Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 12

Author Topic: G.Fast Pods  (Read 13881 times)

CarlT

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 835
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #30 on: March 12, 2018, 07:25:27 PM »

Yeah looks like Openreach have provided some data to CPs and Wholesale have updated their checker accordingly.

A neighbour 150ft away has a downstream handback of 330 on G.fast.

I can confirm based on my own address that a ~500m line is not eligible for G.fast at this time.

If I weren't on VM and weren't to have FTTP next year I'd be modestly sulky.
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #31 on: March 12, 2018, 08:03:52 PM »

I just checked all terraced houses and there are four houses are not G. Fast planned and some houses are 330/50 estimated speed but few houses are less than 290/45 as how on earth does openreach can work it out on each houses who will get G. Fast and some are not but all houses are the same side and the same street fibre cabinet 8. Don't understand really how does it work out? Does Openreach know the estmated speed due to LIVE BT Line active while the other isn't (probably using cable virgin media?)

House 1 get 330/50 (Street Fibre cabinet stood there)
House 2 get 286/43
House 3 get 330/50
House 4 Not Planned ** no g.fast
House 5 get 330/50
House 6 get 246/35 (mine house)
House 7 get 330/50
House 8 Not Planned ** no g.fast
House 9 get 281/42
House 10 get 230/30

These 10 houses are closer to the street cabinet 8 approx 250m away.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 10:45:13 PM by adslmax »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #32 on: March 12, 2018, 09:05:30 PM »

I've no idea of your street layout, but I wonder how much location of the DP is making to those estimates.

You will likely have many scenarios where someone has a DP at the end of their drive so only need a few final meters of copper, whilst someone on the same cab, but furthest from the DP may need say 50m. 

It all depends upon the layout of the cable, in just the same way as with how on FTTC you have some people very close to the exchange, yet the line distance to the cab is more than double.    Just because you may be nearest to the cab, doesn't mean you have the shortest line length than someone who may live further away, but nearer to the UG joint box.   

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #33 on: March 12, 2018, 09:13:21 PM »

Thanks kitz. Is it normal for BTW to show up G. Fast on checker even thought the cabinet isn't fitted any G. Fast pod yet. Nothing yet. I thought btw wouldn't updated on the checker until G. Fast pod has installed first and ready for service as planned. Last time I spoken to openreach they say my cabinet will be ready around summer 2018 for G. Fast.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22912
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #34 on: March 12, 2018, 09:34:57 PM »

I've tried to locate WNCKO P8 but it is proving to be a rather difficult cabinet to find.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #35 on: March 12, 2018, 10:08:16 PM »

WNCKO P8 isn't on google map because the cabinet is right in front of the public footpath way as the cabinet is behind the house wall there as my house is further down there about 6 houses down the footpath by the fence. See photo attached as it was taken in Feb 2014 when the fibre cabinet has finally stood up and has finished installed.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 10:19:19 PM by adslmax »
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4807
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #36 on: March 12, 2018, 10:31:34 PM »

I've tried to locate WNCKO P8 but it is proving to be a rather difficult cabinet to find.

If you 'Google Maps' ..... Willowfield and/or Wellsfield at Cuckoo Oak ..... the Cab is basically opposite where it shows the 'Spar Self-Service' on the Willowfield side.

It should make sense, if you try the above ??.  :)
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #37 on: March 12, 2018, 10:36:59 PM »

Yep the cabinet stood by opposite of the spar self service shop by Wellsfield in there.
Address R/O STREET SIDE DSLAM CAB NNAYKN, WILLOWFIELD, TELFORD, TF7 5NT on Exchange CUCKOO OAK is served by Cabinet 8
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 10:42:49 PM by adslmax »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22912
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #38 on: March 12, 2018, 10:54:54 PM »

Thank you, both.  :)  I'll take another look, probably tomorrow, and see if the location gives some hints as to the variations in output from the checker.

