Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: St3's Migration to IDNet  (Read 3547 times)

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 521
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2018, 07:25:15 PM »

Sorry to repeat what I said in the other thread, but a speed test without your current sync speed and interleaving status doesnt mean much.
Logged

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2018, 08:02:09 PM »

ahh ok sorry i didnt see that
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 521
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #17 on: June 30, 2018, 08:27:00 PM »

I didnt mean to seem curt, just read a lot of people talking about "used to" and "always got" results recently and then quoting speed tests with no info about their line.  :)
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #18 on: June 30, 2018, 08:39:56 PM »

Quote
Profile Name   0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

With Plusnet this was your line profile. Switching should have set you to interleaving. 2 days later retransmission (G.INP) should return.
It might take another week or 2 to return to 3dB.

The drop in speed during your switch is expected. It's automatic DLM changes.

Current line stats would help accurately determine the current line profile.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #19 on: June 30, 2018, 09:27:01 PM »

Thanks for the info john, well i only have a Asus router connected to Huawei HG612 and im not able to get stats.

I would need to request another GEA to see what they show.

Gaming is almost unplayable since switching, im getting lag/high pings in 3 steam games i play alot, before the switch they all ran fine.

Maybe i need to give it sometime, i thought id switch and my connection would be the same as it was with plusnet.

I will see how things go over the next month, if things dont pick up then im moving as its not feeding my needs ;)

Gaming and netflix is about all i use it for and i not paying extra for the gaming package when plusnet basic 80/20 ran games fine most of the time for cheaper.

Main reason i leave ps if for better support, which atm idnet reply within 12 hours which is cool but they aint found any issues yet they say im getting solid 60/18 and i must wait a 2-3 days for my connection to relax.

i can wait and see if things pickup....... im just hoping they do otherwise i will have to move on, just looked and im getting 49/17 now.






« Last Edit: July 02, 2018, 10:55:45 AM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2018, 10:58:41 AM »

. Best Effort Test:

Download Speed : 61.02 Mbps

2. Upstream Test:

Upload Speed : 13.76 Mbps



Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information.

Taken from http://speedtest.btwholesale.com

Only shows me what i got during this test and didn't show what my max was which is odd because it worked on plusnet, could this be because ive just switched ?
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

tiffy

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 396
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #21 on: July 02, 2018, 11:46:47 AM »

You are likely already aware that there are known issues with some browsers, in particular Firefox when using the BTw Performance Checker, while still prefering Firefox as my normal browser I always use "Pale Moon" to run my BTw performance testing, some other browsers are OK also not sure exactly which.

For a few months at the end of last year a lot of people, myself included, found that the BTw Performance Tester (regardless of browser used) would not progress to "additional diagnostics" as you have described, this appeared to be fixed and I certainly have not had any further failures to date, always run to check my DS IP profile.
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 - DSLStats/RPi - ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A - Huawei Cab - MDWS (sadly gone 12/03/18)

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 490
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2018, 12:11:31 PM »

You are likely already aware that there are known issues with some browsers, in particular Firefox when using the BTw Performance Checker, while still prefering Firefox as my normal browser I always use "Pale Moon" to run my BTw performance testing, some other browsers are OK also not sure exactly which.

you need flash installed to use it, which is insanity considering how virtually no-one would consider using it these days.
almost all browers now block flash by default, only bad browsers would have it enabled without user input first.
Logged

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2018, 12:34:27 PM »

Why is flash bad chenks ?
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 490
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2018, 01:00:21 PM »

Why is flash bad chenks ?

https://mashable.com/2017/07/25/adobe-is-killing-flash-player/?europe=true#DDFRGsKg7aqR

the fact that it's being killed by its owners is an admission that its gone on too far.
what was once a good multimedia creativity tool turned into a platform for serving ads and opening up your system to attacks.
Logged

andrew-AAISP

  • ISP Rep
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • aa.net.uk
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #25 on: July 02, 2018, 01:47:25 PM »

AA has in the past published stats for internal congestion in they own network. The last lot that I saw showed that they dropped zero premium packets due to congestion. It is not cheap running a totally uncontested network and the AA premium option is not cheap at all.

We still do:
  https://control.aa.net.uk/linkreport.cgi

(Linked in from https://aa.net.uk/broadband-speed.html, which also has a congestion report)
Logged
A&A

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #26 on: July 03, 2018, 04:31:58 PM »

Idnet told me the backhaul network is via BT Wholesale and a line test had passed without any signs of a fault, i did ask for a copy of the gea test but they aint sent me one, so ive asked again.

Speeds are still hit and miss

« Last Edit: July 03, 2018, 04:36:10 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2018, 04:44:40 PM »

The Huawei HG612 is easily unlocked to see the detailed line statistics. No need for the ISP to run a GEA test just to see your line profile.

Plusnet GEA tests give a DLM line profile that is 13 days old. If that's the same with other ISP's then it would be a waste of time anyway as the line isn't even 13 days old.

I raised this twice on the Plusnet forum but the comment was just ignored.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2018, 05:24:41 PM »

I wonder if it would be better to just buy a modem/router and do away with the Huawei HG612

Results from idnet

Sync Speed (Mbps)      68.4   20
Service Tests
Voice Line Test Result   Pass   Test outcome   Inconclusive
Main Fault Location   No Fault Found
Bridge Tap   Not Detected   Cross Talk   Not Detected
NTE Power Status   PowerOn   Radio Frequency Ingress   Not Detected
Home Wiring Problem   Not Specified   Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise   Not Detected
Profile And Policy
Downstream   Upstream
Profile   0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission High   0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

« Last Edit: July 03, 2018, 06:39:03 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #29 on: July 06, 2018, 09:22:33 PM »

So i moved from plusnet due to the support which i found poop, now im with idnet who offer decent support. The only downside i found is im getting much higher pings in online gaming.

I was with plusnet 7 years and my pings were 20-30ms in all eu servers, now i get 40-90ms i dont understand how a simple switch to a new isp and now i have large pings. Also i had 64/18 with plusnet and now have 61/18 with idnet.

Idnet seam fine unless you're an online gamer from what ive seen so far.

I may have to switch isp after my first month.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2018, 09:26:31 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
 

anything