Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: HG612- windows not showing stats  (Read 1627 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1656
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #45 on: June 17, 2020, 03:57:15 PM »

The thinkbroadband graph shows a very good line with consistent low latency.

Are you actually seeing any issues with the line? As you haven't mentioned any.

HI i get them from https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/details

so should i not be worried about the high ping from above?

Absolutely not! It comes out with some very strange figures from time to time. Probably one of the least reliable of testers around.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

gycuk1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #46 on: June 17, 2020, 04:29:57 PM »

oh no our BB takes a hit big style. i switched to the HG612. Thanks to these lovley peeps on here i was able to acces the HG612 via a shared Cat5 but i was so slow and as you suggested jelv i must have changed some settings on the HG612 which i rest and use as modem only. However you have said thinkbroadband says everything is ok and BTwhole not reliable i will say

Problem fixed here then
Logged

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1656
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #47 on: June 17, 2020, 08:11:50 PM »

For testing actual speeds rather than latency the thinkbroadband speed test is about the best as it runs both single threaded and multi-threaded. Comparison of those two can be a good indicator of congestion.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1304
    • My Broadband History
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #48 on: June 18, 2020, 07:52:35 PM »

Its worth noting that historically I have found the TBB test more likely to hit single-thread performance issues more often than everyday downloads do.

I think for whatever reason, the path to them can be more congested from ISPs at times.

The best single-thread test, is to download from various different sites and see how fast they go.  As long as they aren't all well below your line speed, there's probably not an issue, or at least its outside the ISPs network.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1656
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #49 on: June 18, 2020, 08:41:25 PM »

Its worth noting that historically I have found the TBB test more likely to hit single-thread performance issues more often than everyday downloads do.

I think for whatever reason, the path to them can be more congested from ISPs at times.

Are you sure you are reaching the correct conclusion?

In the last 3 years I've not seen tbb speed tests where the x1 and the x6 speeds differ significantly. This is a typical result:


I've been with AAISP for 3 years. Coincidence?
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1304
    • My Broadband History
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #50 on: June 19, 2020, 12:49:39 AM »

Are you sure you are reaching the correct conclusion?

In the last 3 years I've not seen tbb speed tests where the x1 and the x6 speeds differ significantly. This is a typical result:


I've been with AAISP for 3 years. Coincidence?

On AAISP sure, you're paying a huge premium for that.

I'm not saying ISPs don't have congestion, I'm saying that congestion to TBB does not necessarily mean its an ISP problem.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2935
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #51 on: June 19, 2020, 01:41:35 AM »

I get full single thread speeds (110Mb/s) to the TBB tester 24 hours a day on my Virgin connection.
I did with Plusnet and Talktalk also.

Only every had single thread issues with BT, and that wasn't down to the TBB tester.

I've seen quite a few single thread issues with Zen ion the TBB forums over the past couple years. Though none for a while so they might have sorted that.
Logged

gycuk1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: HG612- windows not showing stats
« Reply #52 on: June 19, 2020, 11:04:58 AM »

Mine is under heavy load right now but



<a href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1592560978130882655"><img alt="My Broadband Speed Test" src="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/_assets/speedtest/button/1592560978130882655-mini.png" /></a>

so chuffed with the HG modem not missed a note

[Moderator edited to wrap the image file with [img][/img] tags.]
« Last Edit: June 19, 2020, 02:32:49 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything