Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL  (Read 996 times)

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 520
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2022, 12:47:09 PM »

Trunk networks... aka leetline sell Fritz!boxes .. try Amazon currently 133 for UK version 7590 supplied by Trunk Networks.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2022, 09:04:14 AM by parkdale »
Logged
Vodafone FTTC ECI cab 40/10Mb connection / Fritz!box7590

Edinburgh_lad

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2022, 01:44:40 PM »

I think the OP referred to the newest (ax) model, which is difficult to get in the UK, and considerably more expensive than the 7590. The same applies to the FTTP version (the FTTP version is being looked into to be provided for the UK market).

Also, for everyone's information, the 7530ax has a Broadcom chipset (7530 has Lantiq), whereas 7590ax Lantiq. But you should always double check before committing to buy.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2022, 01:53:24 PM by Edinburgh_lad »
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 520
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2022, 07:12:25 PM »

Was thinking of Woolwich comment about places you can buy them... 7590 is also Lantiq chipset. The AX version is not really for sale in UK yet. So the Config file may not have all the right info in it yet.

 
Logged
Vodafone FTTC ECI cab 40/10Mb connection / Fritz!box7590

Woolwich

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Not in SE18
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #18 on: May 18, 2022, 07:47:47 AM »

Was thinking of Woolwich comment about places you can buy them... 7590 is also Lantiq chipset. The AX version is not really for sale in UK yet. So the Config file may not have all the right info in it yet.

Thanks, I picked one (7530) up from Zen in the end.

The AX versions are a lot more money to be of interest, I'm not sold on WiFi 6 but if it was only a couple of quid difference.... But as you can't buy them officially anyway, no matter.

So which chip is better?
Logged

Edinburgh_lad

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #19 on: May 18, 2022, 11:04:36 AM »

I personally don't think you can argue that this one is better or the other. I think it's a matter of experimenting. For example, my Draytek was worse on my line than my Fritzbox (both Lantiq, though different types) and I noticed no specific difference between Zyxel and Fritzbox on my poor line, so using the latter, even though I'm connected to Huawei.

However, a number of people swear by 'matching' the chipset of the modem to that of the exchange. Not sure how they reached that conclusion, as a number of factors could potentially affect a line and its performance (heat, rain etc.). I'd say only lab tests (in controlled environment) would be the only way of confirming whether matching the chipset to the exchange helps.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2022, 11:06:44 AM by Edinburgh_lad »
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3793
    • Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #20 on: May 18, 2022, 03:38:17 PM »

The matching chipset thing is often down to slight implementation errors, if they match between chipsets then its less likely to cause a problem.

Or cases where there is a vendor specific extension, which I believe Weaver benefits from on ADSL as Broadcom had their own form of additional error correction/re-transmission.

So in an ideal world it should make zero difference, and in some combinations it wont, but in other combinations it will.  Like you said, its not a hard-fast rule as something that benefits one line might be irrelevant to another.  eg If you have an extremely clean line on Fastpath then any benefits from a vendor specific error correction mode is going to make next to no difference.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2022, 03:40:52 PM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Home Hub 5A (OpenWRT) on Zen, 2xHauwei CPE Pro 2 H122-373 (VOXI 4G,Three 5G) Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Zyxel NWA210AX + Ubiquiti nanoHD (OpenWRT)
My Broadband History & Ping Quality Monitors

srt

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
Re: Fritzbox 7590 AX not talking to DSL
« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2022, 08:34:57 AM »

Purchased from ECPROF. Returned and awaiting refund🙄
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything