Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 31

Author Topic: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)  (Read 58746 times)

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 344
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #390 on: January 10, 2020, 01:53:06 PM »

1500

Then do a test from a wired PC:

LINUX:
ping -c4 -M do -s 1472 1.1.1.1

WINDOWS:
ping -f -l 1472 1.1.1.1

The pings should be successful..

Logged
Plusnet 80/20, Huawei 288, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A (bridge mode with 1500 MTU, thanks to johnson), Netgate SG-1100 (pfsense)

xlr8r

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #391 on: January 10, 2020, 04:30:21 PM »

ugh!

after all that, my Asus router wont let me change the MTU to anything over 1492 using the GUI

What now ? is there a telnet command i can use to force it and each time the router is rebooted ?

thanks
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8782
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #392 on: January 10, 2020, 09:02:34 PM »

It may simply not support MTU 1500+8=1508, if so you either get a better router or stick with the MTU 1492.

I canít talk because I moved heaven and earth to ensure I got MTU 1508, but in practice itís not important for most situations and I suspect even less important if youíre using IPv6 (which we are all moving towards more and more often; I use IPv6 all the time).
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 344
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #393 on: January 10, 2020, 09:45:41 PM »

Maybe give pfsense a whirl on an old PC.... you can use your current router just as an AP
... or ebay it  :)
Logged
Plusnet 80/20, Huawei 288, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A (bridge mode with 1500 MTU, thanks to johnson), Netgate SG-1100 (pfsense)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8782
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #394 on: January 10, 2020, 10:56:04 PM »

Good plan.

Guys - can pfsense be run in a Raspberry Pi?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2924
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #395 on: January 10, 2020, 11:06:37 PM »

I need to use Merlin firmware on my Asus RT-AC68U to get 1500 MTU working.

The stock Asus firmware wouldn't allow it.
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 344
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #396 on: January 10, 2020, 11:19:40 PM »

Good plan.

Guys - can pfsense be run in a Raspberry Pi?
nope
Logged
Plusnet 80/20, Huawei 288, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A (bridge mode with 1500 MTU, thanks to johnson), Netgate SG-1100 (pfsense)

meritez

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #397 on: January 13, 2020, 07:20:06 PM »

Good plan.

Guys - can pfsense be run in a Raspberry Pi?

opnsense can though, it's a fork of pfsense after the developers disagreed https://forum.opnsense.org/index.php?topic=12186.0
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #398 on: January 14, 2020, 08:31:29 AM »

Hi

ugh!

after all that, my Asus router wont let me change the MTU to anything over 1492 using the GUI

What now ? is there a telnet command i can use to force it and each time the router is rebooted ?

thanks

You will see absolutely no difference setting MTU to 1500.  In many cases servers we connect to are set to use 1492 (or less) anyway due to the sheer amount of PPPoE Internet connections in use around the world.

pfSense though does work and for me was easy, it took 5 seconds, the time it took to type 1508 and press Save.  However that still needs support of the network interface pfSense is using and the port on the modem you are using.

Honestly though, it isn't worth the time and expense of new equipment just to get 1500, it's fools gold :-)

Regards

Phil



Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1293
    • My Broadband History
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #399 on: January 14, 2020, 10:44:25 AM »

Hi

You will see absolutely no difference setting MTU to 1500.  In many cases servers we connect to are set to use 1492 (or less) anyway due to the sheer amount of PPPoE Internet connections in use around the world.

pfSense though does work and for me was easy, it took 5 seconds, the time it took to type 1508 and press Save.  However that still needs support of the network interface pfSense is using and the port on the modem you are using.

Honestly though, it isn't worth the time and expense of new equipment just to get 1500, it's fools gold :-)

Regards

Phil

I'm fairly sure all servers will be set to 1500 as people simply wont bother to change the default when MTU discovery will do its job just fine.  They are also going to want traffic within the data centre to be as efficient as possible.

The only services I'm aware of that default lower are games console services which want to make absolutely sure nobody has to fragment packets as it would be detrimental to the latency.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

neil

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #400 on: January 15, 2020, 04:03:21 AM »

what is the use of 1500 MTU i can only select 1492 as max
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #401 on: January 15, 2020, 07:43:39 AM »

Hi

what is the use of 1500 MTU i can only select 1492 as max

Don't worry about it, its mostly a placebo effect for those of us making the change where our hardware allows ;D  There is absolutely no need to change anything and 1492 is an optimal setting used by millions in the UK and many more across the world. If you want more of an explanation see my post here https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,24232.msg408064.html#msg408064

Regards

Phil

Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #402 on: January 25, 2020, 07:29:16 PM »

https://github.com/johnson442/custom-zyxel-firmware

Finally got the docker build cleaned up and put on github.

A reasonable amount of combinations built and tested for 1312 & 8x24 based on latest V17 & V28 source are available under the releases section:

https://github.com/johnson442/custom-zyxel-firmware/releases
I have just a few questions about the modem stats server:

1) Does it mean you don't need a monitoring software such as DSLstats ?

2) Are the stats always ON - as long as the modem is up and running - and saved into the internal memory ?

3) If yes, what will happen when the memory is full ?

4) Do you have a version with jumbo+stats+tel ?

Tia.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2020, 08:19:39 PM by hushcoden »
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 920
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #403 on: February 11, 2020, 01:09:36 AM »

I was interested in the custom firmware purely for multi telnet sessions but wonder also how the webserver works?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus RT-AC1200G+ and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8782
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BCM63168 Modems that Support Baby Jumbo Frames (Bridge Mode)
« Reply #404 on: February 11, 2020, 01:41:26 AM »

The web server is a second small-code-size system which is listening on TCP port 8000. Instructions for its use are further back in this thread iirc. There is a recap post somewhere back here with a link to the latest good version, which iirc is Oct 2018. Johnson is the man. I would think that in your case thereís a good chance youíll get IP MTU of 1500 in you use this build. The 8 bytes subtracted from 1500 is just the PPPoE overhead so increasing it to 1508 is the answer but not guaranteed, just try it and see if itís possible with TT Business. It is never guaranteed: for example BT 20CN limits you to MTU 1492 no matter what you do.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 31
 

anything