Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Openreach ECI modem or Zen's Fritzbox 3490  (Read 3173 times)

IronRod

• Just arrived
Openreach ECI modem or Zen's Fritzbox 3490
« on: July 29, 2018, 10:26:55 PM »

Hi Guys,
This is my first post on this forum although I admit that I have been something of a regular lurker here for about 4 years!! I always appreciate the knowledge and insight that the regular contributors have to offer and refreshingly, this is one of the rare corners of the internet where discussion don't seem to degenerate into arguments

Anyway, I was hoping to get some help with a modem dilemma. I'm currently in the process of switching my ISP to Zen, who supply a Fritz!box 3490 to new customers. I'm going to retain most of my current setup which consists of a Microtik router, Ubiquity AP and my original Open Reach ECI modem supplied when I first signed up for BT Infinity. I'm connected via a poorish line to an ECI cabinet.....about 650m away.

About 4 years ago (before I discovered Kitz) I had a protracted and painful experiment with an ASUS DSL AC68U. I won't go into details here as the joys of owning one is well documented elsewhere. Suffice to say after 9 moths of 'experimentation' my DSL speed had dropped from 40/5 to a DLM limited 19/5 that was still horrifically unstable. The line recovered after being reconnected to the OR ECI modem although I am still banded with a download limit set to 30Mbits.  I'm not sure why I didn't get my full speed back, but I do get better upload speeds and much lower latency so I guess less interleaving.

Anyway I'm finally moving to a new ISP so I was hoping to get some advice on whether to keep my OR ECI modem, use the supplied Fritz!box in bridge mode (assuming that's possible) or invest in a completely new modem?