Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7

Author Topic: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line  (Read 3699 times)

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 735
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2018, 01:31:15 AM »

Kitz as I am not being funny with you. But I do think this site: https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/ginp-retransmission.htm are outdated August 2015 and these things has changing now in DLM and Openreach might has adjusted all these now rather than in 2015 interview with Ian Lawrence who was Openreach Chief Engineer. (3 years ago)
« Last Edit: August 22, 2018, 01:35:13 AM by adslmax »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31601
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2018, 09:45:32 AM »

Point Blank you are NOT on Open Profile. 
Your stats prove beyond any doubt that you are on Default Profile of Low Interleave

Code: [Select]
INP:            3.00            0.00
INPRein:        0.00            0.00
delay:          8               0

How much clearer can it be?

Open Profile is when there is No G.INP + No INP + No Interleave. 

In 2015, the automated DLM system for Huawei cabs started using Default Profile rather than Open Profile.   Up until very recently Open Profile was still used on ECI cabs and only Openreach Engineers could actually trigger Open Profile after a DLM reset. With effect from this year even Openreach Engineer DLM resets now put the line into Default Profile. 

If the engineer used the term 'Open Profile' then it is him who is perhaps not aware of the changes that took place about 4-5 months ago...  or perhaps he just said Open when he meant Default. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31601
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2018, 09:53:51 AM »

Kitz as I am not being funny with you. But I do think this site: https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/ginp-retransmission.htm are outdated August 2015 and these things has changing now in DLM and Openreach might has adjusted all these now rather than in 2015 interview with Ian Lawrence who was Openreach Chief Engineer. (3 years ago)

The information in there about DLM is still correct.  At that time it just applied to the automated system for G.INP (Huawei) lines.  Since this year it applies across the board and even DLM resets for ECI cabs now trigger Default Profile. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1878
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #18 on: August 22, 2018, 10:52:16 AM »

I am sorry Kitz but I do believe this DLM resetted to open profile is now all changed. Openreach engineer did show me his tool kit Open Profile. I do believe all DLM resetted are now in low interleave depth to stable the line as fast path are no longer in open profile.

His kit may say "open profile" or he may have used those words.
It isn't an open profile though.

"open profile" meant wide open, no error protection, i.e fastpath.

They don't go to fastpath with DLM resets anymore.
Huawei lines haven't for years. ECI lines don't either since recently.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 735
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2018, 12:15:36 PM »

Ok fair point taken kitz and j0hn - can mod please change subject Re: Openreach engineer has resetted DLM to default profile on my line
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4927
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #20 on: August 22, 2018, 12:33:17 PM »

Hmmm .... every day's a school day ..... I have to admit that on the odd occasion that I mention it, I too still use the term 'Open Profile' when carrying out a DLM reset. For the most part, I tend to just comment I'm resetting the circuit.

However, great point by kitz noted and I will indeed change my wording from now on, per-chance my next EU is adslmax <shudders>.  ;) ;D
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6271
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2018, 01:27:57 PM »

or even 'has reset' because I don't believe 'has resetted' exists in English, in fact my autocorrect spelling checker is immediately trying to fix it.

--
reset
/riːˈsɛt/
verb
verb: reset; 3rd person present: resets; past tense: reset; past participle: reset; gerund or present participle: resetting
   1   set again or differently."I must reset the alarm"

   ◦   ELECTRONICS 
cause (a binary device) to enter the state representing the numeral 0.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2018, 01:56:17 PM by Weaver »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39335
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #22 on: August 22, 2018, 03:57:43 PM »

Ok fair point taken kitz and j0hn - can mod please change subject Re: Openreach engineer has resetted DLM to default profile on my line

I don't think that would be appropriate, because it would make nonsense of half the posts in this thread.
Logged
  Eric

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1761
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2018, 05:30:53 PM »

The only publicly available documentation about the FTTC DLM would be a small section in SIN 498.

Quote
At provision, the line is put on “wide open” VDSL2 line profiles allowing the
upstream and downstream line speeds to run at the upper limit of the product option
selected.

To me, it implies that the openness of a profile refers to the lack of any capped rates (banding) lower than the product selected.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1878
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2018, 06:49:09 PM »

It doesn't imply that to me.
I deliberately said earlier...

Quote
"open profile" meant wide open, no error protection, i.e fastpath.

The fact that SIN 498 specifically says "wide open" and not just open profile makes me think that even more.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23938
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #25 on: August 22, 2018, 06:55:27 PM »

My understanding of the phrase in question, from SIN498, is that the circuit is allowed to operate at the maximum that the technology and infrastructure allows. I.e. it "finds its own level".
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1761
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #26 on: August 22, 2018, 07:41:26 PM »

I remembered that the test setup in Annex A of SIN 498 does define and refer to some of the line profiles.

Quote
Now reconfigure the DSLAM to use the equivalent open interleaved profile
(O2_1_6_36_3_6_18_1) and repeat steps 4 to 12.

Quote
Configure DSLAM to implement an ESEL value of 30dB and the open
retransmission profile O2_3_6_36_3_6_18_3 .

Quote
Repeat the above process for the default (i.e. fast) profile.
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4927
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #27 on: August 22, 2018, 08:23:48 PM »

A lot of digging around (waaaaay too much bumph to read) and the only thing I can glean at this point is that if an engineer carries out a DLM reset, this will revert the circuit back to the default profile the EU purchased ...... but that it will also remove all protection a line may have built up.

Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 735
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #28 on: August 22, 2018, 11:40:30 PM »

Latest stats:

Code: [Select]
Since Link time = 1 days 12 hours 5 min 29 sec

FEC:            154360          810

CRC:            0               142

ES:             0               120

SES:            0               0

UAS:            0               0

LOS:            0               0

LOF:            0               0

LOM:            0               0

                         Bearer 0

INP:            3.00            0.00

INPRein:        0.00            0.00

delay:          8               0

PER:            1.57            3.98

OR:             121.96          64.22

AgR:            67647.75        20063.54



Bitswap:        19/19           16/16
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 735
Re: Openreach engineer has reset DLM to open profile on my line
« Reply #29 on: August 23, 2018, 01:52:17 AM »

Updated: DLM has resync @ 01:42

DSLAM type / SW version:   BDCM:0xa48c (164.140) / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware:     AnnexA version - A2pv6F039g1.d24m
DSL mode:                  VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                    Showtime
Uptime:                     0 hour 8 min 43 sec
Resyncs:                   1
         
            Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     12.0      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2      
Connection speed (kbps):   78044      19999
SNR margin (dB):           6.4      15.1
Power (dBm):               12.5      1.3
Interleave depth:          8      1
INP:                       49.00      0
G.INP:                     Enabled      Not enabled
Vectoring status:          5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)      

                          Bearer 0

INP:            49.00           0.00

INPRein:        0.00            0.00

delay:          0               0

PER:            0.00            3.98

OR:             0.01            64.22

AgR:            78124.49        20063.54



                        Bearer 1

INP:            4.00            0.00

INPRein:        4.00            0.00

delay:          3               0

PER:            16.06           0.01

OR:             95.62           0.01

AgR:            95.62   0.01



Bitswap:        2/2             1/1
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7
 

anything