Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast  (Read 2271 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1878
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2018, 12:52:33 PM »

The "lists" aren't regularly updated.
There has been a single set of areas published since the trial, and it isn't even half of the areas they are deploying G.Fast pods.

There isn't going to be a published complete rollout list.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

smallal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2018, 05:36:58 PM »

Well I saw a pilot list in Aug 2017 & the first post-trial list in Dec, so it looks like they update every 6 months or so.
But, as many people will tell you, getting the pods doesn't mean a service anytime soon.
Some pods have been idle for up to a year due to delays in upgrading the exchanges.
The Kellys Comms. engineers installing my local pod told me that my exchange was scheduled to go live in May/June, so it was over 3 months late.
My friend near Chorley reckons his local pod was installed last year but it's still not live.
indeed there's been so many delays that BT Wholesale removed all the G.FAST entries listed as 'PLANNED' from their broadband checker due to the number of enquiries.
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #17 on: September 19, 2018, 12:20:27 AM »

Works now showing on roadworks.org again for the reshell. This is about two weeks after the reshell did not occur as initially planned (granted, it was "advanced planning"). Will update as soon as I get more information.

Interestingly enough, I put through an enquiry through to Openreach using their form (enquiring about the works, "is it coming?", etc.) expecting a generic dead-end response. However, it looks like the specialist team will look into it so hopefully I will get a better insight into when to expect it. :fingers:
Logged

sotonsam

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2018, 03:54:44 PM »

I imagine the cab I'm connected to will need a re-shell before it's 'G-Fast' pod ready. I'd say 90% of the newerish cabs in my area now all have Pods, it's just the older iron ones such as mine which haven't been touched.

No sign of anything what so ever yet....I did email Openreach as you did, but I got a really random reply stating how my area isn't a trial area and I will need to keep checking as to when I can register for a trial.
Logged
AAISP FTTC 80/20. BT Infinity FTTC 80/20. ECI Cab.

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #19 on: September 19, 2018, 04:50:03 PM »

I vaguely recall you mentioning about this in a different topic. And yes, under the current amendment it will need a reshell.

The thing is, as you are probably aware, Openreach have scaled back G.fast (linky linky) in favour of FTTP. 10 million premises (as a target) were set to get G.fast by 2020 but now that has been reduced to 6. The unfortunate side of it is that the target for FTTP premises by 2020 has only increased by a million; going from 2 to 3 million (of course it's a whole 1/3 more, but people will have to wait longer). It is progress in the right direction, but the reality of it is that people who would have benefited from G.fast may not receive anything faster until 2025 and beyond.

When I initially contacted Openreach via their form back in April the response I got was probably similar to yours in the respect that it mentioned it was only being trialed in areas where infrastructure was already built and that I need to contact my service provider (lol). I imagine that the key difference between then and the last enquiry I sent is that work has since commenced; pods have been fitted, cabinets have been reshelled (well, at least one that I am aware of). And perhaps because my cabinet had works scheduled it had some bearing.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2018, 04:55:52 PM by re0 »
Logged

sotonsam

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #20 on: September 21, 2018, 11:15:26 AM »

I vaguely recall you mentioning about this in a different topic. And yes, under the current amendment it will need a reshell.

The thing is, as you are probably aware, Openreach have scaled back G.fast (linky linky) in favour of FTTP. 10 million premises (as a target) were set to get G.fast by 2020 but now that has been reduced to 6. The unfortunate side of it is that the target for FTTP premises by 2020 has only increased by a million; going from 2 to 3 million (of course it's a whole 1/3 more, but people will have to wait longer). It is progress in the right direction, but the reality of it is that people who would have benefited from G.fast may not receive anything faster until 2025 and beyond.

When I initially contacted Openreach via their form back in April the response I got was probably similar to yours in the respect that it mentioned it was only being trialed in areas where infrastructure was already built and that I need to contact my service provider (lol). I imagine that the key difference between then and the last enquiry I sent is that work has since commenced; pods have been fitted, cabinets have been reshelled (well, at least one that I am aware of). And perhaps because my cabinet had works scheduled it had some bearing.

