Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: asus dsl-n14ub1 router config to work with 2 isps?  (Read 385 times)

freeflow

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
asus dsl-n14ub1 router config to work with 2 isps?
« on: June 02, 2018, 09:31:46 AM »

Hi
I got a asus dsl-n14ub1router which is connected to originbroadband adsl via telephone(1mb), which is very slow and unreliable. i am keeping this for another 4 month. i know have got community wireless broadband with its own "modem" (30mb speed)with just one Ethernet port, i am using a switch to connect other computers to the modem.
my question is can ai use the the asus dsl-n14ub1 to act like a router and also, can it connect, at the same time ,to both isps, eg combine them, bundle so to get more out of them and provide backup, if one goes down and to connect all computers together on same net work?
Thanks
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24202
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: asus dsl-n14ub1 router config to work with 2 isps?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 05:17:49 PM »

I don't know that Asus device but I very much doubt that it could be used in the way that you have proposed.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 269
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: asus dsl-n14ub1 router config to work with 2 isps?
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2018, 10:30:10 PM »

To my knowledge only Draytec offer load balancing routers at affordable costs. Most of the current range facilitate at least 2 or more WAN,s. Either with modem built in or not.

Iíve used them successfully in quite a lot of situations mostly suited to fall back. You canít bond two lines,  as that requires ISP cooperation but you can split local LAN addresses to use multiple WAN,s.
Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC and Plusnet ADSL HG612 modems with Vigor 2925

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1916
Re: asus dsl-n14ub1 router config to work with 2 isps?
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2018, 10:52:43 PM »

I'm not familiar if that model has dual WAN.
If it does this is where the relevant options are and how to set it up.

https://www.asus.com/uk/support/FAQ/1011719/

You would want Primary WAN as DSL and Secondary as WAN or Ethernet LAN.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2018, 10:55:40 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

freeflow

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: asus dsl-n14ub1 router config to work with 2 isps?
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2018, 10:16:24 AM »

it is not just for load balancing or bundling, it is also for being able to connect to my computers which are using the originbroadband connection via the network, so some are run from one modem/router some are from the other and i wish to be able to transfer files freely.
Thanks
Logged