Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?  (Read 4839 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 23628
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #30 on: March 30, 2018, 04:45:59 PM »

As per ejs’s comment, wouldn’t a BT to RJ11, connected to an unfiltered faceplate (or the test socket), do exactly the same job?

Yes, that would work. I have a couple of those leads, stored in "The Grotto", for use when the situation arises.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6109
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #31 on: March 31, 2018, 12:17:04 AM »

Indeed, going straight from the test socket to modem is ideal. Just need an old-fashioned BT-plug-to-RJ11 cable for a dial-up modem. I can't find one that is both very high quality and very short at the moment. There’s also the potential problem that Mrs Weaver will say that the end result looks awful.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1749
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #32 on: March 31, 2018, 06:58:36 AM »

Run IT Direct started selling them:
https://www.run-it-direct.co.uk/adsl-vdsl-patch-leads/adslvdslbtcat5patchlead025m/

As for appearance, I suppose it would look OK with the standard telephone front part of the NTE5C in place.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #33 on: April 20, 2018, 07:29:38 PM »

Engineer came to day to activate the line.

He replaced the whole socket for an NTE5C and dual faceplate. Typical. :lol:

Much better connection that I expected....

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 37561 Kbps, Downstream rate = 100740 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 12.0 17.5
Attn(dB): 14.1 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.5 4.4
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 20
B: 239 239
M: 1 1
T: 23 64
R: 0 0
S: 0.0955 0.3819
L: 20104 5028
D: 1 1
I: 240 120
N: 240 240
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 1197192 323939
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 0 3550836
RSCorr: 0 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 304389959 0
Data Cells: 25090494 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 8470 8470
AS: 1980

Bearer 0
INP: 0.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 1.65 6.13
OR: 116.09 33.91
AgR: 80103.09 20033.74

Bitswap: 390/390 0/0

Total time = 2 hours 54 min 10 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 8470 8470
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 10 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 54 min 10 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 8470 8470
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 32 min 59 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
#
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6109
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #34 on: April 21, 2018, 03:34:00 AM »

Kitizens, is that downstream SNRM high for FTTC? Does that mean the speed will go up in time and the SNRM drop?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39301
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #35 on: April 21, 2018, 06:41:59 AM »

No, VDSL2 is capped at 80 Mbps downstream, so it won't go any higher.
Logged
  Eric

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4893
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #36 on: April 21, 2018, 10:25:24 AM »

Kitizens, is that downstream SNRM high for FTTC? Does that mean the speed will go up in time and the SNRM drop?

No ..... it just means the circuit is a relatively short one, and as such doesn't need to utilise as much margin.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #37 on: April 21, 2018, 10:37:02 AM »

So, rather than a new thread, here are the stats from the new connection, anyone see anything of interest? Whats with the blue? I've not seen that myself before.


Bitloading:


Hlog:


QLN:


Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 37312 Kbps, Downstream rate = 100740 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 12.0 17.4
Attn(dB): 14.1 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.4 4.4
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 20
B: 239 239
M: 1 1
T: 23 64
R: 0 0
S: 0.0955 0.3819
L: 20104 5028
D: 1 1
I: 240 120
N: 240 240
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 34263905 1037022
OHFErr: 5 2
RS: 0 883485
RSCorr: 0 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 57 0
OCD: 1 0
LCD: 1 0
Total Cells: 122837494 0
Data Cells: 1985033701 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 4 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 8470 8470
AS: 56669

Bearer 0
INP: 0.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 1.65 6.13
OR: 116.09 33.91
AgR: 80103.09 20033.74

Bitswap: 18834/18838 1/1

Total time = 18 hours 5 min 39 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 5 2
ES: 4 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 8470 8470
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 39 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 18 hours 5 min 39 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 5 2
ES: 4 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 8470 8470
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 15 hours 44 min 27 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 5 2
ES: 4 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
#
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39301
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #38 on: April 21, 2018, 11:51:18 AM »

The blue is the result of an error somewhere. Could you copy the pbParams data here please (Telnet Data --> pbParams).
Logged
  Eric

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #39 on: April 21, 2018, 11:52:47 AM »

As requested. :)

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 37312 Kbps, Downstream rate = 100740 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3959)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3959)
  VDSL Port Details   Upstream   Downstream
Attainable Net Data Rate:     37312 kbps    100740 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power:        4.4 dBm      13.4 dBm
====================================================================================
  VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2 U3 U4 D1 D2 D3
  Line Attenuation(dB): 5.6 17.3 24.6 N/A N/A 9.2 20.4 31.2
Signal Attenuation(dB): N/A 16.9 24.2 N/A N/A 11.4 20.1 31.2
        SNR Margin(dB): N/A 17.3 17.4 N/A N/A 11.9 12.0 12.1
         TX Power(dBm): N/A -26.4 4.4 N/A N/A 10.4 7.7 7.1
#
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39301
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #40 on: April 21, 2018, 12:44:16 PM »

Thanks, I can see the problem now. The U0 band isn't used at all, so DSLstats is getting the band allocation wrong. I'll look into this, but in the meantime it only affects the colours of the graphs, not any of the actual displayed data.
Logged
  Eric

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #41 on: April 22, 2018, 10:34:51 AM »

Cheers for the clarification, As it was a brand new line on a G.Fast enabled cab I wasn't sure if it was something to do with that or not.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #42 on: April 23, 2018, 11:26:54 AM »

G.INP was applied overnight.

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 1
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 37172 Kbps, Downstream rate = 104448 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79999 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 12.8 17.2
Attn(dB): 14.1 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.5 4.4
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: -6 20
B: 130 239
M: 1 1
T: 0 64
R: 8 0
S: 0.0518 0.3819
L: 21468 5028
D: 16 1
I: 139 120
N: 139 240
Q: 16 0
V: 14 0
RxQueue: 60 0
TxQueue: 15 0
G.INP Framing: 18 0
G.INP lookback: 15 0
RRC bits: 0 24
Bearer 1
MSGc: 186 -6
B: 0 0
M: 2 0
T: 2 0
R: 16 0
S: 5.3333 0.0000
L: 48 0
D: 3 0
I: 32 0
N: 32 0
Q: 0 0
V: 0 0
RxQueue: 0 0
TxQueue: 0 0
G.INP Framing: 0 0
G.INP lookback: 0 0
RRC bits: 0 0
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 0 552557
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 1550143072 649277
RSCorr: 15 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0
Bearer 1
OHF: 1254661 0
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 15055191 0
RSCorr: 0 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx: 2 0
rtx_c: 2 0
rtx_uc: 0 0

G.INP Counters
LEFTRS: 0 0
minEFTR: 79966 0
errFreeBits: 24591120 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 3100387549 0
Data Cells: 475205625 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

Bearer 1
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 0 0
Data Cells: 0 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 55 19
SES: 11 0
UAS: 8506 8495
AS: 20153

Bearer 0
INP: 48.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 0.00 6.13
OR: 0.01 33.91
AgR: 80614.82 20033.74

Bearer 1
INP: 4.00 0.00
INPRein: 4.00 0.00
delay: 3 0
PER: 16.06 0.01
OR: 95.62 0.01
AgR: 95.62 0.01

Bitswap: 6412/6412 1/1

Total time = 1 days 18 hours 43 min 30 sec
FEC: 15 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 55 19
SES: 11 0
UAS: 8506 8495
LOS: 1 0
LOF: 9 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 30 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 18 hours 43 min 30 sec
FEC: 15 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 11 0
SES: 11 0
UAS: 36 25
LOS: 1 0
LOF: 9 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 30 16
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 5 hours 35 min 53 sec
FEC: 15 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
#
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

chenks

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 426
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #43 on: May 06, 2018, 01:50:20 PM »

I shall second Weaver's advice and add that you should source a Mk 3 SSFP.

why not a MK4 faceplate? as those seem to be the current version.
is there a reason why the MK3 would still be the preferred option?
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1749
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #44 on: May 06, 2018, 03:13:09 PM »

The fashionable opinion is that the NTE5C is crap. And the master socket was an NTE5A at the start of the thread, so a MK3 would fit that master socket.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4