Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Port number from BT to Virgin  (Read 426 times)

hucknallred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Port number from BT to Virgin
« on: July 24, 2018, 09:42:17 AM »

Hi

Long story short, I have BT infinity, but a long run to the cabinet, so only 30Mb, interleaved & suffering from crosstalkers reducing the speed. I've just had VM installed that now no longer has over utilisation in my area.
I now have both services running & the intention was to cancel BT in September when the contract is up.

BT have just mailed me to say prices are going up, so I have an early get out now.

I got a Virgin phone line with the Broadband, but still use the BT phone with the number we've had for 25 years, the intention was to port in September.

So, I know porting the number is not a problem, but who do I contact first?

BT say I have to phone & give 14 days notice, but will this stop me porting out? If I contact VM first will they just get the number & my BT service ceases & I get the early cancellation fee?

So many questions...

Thanks
Logged
MDWS user - Gedpie

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1104
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2018, 10:39:19 AM »

I think the first step is to officially contact BT and notify them that you will be leaving because of the price increase and you will be taking your number with you, then once that is confirmed contact Virgin.

If BT try to say you can't take the number tell them you will be contacting OFCOM and see if they change their tune!
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

hucknallred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2018, 12:35:52 PM »

Thanks, that seems to have worked.

BT, UK call centre, were going to try a please don't go spiel, stopped dead when she checked what my max speed was & told her I was getting a steady 100Mb from VM.

Virgin, India, 30 minute wait but got straight on it & explained it will be 14 days - BT said the same, 14 days starts from when VM ask for the number.

Let's see if it all works.
Logged
MDWS user - Gedpie

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2826
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2018, 01:24:19 PM »

I had the same with Plus Net when I cancelled, he briefly tried to get me to stay until I told him the speed I was now getting, then he realised he wasn't going to get any where.

Never bothered with the landline phone, we all have mobiles with inclusive minutes.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

hucknallred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2018, 02:02:58 PM »

I had the same with Plus Net when I cancelled, he briefly tried to get me to stay until I told him the speed I was now getting, then he realised he wasn't going to get any where.

Never bothered with the landline phone, we all have mobiles with inclusive minutes.

Bizarrely the packages are cheaper with a landline & the Freeview Tivo box. Also more cashback.
Logged
MDWS user - Gedpie

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2826
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2018, 06:46:09 PM »

Not when I looked, although the only way to get cash back was to take a TV service, but I'm pretty sure it didn't work out cheaper even with cashback. There didn't seem to be much cashback unless you took the    top packages. This was in April.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Clivers

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2018, 10:17:09 PM »

I would port the number to VOIP if i were you. We didn't have to advise BT when we moved our business lines. We just provided the VOIP company a security check and id and BT just sent a letter incase someone is stealing your number.
Logged

hucknallred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Port number from BT to Virgin
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2018, 01:21:59 PM »

I would port the number to VOIP if i were you. We didn't have to advise BT when we moved our business lines. We just provided the VOIP company a security check and id and BT just sent a letter incase someone is stealing your number.

That may be a future option, but for the next year or so I have a landline that's effectively free to have. I got VM through a corporate perks site, Player bundle 100Mb for 27 PM for a year & 50 cashback.

Looking at the site today if you were a new punter, Player bundle is 29, standalone 100Mb BB is 38 PM?? You may as well have the player bundle for a year, even if you never plug in the TIVO box.

I'm just waiting for that BT letter that ensures VM have done their bit properly, I've already had the sorry you're leaving email from BT.

Logged
MDWS user - Gedpie