Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers  (Read 96129 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1089
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #90 on: December 05, 2017, 11:14:29 AM »

@ fergie how did it work with DSLstats with TP LINK VR2800? As I did try it with TP LINK VR2600 but it doesn't work when I put TP LINK as VDSL Router mode on. Very odd. Maybe VR2800 got broadcom chipset than VR2600?
Logged

fergie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #91 on: December 06, 2017, 12:16:24 AM »

Just followed the above posts from Dink / siofjofj and it just worked.

Yes, the VR2800 has the Broadcom BCM63138 chipset:

Code: [Select]
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARMv7 Processor rev 1 (v7l)
processor       : 0
BogoMIPS        : 398.13

processor       : 1
BogoMIPS        : 398.13

Features        : swp half thumb fastmult edsp tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant     : 0x4
CPU part        : 0xc09
CPU revision    : 1

Hardware        : BCM963138
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000

I guess maybe doesn't work for the VR2600's BCM63268?
Logged

fosseperme

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #92 on: December 30, 2017, 03:32:33 PM »

not work on VR2800v (German Version)....the chipset xdsl is BCM63136v. I copied the content of the file with RouterPassview, save it in xml with notepad++ (with string telnetd added) and reconverted in bin with statposter (i tried all models). The webgui says file too large (about 100KB vs 10KB of the original bin).
« Last Edit: December 30, 2017, 03:38:05 PM by fosseperme »
Logged

BM

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #93 on: September 29, 2018, 02:44:58 PM »

Apologies for resurrecting this oldish thread. I've been following the instructions for my VR600. I've downloaded the current config, used RouterPassView to decode, added the telnet line

Code: [Select]
    <DeviceInfo>
      <ManufacturerOUI val=xxxx />
      <SerialNumber val=xxxxx />
      <HardwareVersion val="Archer VR600 v1 00000000" />
      <SoftwareVersion val="0.2.0 0.9.1 v0057.0 Build 160614 Rel.41735n" />
      <UpTime val=12 />
      <X_TP_IsFD val=3 />
      <Description val="http://www.tp-link.com`telnetd -p 1023 -l login`" />
    </DeviceInfo>

Used StatPOSTer-test3 and StatPOSTer-20160306 to create a new file with TD-W9970 option (not the V1)

2018.09.29 14:18:44 config encrypt: wrote C:\Users\Paul\Downloads\confnew.bin
16 byte MD5 checksum B85710EF75E1542FB5BE1CD23045228A
38923 bytes of data
5 bytes zero padding

When I try to restore the config I get 4501 error - Wrong file

The confnew.bin file decodes correctly in RouterPassView, but there are blank/space lines e.g.

    <DeviceInfo>

      <ManufacturerOUI val=xxxx />

      <SerialNumber val=xxxx />

      <HardwareVersion val="Archer VR600 v1 00000000" />

      <SoftwareVersion val="0.2.0 0.9.1 v0057.0 Build 160614 Rel.41735n" />

      <UpTime val=12 />

      <X_TP_IsFD val=3 />

      <Description val="http://www.tp-link.com`telnetd -p 1023 -l login`" />

    </DeviceInfo>

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

BM
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2001
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #94 on: September 29, 2018, 03:24:20 PM »

Try the other program which can do the compression properly:
https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,17108.msg368999.html#msg368999

Throwing the TP-Link in the trash and getting another router would be a preferable option.
Logged

BM

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #95 on: September 29, 2018, 04:41:33 PM »

Thank ejs,

I've had to install the VR600 because my Billion 8800NL R2 with most recent firmware 2.52.d10 installed in Mar 2018 which has been rock solid has restarted 4 times over the last 5 days - 3 of the restarts occurred within a 1 hour period on Friday afternoon. Billion Support are aware and there is a patch being tested by other customers, but in the meantime I need a stable connection.

On a slightly different tack, the 8800NL R2 is a little dated. Any suggestions for a reasonably priced replacement? I'm on Huawei cabinet about 560 metre away (straight line) from the property.

Thanks

Paul
Logged

Postal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #96 on: September 11, 2019, 06:29:35 PM »

Sorry for bumping an old thread.  Due to the death of my Billion 8800NL I picked up a VR900 V3(EU) on Monday which has the restricted Telnet capability (although I did not realise that until I got the box home and connected the router).  Being a bit huffed because I had lost the capability to run router-monitoring software like RouterStats or DSLStats, I did a bit of ferreting round the internet until I found this thread.  Finding it has made an old man happy.  Thanks to the StatPOSTer tool from ejs and the Janet-and-John explanation from Dink, I have managed to create an edited .bin file which re-loaded successfully so that I now have DSLStats up and running.

One minor glitch which may have been due to en error on my part at some stage in the process; when the new .bin file was loaded and the router re-booted itself the IPV6 network connection was disabled and I had to manually re-enable it.  Apart from that everything seems hunky-dory so far.

Big shout out to ejs, Dink and all of the others who have made their contributions to this topic for helping the rest of us to get proper stats down from the router rather than only the bits that TP-Link want us to see.  Please take this post as confirmation that the solution works for the VR900 V3 (aka AC1900 or C9) as well as for the other routers verified further up the topic.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27671
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Getting extra DSL stats from TP-Link modem/routers
« Reply #97 on: September 11, 2019, 06:52:40 PM »

Welcome to the kitz forum.  :)

Thank you for taking to the time to report your success. I sure the members involved will appreciate your accolade.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]
 

anything