Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Alexa  (Read 2225 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2018, 11:11:40 PM »

I've set up several dots/Alexa's and a couple of firesticks but all using the mobile app where it is very easy.
The app walks you through the process, however you do need to switch networks as they broadcast on their own wifi channel until the device is set up to work on your own network.   I should image the PC app will be similar. 

Most of the smart home appliances (eg TP-link/Hive/Chrome) have their own wi-fi network for set-up.     You just have to remember to switch your phone/laptop back to your usual wifi network afterwards if it hasnt already done so automatically.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2018, 11:25:20 PM »

I share your suspicions.   I have weakened a little, otherwise my Apple watch would be of limited use without Siri.   

Me too initially, but it has made my life so much easier,  that I literally couldn't be without it.. or rather them... now.  They can make you a little bit lazy as I'm fore ever wishing I could control far more things with it.

Alexa has a 'wake word' which by default is 'Alexa'.   It can be a bit annoying when Alexa ads come on the TV as I've had some weird results, when she starts obeying the orders from the TV.
I also have a true story where Alexa responded to me shouting 'Oh God' which freaked me out a little at the time with how she replied.     
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3739
Re: Alexa
« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2018, 11:49:44 PM »

The app walks you through the process, however you do need to switch networks as they broadcast on their own wifi channel until the device is set up to work on your own network.   I should image the PC app will be similar. 

I think that confirms my understanding.   :)

Still not sure how it would work though, from a PC that had only wired LAN?   I really think it just wouldn’t work.

Alexa has a 'wake word' which by default is 'Alexa'.   It can be a bit annoying when Alexa ads come on the TV as I've had some weird results, when she starts obeying the orders from the TV.
I also have a true story where Alexa responded to me shouting 'Oh God' which freaked me out a little at the time with how she replied.   

Apple Siri false triggers at pretty rare, but do happen.    I was alone in the house, no radio, no TV, I wasn’t even muttering much that day.   Just loading the dishwasher around lunchtime, clattering of saucepans and crockery, somehow my watch managed to interpret a “Hey Siri”, watch gave me a tap on the wrist.   ???

Futuristic voice assistant, as predicted by script writers for “The Clangers”, perhaps?   :D
Logged

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Alexa
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2018, 12:08:35 AM »

I was reading the reviews on the Dot and some customers said you can change Alexa to "computer" or another two watch words but I am not sure how this is done to avoid TV ads kicking off Alexa.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2018, 12:11:36 AM »

Quote
Still not sure how it would work though, from a PC that had only wired LAN?   I really think it just wouldn’t work.

I don't think that would work, AIUI it needs wifi to setup is via its own wifi network.   As I mentioned above it broadcasts on its own wifi channel and you have to connect to that to set it up.  To clarify, you have to disconnect your phone/laptop from your existing home wifi network and connect to the echo wifi. 

---

My Hive system is setup via LAN or wifi, but that has a hub which plugs into the router.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2018, 12:21:10 AM »

From the official set up page

Quote
To download the Alexa app, go to the app store on your mobile device and search for "Alexa app." Then select and download the app.

You can also go to https://alexa.amazon.co.uk from Safari, Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, or Internet Explorer (10 or higher) on your Wi-Fi enabled computer.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Alexa
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2018, 12:31:20 AM »

From google to change Alexa's name to computer.

To change your wake word, follow these steps:

    Open the Alexa app on your phone.
    Slide out the left-hand navigation panel and tap Settings.
    Tap the device that you want to change.
    Scroll down and tap Wake Word.
    Tap the drop down and choose Computer from the list.
    Tap Save.
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2018, 12:46:34 AM »

Yes it is quite easy to change the wake word and I had considered doing so but the choice was limited to just Amazon, Echo or Computer.  :(
I believe Amazon got quite a lot of complaints around xmas time about the ads..  and they were supposedly taking that onboard.  I think we discussed it a few months back in another thread.     Now I think about it, I don't think it's happened recently, but then again I can't recall hearing any ads for the Alexa for a while.

The Amazon app itself is quite nice and everything seems clearly laid out.    I tend to use the app on my phone rather than PC as its easier to swipe and tap.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3739
Re: Alexa
« Reply #23 on: February 26, 2018, 08:59:44 AM »

Interesting discussion of false triggers, and myth-busting, in a recent Guardian article...

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/feb/14/amazon-alexa-ad-avoids-ban-after-viewer-complaint-ordered-cat-food

The Guardian article mentions that Amazon ‘marks’ TV ads that might cause false triggers.   If so, that might be one reason for restricting the choice of wake words?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #24 on: February 26, 2018, 11:06:45 AM »

Quote
Amazon said it was aware of the potential issue and “marks” ads so that Alexa is not triggered.

I wonder if this marking is a new thing after the complaints last year.   As mentioned above mine hasn't been triggered by ads recently, but for a while last year and up to xmas  it certainly was doing. 

The Oh God trigger was a month ago, not sure if it picked up something from the combo of other words I used as I was in a lot of pain at the time and there were some expletives in there too.

Interestingly I can play this ad and she doesnt respond to any of the Alexa commands.  She doesn't even blip blue to show she's awake and waiting for a command, despite the number of times the word Alexa is said.  I wonder how they do that?
 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31654
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Alexa
« Reply #25 on: February 26, 2018, 11:51:51 AM »

Interestingly I can play this ad and she doesnt respond to any of the Alexa commands.  She doesn't even blip blue to show she's awake and waiting for a command, despite the number of times the word Alexa is said.  I wonder how they do that?

Oh wow.   I found the answer here

Quote
Well, the echo/Alexa definitely hears the request. If you go into your settings, scroll down to General and then select history you can play back all of the requests which are heard. All of the requests that are heard from the commercial say "Voice request not intended for your Echo—nothing was returned.".

So I did that and sure enough there's about a dozen or so notifications at the time I played that particular Ad which says
"Text not available.  Click to play recording" 
So I click and It says "Voice request not intended for your Echo - nothing was returned"


I've scrolled down and there are several others marked with similar.    I have an awful lot of stuff in there, but from a quick glance they go back to Jan,   
If I ever have time it would be interesting to go through some of them ... 
... but mystery solved re the God trigger.     "Me legs are".    Now imagine someone in pain screaming that and why she responded "I'm sorry, I don't know how to help you with that" 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Alexa
« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2018, 10:41:12 AM »

"Me legs are" sounds a lot like "Aleksa" when said reasonably fast, maybe that accounts for the false positive?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655

banger

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
  • Uno comms 80/20
Re: Alexa
« Reply #27 on: February 28, 2018, 01:21:36 AM »

My friend is trying to listen to Metro Radio on a Dot but keeps getting the wrong station on Tune In. Is there any way to try and get the right station?
Logged
Tim
www.uno.net.uk & freenetname
Asus DSL-N55U and ZyXEL VMG1312-B10A Bridge on 80 Meg TTB Fibre

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1502566996147131655
Pages: 1 [2]