wouldn't stall that.

The next day he had another go with my drill and attacked the task with the same lack of care. I was right in one respect, he didn't stall the drill. However the cutter did still jam - something had to give! There was an almighty bang and the cutter disintegrated in to scores of pieces which went all over the computer room. How no-one was hurt was a miracle!

I think he was lucky in one way - if the cutter hadn't exploded he'd have broken both wrists!

I've seen something similar on an oil rig but cutting through metal. The results were broken wrists though!
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]