Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8

Author Topic: ADSL2 line problems  (Read 3391 times)

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
ADSL2 line problems
« on: June 17, 2018, 05:34:15 PM »

Iíve been having issues with my 2nd line which is ADSL2. For years it performed well but after a series of phone faults it seems impossible for OR to get the broadband stable.

To me the errors look well below that requiring a DLM intervention but again this morning after a DLM reset it put my SNR up to 9db. Iím willing to bet tomorrow it will go to 12db.

Any comments on my stats which I might not have noticed is at

www.west-Lodge.com/adsl/index.htm

Iíve only just turned on uploading so there are no snapshots, but there will be one after 1800.

I really canít see why the DLM keeps slowing me down 😰 Tony

[Moderator edited: asdl --> adsl]
« Last Edit: June 17, 2018, 07:34:57 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22912
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2018, 07:47:46 PM »

I've taken a look at your statistics and cannot see anything obvious to account for the problem.

The QLN and Hlog plots show a relatively good metallic pathway, with just a touch of RFI at ~1007 kHz.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

konrado5

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 881
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2018, 08:55:53 PM »

What is your router? I guess: Netgear DGND3700.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1588
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2018, 09:08:47 PM »

What is your router? I guess: Netgear DGND3700.

Huawei HG612
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 704
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2018, 09:24:50 PM »

Tried a different modem/modem PSU?

Modem attached directly to wall or extension bar? Tried different ones?

What other devices are within a 2 metre radius of the modem?
Are you using powerline ethernet anywhere?
Logged

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2018, 10:09:31 PM »

HG612, connected to Draytec 2925.

No Powerlines. Straight into latest BT faceplate, no internal wiring. Other devices, another HG612 for my VDSL, UPS, and apart from router and PC nothing.

Sort of what I thought, must be a excahnge / DSLAM issue ? Saw the RFI at 1Khz (tone 230), but its seems minor and the same blip on my VDSL circuit. Last option to tray a different modem, but reluctant as it only happend post voice issues on line (noise followed by no dial tone)

Thanks for thoughts

Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 704
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2018, 10:39:56 PM »

Might be worth trying those, short, twisted RJ11 cables for each modem as well as moving them as far away from each other as possible.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22912
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2018, 11:46:53 PM »

Saw the RFI at 1Khz (tone 230), . . .

Your calculation is a little bit off.  ;)

230 x 4.3125 kHz = 991.9 kHz

Have you tried swapping over the two modems and seeing if the problem moves with the device?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2018, 11:57:44 AM »

Hi I meant to add the zero's ! No not swapped, because I have exactly the same spike on my VDSL circuit so I guess its something local.

I've had no issues with my VDSL said he touching the wooden desk. So I would expect the same spike. Any thoughts what goes on at that frequency, I know its below amateur Top band, we have no radio installations in this area.

The ADSL DLM re synced again this AM, it actually brought down my SNR from 9 to 8, but the spike remains in exactly the same place. Its also there despite the time of day, so its constant 24/7

 :(
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2469
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2018, 02:39:22 PM »


                               Location                 Watts NGR
R Devon                   Pearce's Hill, Exeter  1000  SX931881


Radio 5 Live             Tywyn, Gwynedd       1000  SH581004


Radio nan Gaidheal  Redmoss, Aberdeen    1000  NJ942024


Magic AM                 Crimpsall, Doncaster    250   SE566032


Classic Gold WABC   Sedgley, Dudley             90   SO905939
« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 03:43:40 PM by 4candles »
Logged
An oxymoron walked into a bar, and the silence was deafening.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2018, 07:17:41 PM »

I can't particularly see anything on the physical side of things.   

The small noise spike circa tone 330 on QLN graph doesn't actually appear to be having too much of an effect, other than reduce your bit loading by 2 bits at the corresponding tones, thus we are only talking about a few kbps.

What I find more puzzling from the bitloading graph are several tones without any bitload.  If you look closely on your hlog they appear to correspond with gaps in hlog too.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 253
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2018, 07:52:27 PM »

Iím no where near the quoted radio transmissions.

Yes I noted the gaps in the bit loading. There a couple on my vdsl line but fewer, while the QLN spike is in the same place.

Iím to have another OR engineer on Thursday I really canít see anything from the stats causing the erratic performance and the DLM taking action every morning with the SNR.

Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2018, 09:24:18 PM »

Although I'm only basing on one QLN snapshot, IMHO the QLN spike is negligible.

I can't think what could be causing the 0 bitloads.   There is nothing on QLN to show any noise at the corresponding tones.  The pattern isn't typical of bridge tap or capacitive issue which is what hlogs usually show,  but it does appear to be fairly evenly spaced at some points (appx every 50 tones).

Scratching my head as to what may cause 0 bit load but QLN gives no indication of noise at those tones.  The fact those gaps are there on hlog shows whatever it is was there at the same time QLN would have been recorded during sync time.

b*cat have you ever seen anything like that pattern before, because I can't say I can recall doing do in the 15yrs I've been reading stats.  Admittedly hlog hasn't been around that long, but you would expect to see corresponding low readings in [true] SNR per tone which used to be spewed out by the stats back then.... which goes back to QLN is OK   :puzzled:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22912
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ADSL2 line problems
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2018, 10:14:52 PM »

b*cat have you ever seen anything like that pattern before, . . .

Earlier this evening, when you mentioned the zero bit loading, I went back and took another look at that plot . . . and came away puzzled. I'm not too sure that it is regular spacing -- I think it is another example of "seeing a pattern that isn't really there".

What might be interesting is to search the raw data for each occurrence of zero bit loading and then calculate the frequency of each unused sub-carrier.

In answer to your question, above, my response is "no, never". (I wonder if Konrado5 has ever seen anything similar?)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8