Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

Author Topic: ADSL2 line problems  (Read 4042 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31559
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #60 on: June 24, 2018, 07:56:21 AM »

Quote
It seems the ADSL is dropping a lot.

umm that was the point of my post.   Since an LOS causes re-initialization, then I think its safe to assume that its line drops and not Err Secs that is the issue.   Thus MBTR and not MTBE count triggering DLM.    I pointed out in an earlier post I was concerned about the number of LOS.

Quote
I think sometimes it does not help to get bogged down in minute details of stats while losing sight of whatever the actual symptoms of the problem are.

Earlier g3uiss had mentioned about the SP performing line tests, so a few of those LOS will be DLM resyncs and line tests.     We already know that DLM resync triggers an RDI.   Admittedly slightly off topic, but that got me wondering if DLM took any notice of RDI markers (discounted them) when doing the MBTR calculation, which is why I mentioned it. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31559
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #61 on: June 24, 2018, 08:24:45 AM »

Quote
but that got me wondering if DLM took any notice of RDI markers (discounted them) when doing the MBTR calculation,

On reflection, likely not because it doesn't discount LPRs either.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1747
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #62 on: June 24, 2018, 08:25:19 AM »

But it is possible to have LOS events without them causing a retrain. However, in this case, they just look like lots of line drops, about 50 of them in the last lot of stats from 21 June.
Logged

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #63 on: June 24, 2018, 10:17:41 AM »

Well itís not had the DLM again.

 Iím a bit confused with dates but on one day the ISP were doing line tests every 2/3. Hours. I thought it was just dropping but I compared the times with them and they were identical.

That must have been Wednesday as it had DLM action Thursday and Friday but not since. Itís also interesting that the comment about NM being increased rather than interleaving. So Iím leaving it alone, and see what happens, but Iíve put current stats up as at this morning. That might help as there has been no actual resync for 2 days.

Thanks for all the input,
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4889
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #64 on: June 24, 2018, 11:37:40 AM »

PM'd ya, g3uiss.  :)
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1747
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #65 on: June 24, 2018, 11:58:46 AM »

I think the connection speed has been banded, rather than the target SNRM being increased.
Logged

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #66 on: June 24, 2018, 01:58:08 PM »

Thanks EJS and also Black Sheep.  I now have another modem (Zyxel) all configured ready to swap out. The intention is to see if the missing tones reappear. I suppose if they do thatís a positive result. If not itís got to be back to the SP to sort with OR.

Interested what gives an indication of banding, rather than SNRM being increased. What makes the DLM chose that as a first option ?

My intention is to swap out tomorrow so I can see if the DLM is not going to take any action in the early hours.

I will post results.

Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1747
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #67 on: June 24, 2018, 03:48:14 PM »

Main indication of banding is that it's connected a few kb under one of the banded rates, 14,336k. Plus the attainable rate being significantly higher than the actual rate.
Logged

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #68 on: June 24, 2018, 04:57:24 PM »

Thanks EJS. Most helpful and appreciated.

Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #69 on: June 24, 2018, 06:19:30 PM »

Main indication of banding is that it's connected a few kb under one of the banded rates, 14,336k. Plus the attainable rate being significantly higher than the actual rate.

ISP just confirmed that your right I'm banded.

6th engineer coming Friday, but will still swap out Modem tomorrow as I planned.
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #70 on: June 25, 2018, 11:59:41 AM »

OK

Swapped out Modem at around 1130. Uploaded stats to my web site. You will see the missing tones are exactly the same. (Actually a partial one extra on the B1312-B10A router around 155). The SNRM slightly higher DS on the Zxyel, but sync speed identical.

As there is no change I've swapped back to my HG612. The stats showing now at www.west-lodge.com/adsl/index.htm are using the Zxyel and the snapshot at 1800 yesterday showing the HG612

So BTOR visit booked for Friday, not sure what they will find, but I'm now confident nothing untoward with my router.

Any comments most welcome.

Tony
« Last Edit: June 25, 2018, 02:59:43 PM by g3uiss »
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

konrado5

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 896
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #71 on: June 25, 2018, 04:16:08 PM »

But now on your Hlog there are no missing tones.
Logged

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #72 on: June 25, 2018, 05:28:13 PM »

But the bit loading still has all the missing tones. I thought that was of the More concern ?

Please put me right if Iíve been looking at the wrong plots ?

The extra tone with 2 bits is likly the pilot tone ? Seen on the Zxyel modem not on the HG612
« Last Edit: June 25, 2018, 05:34:11 PM by g3uiss »
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1747
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #73 on: June 25, 2018, 06:41:19 PM »

I don't think testing a different modem for a couple of hours is sufficient for dealing with a stability problem. It's not enough time to assess stability.

The 2 bit pilot tone has been on all the bitloading plots. I think the missing tones are unrelated to any line stability problem.
Logged

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #74 on: June 25, 2018, 06:43:55 PM »

The connection is stable, its the banding which is the issue, which you kindly pointed out. I was trying to ascertain if a different modem will fill in the missing tones,

The only drops since the DLM banded me have been ISP running line tests.
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
 

anything