Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 30 31 [32]

Author Topic: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)  (Read 117707 times)

Ok-League-3645

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #465 on: July 07, 2022, 06:39:57 PM »

Heres jumbo frames + stats on V5.13(AAVF.18)C0:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/huk6k0wyikesl9a/AAAbpXPAFMnEYdMhJdO9U2oKa?dl=0

Sorry for taking so long @Ok-League-3645 and thanks again for the source link.

@johnson Thanks a lot for providing this  :thumbs:
Logged

anssik

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #466 on: July 26, 2022, 11:13:41 PM »

Could someone post the source link for VMG3925-B10B V5.13(AAVF.18)C0 ?
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 838
Logged

pcourtney

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #468 on: November 26, 2022, 12:59:46 PM »

thank you Johnson, does the below work for the B10C version as well ?

https://service-provider.zyxel.com/global/en/products/dsl-cpe/vdsl/modemresidential-gateways/vmg3925-b-series

also, on dropbox there are 3 files for the B10B, could I kindly ask for a laymans description of each of them, I think GPL.zip are the source files

3925-B10B-18-jumbo-statsV1.1.bin         7/6/2022 2:09 am
3925-B10B-18-jumbo.bin                         7/6/2022 2:09 am
VMG3925-B10B_V513AAVF18C0_GPL.zip   6/22/2022 5:27 am

and last thing, are the Zyxel 3925's in bridge mode ( modem passthrough / bridge mode ) still the best bet with VDSL lines, now that the "Baby Jumbo" fix has been implemented ?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2022, 01:02:03 PM by pcourtney »
Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 838
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #469 on: November 27, 2022, 12:25:39 AM »

thank you Johnson, does the below work for the B10C version as well ?

They appear to use the same firmware, this zyxel page lists the same firmware for both, and AAISPs wiki has:
Quote
The specification is very similar to the VMG3925-B10B that it replaces (in fact the same firmware is used on the B10B and B10C)
but I don't have a B10C to test.

also, on dropbox there are 3 files for the B10B, could I kindly ask for a laymans description of each of them, I think GPL.zip are the source files

3925-B10B-18-jumbo.bin - V18 firmware, just the patches for 1508 baby jumbo frames
3925-B10B-18-jumbo-statsV1.1.bin  - Same but including a small websever with easy access to line stats and a 48 hour log, screenshots and details here.
VMG3925-B10B_V513AAVF18C0_GPL.zip - Source package from zyxel.

and last thing, are the Zyxel 3925's in bridge mode ( modem passthrough / bridge mode ) still the best bet with VDSL lines, now that the "Baby Jumbo" fix has been implemented ?

Depends on your line! Second hand 8x24/3925 etc are cheap enough that they are always worth trying IMO.
Logged

pcourtney

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #470 on: November 27, 2022, 02:07:04 PM »

super, thank you for that johnson - much appreciated  :cool:

the version I want is the included webserver one, to use with the VMG3925-B10C, so I can test this and report back, will be running in "Bridge Mode" with a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X router ( ER-X)  behind it

"Modem stats server with logging and web interface -  a small mongoose based http server with simple visualisation of real time and logged statistics avaliable by default on modem-ip:8000 "

how do I remotely see the http server when I'm not on site, can I port forward to :8000 to see the Zyxel even when its in bridge mode, or does the Zyxel need one its ethernet switch ports ( LAN 1 ) to be plugged into the ER-X with a LAN ip of 192.168.1.1 for the :8000 to work ?

Logged

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 838
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #471 on: November 27, 2022, 11:58:20 PM »

With the zyxel in bridge mode the PPPoE connection terminates on your router (the ERX), so accessing it remotely will require the same steps as exposing any other device on your network to the internet.

Lan access will require a second cable or the routing tricks to use one, and I would stop there. I wouldn't recommend exposing either the default interface or the stats server to the internet just as I wouldn't recommend exposing other devices on your network. I would look into VPN protocol like wireguard for secure remote access to a network.  :)
Logged

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 502
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #472 on: November 29, 2022, 03:56:04 PM »

I was able to set ptm0 and ptm0.1 MTU in modem settings to 1508 and it was showing MTU 1508 in ifconfig command.

but setting the MTU in ETH1 interface in openwrt didn't change the mtu for pppoe-wan interface it stayed 1492 and I also tried changing it manually but still was same 1492, tested via ping -f -l command.
Logged
VDSL FTTC 35/18

mi1111

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #473 on: February 05, 2023, 07:13:04 AM »

Does anyone has an archive of mostly vmg4005 firmwares, but also similar? Its a simple bonding /modem/bridge and a nice piece for trying. Unfortunately zyxel ftp gone, and sources....just newest. Got few branded, will decide for jtag TP or nand reading. I hope under the nand is an SPI flash footprint...
Logged

Randcom

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #474 on: August 19, 2023, 04:46:25 PM »

Here’s the full-reset procedure I use, with firmware loading and then config loading:
   •   Set your machine to 192.168.1.11 / 255.255.255.0 / gateway 192.168.1.1
   •   Plug ethernet cable into modem’s port 2 or 3 and into main switch
   •   Power the modem off
   •   insert a pokey implement into the modem’s reset hole to depress the switch (there is a similarly sized but protruding WPS)
   •   Power modem on, keeping poker poked in all the time still
   •   Keeping poker in, LED will flash for 20s then go solid red
   •   Release poker
   •   If the device is left in the solid red light mode then a recovery page should appear at http://192.168.1.1, but only if the ethernet cable is connected to port 2 or 3. Port 1 or is it 4 -which is it -will not work, depending on which way you read the port numbering. (I think the port on the far right is the bad one.)
   •   file selector prompt, select the firmware file something.bin
   •   After you hit enter at the load firmware prompt, after so many secs the screen should change to show a [back] button. (If not, then you may have put cable in the wrong port, so check it is in port 2 or 3)
   •   Takes forever to blow flash, no UI feedback
   •   after 2 mins the modem will reboot (no progress indication)
   •   When the modem web UI comes up, at http://192.168.1.1: log in with username=admin, password=1234
   •   Forcible password change, set password to your choice
If you are loading your own saved standard config file:
[   •   using menu option "configuration" > "restore", choose an XML config file
   •   When you have waited for a minute or so, hit refresh in browser
   •   you have to make sure you go back into the the "configuration" menu again, then modem will reboot
   •   Modem’s IP address will now change - it might be wrong when the modem boots if the config file specified something other than the default, so change your machine’s address if necessary accordingly
   •   Wait an age until the modem config is loaded (v. approx 4 min for me)
Then when config loading has completed
]
Main part all done.

First job:
   •   telnet into modem, log in as "supervisor", with your standard supervisor password  - ask if you don’t know this
   •   Telnet CLI : Enter the command :  save_default clean
   •   enter the command: exit
All done.

Hi, I dont know my supervisor password? Thanks gabtar
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 30 31 [32]