Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6  (Read 538 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39360
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« on: June 27, 2018, 01:07:17 PM »

Having migrated to IDNet, I'm struggling to establish an IPv6 connection. I've tried various routers with a bridge modem, and now I'm trying a VMG8924-B10A in modem/router mode. If anyone is doing this successfully, can you please advise how you have the VMG8924 configured for IPv6?
Logged
  Eric

spring

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 322
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 01:21:05 PM »

https://support.zen.co.uk/kb/Knowledgebase/ZyXEL-VMG1312-VMG8924-IPv6-Setup

change  Home Networking-->LAN IPv6 Mode Setup-->LAN IPv6 DNS Assign Setup  to  "From RA & DHCPv6 Server".

if it didn't work and your ISP has DHCPv6 then try ticking "Get IPv6 Address From DHCPv6 Server(IA_NA)" in WAN interface.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 02:52:30 PM by spring »
Logged
No one knows what is the taste of the void.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39360
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2018, 03:13:32 PM »

Thank you, that led to a solution. The odd thing is that my ISP does have DHCPv6, but I had to untick that option in the WAN section.
Logged
  Eric

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6572
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2018, 03:25:49 AM »

As I am sure you are aware, if you have a static IPv6 prefix (ie address block) assigned then there is no advantage taking info from the ISP via relay DHCPv6 over the WAN, unless they give out some other juicy good-to-know info too. It is arguably just one more thing to go wrong.

You might want to check what you are doing with the RA M and O flags too. I got this wrong myself to begin with.

Btw, does IDNet use PPP?


Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39360
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2018, 06:07:38 AM »

I'm sorry, but I have no idea what the RA M and O flags are. All I needed to configure were the items mentioned in the Zen document quoted above. I get 10/10 at https://test-ipv6.com/ .

IDNet uses PPPoE.
Logged
  Eric

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6572
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2018, 06:45:56 AM »

In IPv6 you have options as to how you choose to set up addresses for the tin boxes on your LAN. You may wish to exercise some control over how addresses get assigned. Some operating systems seem to have ideas if their own though and do not want to be bossed about by the sysadmin. IPv6 address setup is very robust, one of the huge improvements over IPv4. So if things are working then there is no need at all to do anything. It is only if you want things a certain way that you might possibly want to look into addressing, config and zero-config further.

I just mentioned it because I made a muck up of things involving this myself.

See https://tools.ietf.org/id/draft-ietf-ipv6-ra-mo-flags-00.txt. In a router advertisement (RA), the router sends out advertisements that contain the so called M and O flags. The M (‘managed’) flag tells clients that they should behave themselves and should submit to being managed by a DHCPv6 server. The O (‘other’) flag is concerned with telling clients where to find the source of info other than clients’ own addresses. One example that comes to mind is where to get the list of recommended dns servers from.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 06:49:43 AM by Weaver »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39360
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2018, 07:08:04 AM »

Thank you for the explanation, but I don't think I want to get involved in that level of detail.
Logged
  Eric

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6572
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: VMG8924-B10A configured for IPv6
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2018, 11:55:02 AM »

Quite so, as I said, if it works, then there is no problem.
Logged