Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: TTB Router upgrade  (Read 2729 times)

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 521
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2018, 04:19:19 AM »

I agree, its pretty much indecipherable.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24237
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #16 on: August 19, 2018, 10:39:05 AM »

All it does is to give a "warm and fuzzy" feeling to those persons who attempt to read it and are "taken in" by the logic that "TTB are doing something (because they have written about it)".  ::)  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Jon21

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2018, 02:00:37 AM »

How accurate are these notifications of planned works? Just lost the WAN connection for 50mins or so. Modem was still in sync. Tried rebooting everything but WAN was still down. Only thing I can find is this: https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status-report.php?reportid=19428

Covers the exchange Iím on, yet doesnít seem to mention FTTC specifically in the notice. But does say DSL via TalkTalk on the main page: https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status/
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24237
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2018, 02:20:56 AM »

How accurate are these notifications of planned works? Just lost the WAN connection for 50mins or so. Modem was still in sync. Tried rebooting everything but WAN was still down. Only thing I can find is this: https://managed.mytalktalkbusiness.co.uk/network-status-report.php?reportid=19428

Hmm . . . I see it says --

"Affected services
Ethernet and EFM via TalkTalk"


-- which should not impact upon FTTC services, as far as I am aware.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Jon21

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #19 on: October 02, 2018, 02:28:14 AM »

Hmm . . . I see it says --

"Affected services
Ethernet and EFM via TalkTalk"


-- which should not impact upon FTTC services, as far as I am aware.
Thanks, perhaps it was just coincidence. Went down at 1am.
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2018, 02:35:41 AM »

1AM - 6AM is TTB maintenance window. From what you describe it sounds like a router firmware upgrade based on downtime. I have noticed that the Network Status report arent always that accurate.

AAISP do tend to post notices on twitter about outages around 1am nothing there today.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2018, 02:39:03 AM by banger »
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1159
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #21 on: October 02, 2018, 08:47:30 AM »

No drop on my AAISP line overnight.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

dee.jay

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #22 on: October 02, 2018, 09:11:13 AM »

Same here.
Logged
Sky FTTC 69/17 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
AAISP FTTC 67/16 @ 3dB SNR - HG612
Routed by pfSense on VMware ESX 6.0
~600M Huawei cabinet

Jon21

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #23 on: October 03, 2018, 01:25:57 AM »

Hmm, well this is odd. Have lost the WAN connection again just after 1am. Modem is still in sync but getting absolutely zero throughput.
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #24 on: October 03, 2018, 02:35:02 AM »

Has it come back up yet?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Jon21

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #25 on: October 03, 2018, 03:07:30 AM »

Itís still down at the moment. Have tried restarting the router but hasnít helped. Log in the A&A control panel is showing ďlost carrierĒ at 1:05am. Just composing an email to send to support to see if they can see anything.
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #26 on: October 03, 2018, 04:59:17 AM »

AAISP are usually pretty good be nice if you could update as I sometimes get 1am outages on TTB but since I changed my router settings I have 16 days uptime on PPP.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Jon21

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2018, 10:05:29 AM »

Looks as though a couple of PSTN tests have been done by support. Both entries are showing this or similar wording.

WLR3Test WLR3_CIDT_Test hws00556dat02:133362221: Fail Fault - No Dial tone(Line Test OK) ServiceLevel:1, MainFaultLocation:EX, FaultReportAdvised:Y, AppointmentRequired:N, LineStability:, NetworkStability:, StabilityStatement:

Edit: If mods wish, I could start a new thread as this isnít strictly related to the thread title.

Edit 2: So, I'm feeling a bit stupid. Had an email from support asking to try another router, which I did, a Asus. This connected fine. I've since factory defaulted the Pfsense router and restored a config and this is now also connecting ok. I'm not sure why it's suddenly started to drop the connection though. Hopefully be ok now.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2018, 11:30:09 AM by Jon21 »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24237
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: TTB Router upgrade
« Reply #28 on: October 03, 2018, 06:34:31 PM »

Edit: If mods wish, I could start a new thread as this isnít strictly related to the thread title.

For this case, I don't think it will be necessary (but thank you for offering to do so) . . . as you have already discovered the problem and implemented a solution.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2]