Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: St3's Migration to IDNet  (Read 3177 times)

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
St3's Migration to IDNet
« on: June 26, 2018, 03:25:32 PM »

[Moderator note: This post and the sequence of posts which follow have been split off from Roseway's Migration to IDNet thread.]

I'm connected to IDNet and everything seams o.k.

*fixed typo*
« Last Edit: July 06, 2018, 05:37:09 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 02:09:11 PM »

the "10 day" thing is for ADSL, doesn't apply to FTTC.
Logged

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2018, 02:13:50 PM »

ahh ok cheers for the heads up

hmm my pings alittle higher than it was.



Some online games im hitting upto 100ms which is not so good, before the switch i was getting around 20-27 in all online games. I will need to have that looked into i think.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 03:10:13 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2018, 04:16:11 PM »

looking at the price for IDnet - eye watering !!

£40.20pm for 80/20 FTTC (broadband only)
and if you want elevated priority then add £12pm on top of that - of course if everyone takes that option then it makes a mockery of it.

can't say i see that a very good value for money.
Logged

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2018, 07:54:21 PM »

Hmm connections not great tonight

« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 07:59:31 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6089
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2018, 09:03:49 PM »

@chenks - regarding the point about elevated priority, I see your point but there may be more to it than that, because of the detailed meaning of the term.

I have Andrews’ and Arnold + BT’s ‘premium’ elevated priority thing. Maybe IDNet has exactly the same thing as AA. Anyway, this is what I think / hope the AA deal is: (AA say that they do not have very detailed info themselves from BT.) Within the BT network between the ISP and the DSLAM, my traffic should take priority over non ‘premium’ traffic. AA say that if their own network is congested then they will drop non premium traffic first.

But to come back to your point. Indeed as you say if all customers buy the elevated priority thing and if it meant merely literally that and no more, then it would be pointless. One thing they could do though is to guarantee to buy extra burst capacity on demand from other providers, and have burstable links and so on. I did not express that very well at all, but I am hoping you get the idea. It could be linked to an guarantee of investment in running a non-congested network.

AA has in the past published stats for internal congestion in they own network. The last lot that I saw showed that they dropped zero premium packets due to congestion. It is not cheap running a totally uncontested network and the AA premium option is not cheap at all.
Logged

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2018, 10:06:27 PM »

Idnet give me 60/18 up until 5pm then it drops to 45/18 this is worse than plusnet, if speeds dont increase soon then im off.

Plusnet always gave me a solid 62/18

I may need to try AAISP.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 10:11:44 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 495
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2018, 10:34:54 PM »

Is peak time congestion really still a thing with VDSL resellers?
Logged

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2018, 08:09:01 AM »

Is peak time congestion really still a thing with VDSL resellers?

very much so!
plusnet had some very bad congestion for a while until they rejigged their gateways.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 10:19:46 AM by chenks »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2018, 10:11:14 AM »

@st3 If you're on a Huawei cab you may well be interleaved, you would of lost G. INP,  perhaps even the 3dB margin if you had them, these will all take time to get back.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

RealAleMadrid

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2018, 10:31:07 AM »

@Ronski  The changes you mention would affect the sync speed but do not explain the slower throughput at peak times.
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2018, 05:00:47 PM »

Idnet give me 60/18 up until 5pm then it drops to 45/18 this is worse than plusnet, if speeds dont increase soon then im off.

Plusnet always gave me a solid 62/18

I may need to try AAISP.

Have you logged this with them?

They have a choice of three Backhaul suppliers, so should be willing to move you to another backhaul supplier.

If you have moved recently and are on 30 day terms, you can even insist on it.
Logged

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2018, 05:45:52 PM »

Yes i reported it to them and they said give it 2 days see how it is.

This was my GEA Test 2 days before i switched.


Test Outcome   Pass
Test Outcome Code   GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description   GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location   OK
Sync Status   In Sync
Downstream Speed   68.4 Mbps
Upstream Speed   20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required   N
Fault Report Advised   N
NTE Power Status   PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result   Pass
Bridge Tap   Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise   Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres   439.4
Upstream Rate Assessment   Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment   Good
Interference Pattern   Regular Interference Observed Daily
Service Impact   No Impact Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence   From 13:45 to 13:00
Interference Location   Customer Premise
Home Wiring Problem   Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate   0.0
Customer Traffic Level   Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology   VDSL
Profile Name   0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp   2018-06-13T10:00:00
Parameters   MIN   MAX   AVG
Down Stream Line Rate   72.1 Mbps   72.1 Mbps   72.1 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate   20.0 Mbps   20.0 Mbps   20.0 Mbps
Up Time   898.0 Sec   900.0 Sec   899.9 Sec
Retrains   0.0   0.0   0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters   Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)   Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp   2018-06-26T08:29:12Z   2018-06-26T08:44:12Z
Ingress Code Violation   3   1
Egress Code Violation   0   0
Errored Seconds   0   0
Severely Errored Seconds   0   0
Unavailable Seconds   0   0

[Moderator edited to fix the breakage in output.]
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 06:04:37 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 751
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2018, 03:07:58 AM »

I am with Uno on TTB and no slowdowns over the past year on FTTC. Although I test the download speed every 2 hours, 24/7 I have noticed the odd blip where my max download is down a couple of meg. I am testing using files from TBB download pages and a server in Amsterdam. I then test the connection on Speedtest.net and it returns max speed of 73 mbits on closest server. Always puzzled me. The download speedtester is using multi thread testing same as Speedtest.net.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

St3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: St3's Migration to IDNet
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2018, 07:03:14 PM »

Ive just ran 3 more tests now im home from work and this is the result



I have saved speedtests with TBB for the last 6 months while with plusnet, even peak times my av speeds were 62/18

Why are they now reduced at peak times with idnet ?

Im paying extra for less.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2018, 07:05:20 PM by St3 »
Logged
Intel i7-7700K @ 4.5G ghz
16GB HyperX Fury DDR4 @ 2133 mhz
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 Black Edition
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5