Of course, as we know, the checker will only output an estimate based on information that has been put into the database. So it would need someone to actually subscribe to a service for "real world" data to actually appear.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #39 on: March 12, 2018, 11:16:10 PM »

To be honest 6 houses down the footway path is much closer to the cabinet should getting full speed of g.fast 330/50 but like kitz already told me that mine closer to the cabinet isn't always the case. But 246 down and 35 up from 80/20 is a massive different improvement. I think I have to wait until go live with g.fast to see what my real true speed is like.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 11:19:24 PM by adslmax »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #40 on: March 12, 2018, 11:52:22 PM »

Thanks kitz. Is it normal for BTW to show up G. Fast on checker even thought the cabinet isn't fitted any G. Fast pod yet. Nothing yet. I thought btw wouldn't updated on the checker until G. Fast pod has installed first and ready for service as planned. Last time I spoken to openreach they say my cabinet will be ready around summer 2018 for G. Fast.

I think there's some delays even if the checker is showing as available.  My daughter is on one of the trial exchanges and pod in place,  yet there are still delays.   Admittedly I'm trying to read between lines here [pun intended], but I think may also have to do with ISP provisioning as I believe they will be one of the first residential g.fast. Despite Zen having a presence in that particular exchange, I think they may be waiting on BTw to provision in this case rather than using the standard FTTC GEA cable-link.  I'm getting this info 3rd hand so it may not be strictly correct, other than in this instance the SP appears to be wanting to use using BTw rather than their usual GEA FTTC cable link.    She's been in the new property now for a couple of weeks and they still don't have any broadband...  but the latest info is that hopefully it should be live in the next few weeks.    Haven't got an exact date yet but it is meant to be very soon {2 weeks}..   and will obviously depend on one of them being able to take time off work for installation.

It's a shame MDWS is no longer live as I was going to try get over and set up on of my modems. 
Using the powers of charm I recently picked up a new VMG8924 for me in return for a charity donation.. which means when I get around to it*,  my faithful VMG8324 will be my spare.. leaving me a VMG1312 which I was going to give to my daughter to set up monitoring.     However that said, they are not the type of people who would leave a PC on all day just to monitor stats.     I will try get over asap, but right now until I get pain management more under control, my fear is that I may not be able to get there and back in one day, yet I have a poorly cat who needs 2x daily meds and cant go without his meds, so I can't stay over.   


---
* I've got so many things now hooked up to my network, that it would be no mean feat swapping all my prefs and configs over to a new modem
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Westie

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 756
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #41 on: March 13, 2018, 12:14:34 AM »

Quote
they are not the type of people who would leave a PC on all day just to monitor stats

Would they consider a Raspberry Pi? It could be powered from USB, if a free port is available.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #42 on: March 13, 2018, 01:17:20 AM »

In a word .. No.  :(

My daughter has no geek tendencies other than uploading photography and her own site stuff.  As long as she has her music and other hobbiest things she's happy and tends to rely on me when it comes to broadband and PC's.   
Her OH is geeky to an extent but more concerned about actually using the connection rather than how it works..  and although you'd be surprised if you knew where he works,  he just isn't into stats and the intricacies of dsl.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Westie

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 756
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #43 on: March 13, 2018, 02:44:55 PM »

I can understand that completely. My OH has NO interest in technology!

The only reason I mentioned the Pi was that VNC server is baked into the software, so it would give access to DSLstats on the Pi to anyone with the right permissions, even remotely. You could then monitor their line yourself (if that was what was wanted by all concerned).
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #44 on: March 13, 2018, 05:01:52 PM »

Here is layout of where the cabinet pcp 8 by the spar self service. Marked Dark Green is FTTC Cabinet and Light Green is PCP 8 and Dark Purple is where my house is.
As you can see it not that far from the street cabinet with a distance walk away. So, these first 7 houses should be the same estimated speed of VDSL2 80/20 in Range A and G.Fast Range A should be 330/50. Bit further away from this house would get less!

« Last Edit: March 13, 2018, 05:04:33 PM by adslmax »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 12
 

anything