Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DSLStats - first attempt using it  (Read 1148 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2018, 09:33:16 PM »

In DSLstats, those three plots have a configuration option in the bottom margin. Set it to "Custom" (I think that is the correct description) and move the slider until you have, at least, sub-carrier number 4095 visible.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 546
Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2018, 09:45:16 PM »

i assume you mean in the "change tone range" option?
i've expanded it to up to 4400 for qln, hlog and bits.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 09:53:24 PM by chenks »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2018, 10:52:17 PM »

i assume you mean in the "change tone range" option?
i've expanded it to up to 4400 for qln, hlog and bits.

Yes, that's it.  :)

So there is a very slight "wobble" in the Hlog plot (nothing is ever perfect), the QLN plot hints at a degree of cross-talk and the Bit Loading is quite acceptable. From the degree of DS power cut-back visible in the latter plot, we can deduce that the cabinet is a significant distance from the telephony serving exchange. Nothing you can change or influence . . . so accept the current as "the normal baseline" and be aware if there is a significant deviation away from the normal, for that is when you should consider if there is a degradation in the service.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 546
Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2018, 10:57:52 PM »

I wouldn't say significant distance but not a stone's throw away either. But with fttc distance shouldn't be an issue anyway?
In terms of cabinet distance, I could hit it with stone from the bedroom window. And the pole is in the back garden.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24541
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: DSLStats - first attempt using it
« Reply #19 on: June 03, 2018, 11:42:09 PM »

Let me explain . . .

The DS power cut-back, applied to the DSLAM output, is related to the length of the E-side cable from the telephony serving exchange. The sole purpose is to reduce the power output by the DSLAM on G.993.2 (VDSL2) circuits to be equivalent to the power, measured within the PCP on the D-side cable, of ADSL2+ circuits which have originated from the telephony serving exchange equipment. In other words, the measured power at ADLS2+ frequencies in the D-side cable of both ADSL2+ and VDSL2 circuits are equal. Hence the latter does not "drown out" the former.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 11:44:46 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything