Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: SNR/Tone  (Read 1302 times)

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1568
SNR/Tone
« on: March 05, 2018, 02:38:28 PM »

For some time I have noticed a sawtooth pattern on my SNR/Tone graph. At first I thought it might be due to interference from a DECT phone, but unplugging the phone and connecting the modem/router to the master socket eliminated that as a source.

Then I compared the results with others on MDWS (which is now in its final few days), and it seems to me that everyone reporting from the UK that is on Vectored VDSL shows a similar pattern above a SNR of 40-45dB.

It would appear that Vectoring introduces the phenomenon. I have no idea why or how it happens, and I only mention it now out of interest.
Logged

konrado5

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 896
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 02:44:36 PM »

Could you attach your SNR/tone ?
Logged

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1568
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2018, 03:55:01 PM »

Could you attach your SNR/tone ?
I think it's attached! :fingers:

Edit: changed attachment to more recent & better formatted version
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 04:37:19 PM by Westie »
Logged

konrado5

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 896
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 11:41:00 PM »

Have you got vectoring on upstream? On upstream I don't notice sawtoogh pattern.
Logged

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1568
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2018, 12:29:11 AM »

Line stats Report Vectoring status as '1 (VECT_FULL)', or as '3 (VECT_RUNNING)', and seems to toggle between the two every few minutes.
It's not clear if it is applied only on the downstream or on both, but since the SNR on the upstream is below 40dB I wouldn't expect to see the pattern there anyway.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26462
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2018, 12:58:34 AM »

. . . but since the SNR on the upstream is below 40dB I wouldn't expect to see the pattern there anyway.

I am intrigued. What is so "magical" about 40 dB that it is the level where "things happen"?  ???
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Westie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1568
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2018, 01:32:00 AM »

I don't know! I'm only going by my observations of others' stats.  :puzzled:
I haven't a clue what causes it in the first place :no:

Does any else? :shrug2:
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26462
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2018, 07:28:33 PM »

I don't know! I'm only going by my observations of others' stats.  :puzzled:

Ah, so just an observation.

Quote
I haven't a clue what causes it in the first place :no:

Does any else? :shrug2:

I don't think so. Certainly I have no idea.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1951
Re: SNR/Tone
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2018, 07:37:47 PM »

This is purely speculation, but I guess it's either that the vectoring isn't quite cancelling out all the crosstalk noise and leaving some residual noise making that shape on the graph, and/or something to do with some modems connected to the cabinet not supporting vectoring or not doing vectoring very well.
Logged