Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018  (Read 6062 times)

ktz392837

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 373
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #45 on: June 11, 2018, 01:37:39 PM »

Whenever an ECI GINP thread is updated I hope it someone posting details of the new rollout.  I do not why I torture myself like this!
Logged

smallal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #46 on: June 26, 2018, 09:40:46 AM »

Totally agree, it's getting to be the case that Openreach look like they've given up on the ECI front.
They claim the last firmware they tested worked except on a very few routers which still had problems.
So why don't they update the cabs with this firmware, turn G.INP back on & wait to see who moans.
They can then send out replacement routers to these few impacted customers.
Considering how much they charge for the service, a few free routers wouldn't break the bank.
 
Instead they're now torturing us with the G.FAST rollout (or lack of).
They install the street pods but then leave them idle for months.
My exchange still isn't online but the pods were installed almost 6 months ago.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2018, 10:13:45 PM by smallal »
Logged

spring

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 322
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #47 on: June 26, 2018, 10:31:56 AM »

I don't know if my cab is exactly the same but they left it on, Openreach decided to turn it off to not get calls from people with incapable modems. But 2-3 years later (is it, lazy to check) there wouldn't be as many incapable modems. They don't care.
Also, upstream G.INP on ECI was never enabled for anyone on FTTC (at least, it has remained off due to incapable hardware). This proves ECI cabs have no hope except swapping hardware for that, and this makes me doubt firmwares on the cab itself will fix downstream G.INP for "all modems" [the ones that otherwise work perfectly on Huawei cabs], including all the modems still running with outdated firmware.
Of course they only care about themselves, people with power are even less forced to be good.

Code: [Select]
Stats recorded 26 Jun 2018 12:34:47

DSLAM type / SW version: IFTN:0xb206 (178.6) / v0xb206
Modem/router firmware:  AnnexA version - A2pv6F039x1.d26a
DSL mode:                VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                  Showtime
Uptime:                  4 days 5 hours 48 min 53 sec
Resyncs:                0 (since 26 Jun 2018 12:34:43)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  10.8 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not monitored
Connection speed (kbps): 44880 3455
SNR margin (dB):        25.3 19.3
Power (dBm):            -14.8 -15.0
Interleave depth:        1 55
INP:                    44.00 2.00
G.INP:                  Enabled Not enabled
Vectoring status:        5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)

RSCorr/RS (%):          0.0001 0.1095
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        0.0000 0.0000
ES/hour:                0 0

Quote
They claim the last firmware they tested worked except on a very few routers which still had problems.
The same excuse like before. The key word is they don't care because people are "forced" to use their cabs anyway.

I imagine "all of" the other ECI cabs in Israel have G.INP enabled. I'm only using VDSL since August 2017 though, but this thread shows it was enabled in 2017: https://translate.google.com/translate?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.hometheater.co.il%2Fvt271090.html
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 12:34:42 PM by spring »
Logged
No one knows what is the taste of the void.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1790
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #48 on: June 26, 2018, 01:11:58 PM »

That Israeli ISP may not be exclusively using ECI kit, or may be using different ECI kit.

The 1st post that shows G.INP enabled had it on both Downstream/Upstream.

The ECI M41 DSLAM used in the UK doesn't support upstream G.INP.

The Israeli user on these forums connected to the same ECI DSLAM we use in the UK only has G.INP on the downstream.

edit: you, half asleep lol.

They may have a mix of M41's and V41's or might also use other vendors. Very unlikely they are all M41's.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 01:15:57 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

spring

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 322
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #49 on: June 26, 2018, 01:22:37 PM »

My cab was installed in 2015, but is there a way to check what model it is?

Do some modems not work if upstream G.INP is enabled? Or it automatically adapts to incapable modems [unlike on downstream G.INP]?
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 01:24:49 PM by spring »
Logged
No one knows what is the taste of the void.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1790
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #50 on: June 26, 2018, 02:04:52 PM »

adsl info --vendor

Shows the vendor and the DSLAM firmware.
Yours matches the UK ECI DSLAM firmware numbers.

If the modem supports downstream G.INP only and the DSLAM supports both then only downstream will be enabled.**

Your modem supports both up/down G.INP but only down is enabled on the upstream. This fits with your ECI DSLAM only supporting downstream G.INP.

** During the Huawei G.INP rollout modems that didn't support upstream G.INP caused problems where very high interleaving was enabled. OpenReach did a bit of a fudge to fix this (aka G.INP mk2).
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5416
Re: ECI G.INP- Updated info April 2018
« Reply #51 on: July 03, 2018, 01:01:54 AM »

So why they don't they update the cabs with this firmware, turn G.INP back on & wait to see who moans.
They can then send out replacement routers to these few impacted customers.
Considering how much they charge for the service, a few free routers wouldn't break the bank.


My guess is the argument is between openreach and the CPs is who will pay for these new modems or some other issue that has financial implications.  There is likely some kind of standoff somewhere on how to deal with these few problem end users, hence no rollout.

If openreach enforced a modem lock down then they wouldnt be in this position.  Although they would also be liable to switch out modems they issued that are incompatible.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything