Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?  (Read 5372 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24615
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2018, 12:33:40 AM »

In all seriousness, an NTE5/A & Mk 3 SSFP is far better in terms of quality than the NTE5C & Mk 4 SSFP.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2018, 12:46:12 AM »

Really? Fair enough, TIL.

Cheers.  :)
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2018, 09:11:37 PM »

Went back today and opened it up.

There is an extension in the bedroom, that's what the blue and white is I assume, right?

Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24615
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2018, 09:28:55 PM »

There is an extension in the bedroom, that's what the blue and white is I assume, right?

Yes, that's correct.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2018, 09:57:49 AM »

Mk 3 SSFP ordered over the weekend and dispatched this morning, thanks for your help burakkucat.  :thumbs:
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 24615
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2018, 04:32:33 PM »

Just to be sure, with the lower-front face-plate removed (as in your photograph, above), the extension socket in the bedroom should be "dead". If it's not, then a "folly" has been committed with the wiring.  :-X
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2018, 05:02:58 PM »

I'll try and check, but I don't actually plan on having a landline installed. Maybe I'll borrow one.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1207
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2018, 06:20:10 PM »

I assume you mean handset not landline (you won't get broadband without a landline!).

I's worth having a cheap corded handset to check for noise on the line (i.e. to be able to dial 17070). Argos sell a cheap one: http://www.argos.co.uk/product/3924358
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2018, 07:02:31 PM »

Yes, obviously by landline I mean a landline telephone. :)

You're right though, a cheap corded phone would be handy if I have issues.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2557
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2018, 04:17:35 PM »

...or you need 999 and your mobile's flat.
Logged
Most things are somewhere else

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2002
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2018, 07:33:23 PM »

Mk 3 SSFP ordered over the weekend and dispatched this morning, thanks for your help burakkucat.  :thumbs:
I'll try and check, but I don't actually plan on having a landline installed. Maybe I'll borrow one.

No need for a filtered faceplate if there's nothing to filter.
An unfiltered faceplate would be best for you.

AAISP sell them. I think run-it-direct might too.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1794
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2018, 07:56:07 PM »

Or just disconnect that extension wiring and get a suitable cable (RJ11 to BT) to plug the modem straight into a phone socket.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2018, 10:43:53 PM »

lol, I said I don't plan on it, not that I won't, I'd rather the option be there just in case. :)
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 6572
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #28 on: March 30, 2018, 08:06:43 AM »

I am using the straight-through unfiltered DSL-only faceplates from the Andrews and Arnold shop (http://aa.net.uk/broadband-accessories.html) which J0hn referred to in his earlier post. (You don't have to be an A&A ISP-customer to use the shop.)

I have three three lines, so three NTE5s, no phones. But unfortunately a recent BT man replaced one of the NTE5as with an NTE5c which has a different layout to the older NTE5 backs so this means that I can't use the above mentioned straight-through plate as it won't fit.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 08:09:09 AM by Weaver »
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3767
Re: Should I get a pre filtered face plate?
« Reply #29 on: March 30, 2018, 09:07:58 AM »

I am using the straight-through unfiltered DSL-only faceplates from the Andrews and Arnold shop (http://aa.net.uk/broadband-accessories.html) which J0hn referred to in his earlier post. (You don't have to be an A&A ISP-customer to use the shop.)

I have three three lines, so three NTE5s, no phones. But unfortunately a recent BT man replaced one of the NTE5as with an NTE5c which has a different layout to the older NTE5 backs so this means that I can't use the above mentioned straight-through plate as it won't fit.

As per ejsís comment, wouldnít a BT to RJ11, connected to an unfiltered faceplate (or the test socket), do exactly the same job?

Speaking from a position of ignorance as I donít have the bits in front of me to examine.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 09:11:23 AM by sevenlayermuddle »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4