Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: DSLstats v6.5 released  (Read 5063 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39206
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2018, 07:18:54 AM »

@westie: feature or bug? I suppose it counts as a bug because it's an inconsistency. I'll take a look at it.

[Edit] This is corrected in the next version. This also applies to the traffic/minute graph, which has the same issue.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2018, 02:50:47 PM by roseway »
Logged
  Eric

Westie

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 756
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2018, 09:33:56 AM »

Thanks, Eric. I only reported it because I suspect you like to get get things 'right'. In my view it's a very low priority, because the work-around is so easy. DSLstats is much appreciated just as it is!  :)
Logged

Deathstar

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2018, 07:43:59 PM »

Updated and running fine.

FTP to my Synology NAS also working

Cheers
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39206
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2018, 10:33:11 PM »

Thank you.
Logged
  Eric

emontes

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2018, 10:16:00 AM »

Updated mine as well on a Raspberry PI, working fine. Thanks!
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3076
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2018, 05:40:33 PM »

Prompted by chrysalis' problem I can see something funny but not synchronising. I stopped DSLStats and started it with the buttons at the top, did not close the program, and yes the graphs all got wiped but when I went to SNRM per Band graph all I got was white space where the graph should display and then a floating point error. Definitely something peculiar going on. This is 6.5 btw on my W7 system and using FTP if that matters. I'll do some more testing to try to clarify what happens.

Stuart

Edit: I've tried this now a few times and often I end up with the floating point error on a restart especially if I select the SNRM per band display. Program starts and seems to run fine if left alone but a stop with the red button and a start with the green one and something strange happens. So for now will only stop it if I intend to close the program.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2018, 05:46:39 PM by broadstairs »
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39206
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2018, 06:32:47 PM »

Stuart,

Yes, following the report I checked it out. When recording is restarted after stopping, all the time-scrolling graphs should be reset so DSLstats behaves just like a new start. But two of the graphs (SNRM per band and traffic/minute) weren't being reset. I've now fixed this for the next release.

It's been like this for a long time, so I'm not sure why it's shown up now.
Logged
  Eric

Westie

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 756
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2018, 08:25:45 PM »

It's been like this for a long time, so I'm not sure why it's shown up now.

In my case it's because I used to use DSLstats to harvest the stats and upload them to MDWS, and I used MDWS to monitor what was happening to my line. Only since the demise of MDWS have I begun to appreciate (and use) the wealth of reporting facilities in DSLstats. Thanks for a great resource!

George
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3076
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2018, 09:50:39 PM »

Stuart,

Yes, following the report I checked it out. When recording is restarted after stopping, all the time-scrolling graphs should be reset so DSLstats behaves just like a new start. But two of the graphs (SNRM per band and traffic/minute) weren't being reset. I've now fixed this for the next release.

It's been like this for a long time, so I'm not sure why it's shown up now.

I suspect that I am using it more than before with the demise of MDWS, and that I am having issues with SNRM right now, also I dont often stop/pause it but I decided to try after Chrysalis reported an issue after doing that, bad decision on my part to play with a working system - although it has now got another bug killed.

Thanks

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2965
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #24 on: April 11, 2018, 10:41:48 AM »

I have installed, though for my needs I don't need the latest bells and whistles.
It's been OK until this morning, when it has solidly reported, "unable to log in to router". I can see nothing to cause that. Other than a reinstall, can anyone think why or the cure?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39206
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #25 on: April 11, 2018, 11:27:42 AM »

Sorry to be a little pedantic, but I think the actual message is "Unable to login to modem/router". As far as I can see, the message you mentioned doesn't exist in the present version of DSLstats. It seems that DSLstats has lost contact with the modem, either because you're using WiFi or because the telnet interface of the modem has stopped functioning. In the latter case a reboot of the modem may be needed.
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2965
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #26 on: April 11, 2018, 12:25:58 PM »

Sorry that finger fatigue led to a slovenly post.  ;D Unbelievably, at 11:34 all became well again. I had done nothing either yesterday or this morning to cause either failure or restoration.
To me Errors look odd; are they?
Code: [Select]
Average error rates for 11 Apr 2018

CRC erors per hour:  30.0 Down,  2.40 Up
FEC erors per hour:  0 Down,  0 Up
HEC erors per hour:  779 Down,  136 Up
ES per hour:  212 Down,  72.0 Up
SES per hour:  0 Down,  0 Up
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1588
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #27 on: April 11, 2018, 12:31:52 PM »

Looks odd to me. The ES is usually lower than CRC.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39206
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #28 on: April 11, 2018, 01:15:49 PM »

A very large number of HEC errors too, which is unusual. What modem is it now?
Logged
  Eric

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2965
Re: DSLstats v6.5 released
« Reply #29 on: April 11, 2018, 01:35:25 PM »

Billion 8800NL v1.

BTW here are yesterday's errors FWW.
Code: [Select]
Average error rates for 10 Apr 2018

CRC erors per hour:  34.4 Down,  10.9 Up
FEC erors per hour:  0 Down,  0 Up
HEC erors per hour:  102 Down,  11.9 Up
ES per hour:  27.8 Down,  8.09 Up
SES per hour:  0 Down,  0 Up
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
 

anything