Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: G.Fast in Rochdale  (Read 2352 times)

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
G.Fast in Rochdale
« on: July 15, 2018, 07:50:10 PM »

Up and running in Rochdale.

The speed is rather disappointing though, hovering around 200-210Mb/s when the estimated speed was 260-290Mb/s  :'(
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 735
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2018, 07:52:30 PM »

Maybe crosstalk on your g.fast?
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6272
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2018, 08:06:41 PM »

And G.Vector technology is a mandatory part of the standard, no? So it should be good at taking on the crosstalk with its inverse pre-coding.
Logged

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2018, 08:26:31 PM »

@Weaver, querying the router returns this

Code: [Select]
BusyBox v1.18.5 (2018-05-28 19:53:14 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/ # bcm_xdslctl info --vectoring
bcm_xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    2000
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 35012 Kbps, Downstream rate = 203511 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 34884 Kbps, Downstream rate = 205805 Kbps

Currently not in VDSL modulation --vectoring is only for VDSL mode
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2018, 10:00:47 PM »

Perhaps there is a degree of misunderstanding occurring here . . .

The modem will be performing ITU-T G.993.5 which is vectoring. What the router does is irrelevant.

I presume that you have been provided with an Openreach badged Huawei MT992 modem, to which your router is then connected?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2018, 11:02:25 PM »

I presume that you have been provided with an Openreach badged Huawei MT992 modem, to which your router is then connected?  :-\
Yep, I've got one of them but my ASUS DSL-AC88U functions both as a modem & router so no need to connect both.
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2018, 04:21:31 PM »

Browni, I just dug out a post of yours back from March:
For reference I am 175m straight line from the cab and a GEA test gives an estimated line length of 283m.

The speeds seem about right for the estimated line length. Not really disappointing at all. ;D Your line length would probably have to be under 200m to see speeds of 260+ Mbps.
Logged

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2018, 05:05:57 PM »

Hmmm,



Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2018, 05:20:16 PM »

Yeah I've seen your estimates before. Perhaps a bit overzealous considering the GEA test's estimated line length. Out of interest, what speeds did you get on FTTC?

What are your CURRENT estimates? As far as I know, the DSL checker should update estimates every now and again to reflect the line's performance.
Logged

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2018, 05:54:15 PM »

On FTTC I synched at the full 80/20 and the current estimates are still the the same as those in the image.
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2018, 06:15:12 PM »

Have any stats from back when you had FTTC? Huawei cabinet? It would have been somewhat possible to sync at full 80/20 with 3 dB profile + G.INP enabled at your estimated distance.

I don't think there are any applications that are able to properly graph G.Fast at the moment. Perhaps you could post the output of the following in a text file so I or someone else can graph it:

bcm_xdslctl info --Bits
bcm_xdslctl info --SNR
bcm_xdslctl info --QLN
bcm_xdslctl info --Hlog

I don't have G.Fast, so I have no idea on what the output should look like. Furthermore, G.Fast uses Time-Division Duplexing (TDD) as opposed to Frequency-Division Duplexing (FDD) so I really have no idea if that would make things more complicated.
Logged

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2018, 08:20:00 PM »

I certainly didn't need a 3dB profile, the noise margin was usually around 9.5dB

Have a look at http://i65.tinypic.com/9jex03.jpg (I can't seem to embed that using img tags???)

I've attached the other results with appropriate names.

« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 08:48:25 PM by Browni »
Logged

Browni

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2018, 08:49:09 PM »

4th attachment
Logged

re0

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 359
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2018, 09:11:34 PM »

In reference to when you had FTTC, perhaps there were not that many subscribers on your cabinet creating crosstalk? Might be why you were receiving the full 80/20 with a nice bit of head room. Either way, I would imagine that you are probably 250m from the cabinet or thereabouts, close to the GEA test estimate.

But oh dear. I think I am out of my depth here since I know virtually nothing about G.Fast. I'll perhaps give it a crack later, but I am a little bit mythed because I though the maximum bits per tone were 12, yet I am seeing 14 in the provided file. :shrug2:
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23944
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.Fast in Rochdale
« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2018, 09:30:39 PM »

After a quick glance at the image and files provided, I can't see anything that "says" G.9700/G.9701 (a.k.a. G.Fast) to me.  ???

What does the ISP/CP say about using the ASUS device in place of the Openreach provided Huawei MT992 modem?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4