Yeah, it did occur to me that maybe they don't see the need to add a pod to my PCP now their plans have been scaled back. For what it's worth my area is primarily Virgin Media and there hasn't ever been a huge uptake in FTTC ports on my cab, which has been quite fortunate I guess. And after my line problems of around 3 months ago, my modem is still locked on at the maximum it can possibly handle. Although SNRM seems to hover around 3.7-4.0 so my attainable is down.... but as long as I don't reboot it, then I'll keep my max throughput as it seems pretty error free in the main.
Logged
AAISP FTTC 80/20. BT Infinity FTTC 80/20. ECI Cab.

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #21 on: September 21, 2018, 07:26:47 PM »

Cabinet reshelled and G.fast pod has been fitted same day it seems. :)

Now we wait. :D
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #22 on: September 21, 2018, 11:36:40 PM »

Is anyone able to confirm whether the "silver lock" sort of thing is applicable to G.fast pods as it was with FTTC cabinets when trying to establish whether it is active? I mean, I can see that this pod has a some sort of silver mechanism fitted to it. Though I can't hear any noises from the ventilation.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #23 on: September 21, 2018, 11:48:14 PM »

Is anyone able to confirm whether the "silver lock" sort of thing is applicable to G.fast pods as it was with FTTC cabinets when trying to establish whether it is active?

Unfortunately that "silver lock" concept is actually a TBB forum myth. There are also many (Huawei equipped) cabinets, live and active, with black locks.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2018, 12:44:04 AM »

Unfortunately that "silver lock" concept is actually a TBB forum myth. There are also many (Huawei equipped) cabinets, live and active, with black locks.
The more you know! Now I come to think about it, I've seen a lot of cabinets with locks that are not silver (I think even my own).

I've attached a picture with the part that is "silver" on my pod circled in red. I kinda nicked the picture from OcUK forums (source page) and edited that. As you can see, it is green on here and a lot of pictures of other pods I've seen show a green mechanism or something (in fact, I haven't been able to find one that is similar to mine).
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2018, 03:45:02 PM »

The more you know!

  ;)

Quote
I've attached a picture with the part that is "silver" on my pod circled in red. I kinda nicked the picture from OcUK forums (source page) and edited that. As you can see, it is green on here and a lot of pictures of other pods I've seen show a green mechanism or something (in fact, I haven't been able to find one that is similar to mine).

The image you have attached is identical to all the pods that I have (physically) seen, so far. However I am willing to accept that you have seen something different.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2018, 04:30:25 PM »

Okay I kinda lied but without intention! I have seen other pods locally with a silver mechanism I'm sure, but that's about it. I was wondering it implies something or perhaps it's just a different variant of the pod/mechanism.

I could take a photo, though I would need to reduce the chance of someone analysing the noise pattern from the sensor and successfully tracking me. :paperbag:
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5436
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2018, 06:39:35 PM »

still no g.fast in my area on the checkers (or reshells) but interestingly FTTPoD is now available. Also my adsl1 estimate has shot up from what used to be 5-6mbit now to 8mbit/sec, some possible D side rerouting?
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #28 on: September 22, 2018, 07:04:33 PM »

still no g.fast in my area on the checkers (or reshells) but interestingly FTTPoD is now available. Also my adsl1 estimate has shot up from what used to be 5-6mbit now to 8mbit/sec, some possible D side rerouting?
Perhaps FTTC has been enabled on the cabinet you are connected to? As long as the exchange is FTTPoD enabled and FTTC is enabled on your cabinet then FTTPoD should be available to order. I don't know about your cabinet or whether you have FTTC available, so I made an assumption of the scenario.

As for the ADSL estimate increase, I can't answer that. Could be that the database has been updated to reflect what is believed to be attainable. It's unlikely that the cable would be re-routed unless you were being connected to a closer/newly erected cabinet.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5436
Re: Cabinet re-shell for G.fast
« Reply #29 on: September 22, 2018, 07:18:53 PM »

FTTC has been enabled for several years now, but FTTPoD only appeared last month.  I believe there is other requirements for FTTPoD availability aside from FTTC enabled services.

It is possible they using another cabinet now for ADSL, I dont think a 2mbit jump would happen without something changing as on adsl1 thats massive.  I had a loop loss of 50db on adsl1, how many 50db lines would reach 8mbit?  I wonder if its actually an error on the checker as errors have been known to happen from time to time. The previous adsl1 estimate before it jumped was 4.6mbit (dropped from 5-6.2 pre FTTC days).  So the jump was actually more than 2mbit.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: 1 [2] 3