Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12

Author Topic: G.Fast Pods  (Read 13880 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2018, 07:12:20 PM »

Is she getting the maximum speed 330/50 if her cabinet are much closer as a stone throw.

She doesn't have a phone no yet so can't check exactly, but just run the details through using the address.   I've looked up the cab and its about 160m on google maps. So 237-269 Mbps according to BTw's checker.  Despite her not moving far it's put her on a different exchange that has had Zen LLU for a while.

Attached
[1] Checker results
[2] PCP and cab from google maps
[3] PCP now
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2018, 07:17:52 PM »

That's interested Kitz. Those stats are probably will be the same for my cabinet if the g.fast went live. I think it probably will be around 220/30 from 80/20 as my cabinet approx 248m away.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 08:20:08 PM by adslmax »
Logged

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1595
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2018, 09:02:41 PM »

It'll be interesting to get some real world stats and at least check on its connection speed/stability.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31251
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2018, 10:37:59 PM »

Found out today that there may be a delay of a few weeks. Not sure of the exact problem other than a rather vague 'awaiting some hardware'. 
Her exchange is definitely one of the listed pilot exchanges.   



----
ETA.   Just found this.

Quote
We should caveat the above by saying that some ISPs are seeing a few delays with the G.fast work and so commercial product launches may be put back further into 2018.
:(
« Last Edit: February 20, 2018, 10:48:29 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

CarlT

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 835
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2018, 11:27:10 PM »

My node, the one I took a picture of and placed on here, has had a pod on it since August. It still ain't live.

Don't hold your breath, could be a while for a few reasons, though at least that pod is in the checker :)
Logged

garypower

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2018, 12:02:49 AM »

I am in Luton - another one of the listed "trial" areas and we have had the g.fast pods fitted since June last year.

Still no sign of them being activated, not that I hold out much hope being ~ 450m from the pcp!
Logged

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 776
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2018, 01:55:42 AM »

In Wandsworth, another trial area, G.Fast has started to show as available on the DSLChecker - many months after they were fitted.

However, I understand that even if Openreach install and activate a pod, BT Wholesale don't show it as active on their systems until they have upgraded their exchange links.
 
Logged

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #22 on: February 23, 2018, 07:20:55 PM »

Bath, another trial area, we have the G Fast pods, but still nothing, couldn't even get on trial. :sob:
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
    • skyECI line stats
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #23 on: February 23, 2018, 07:33:10 PM »

bit of a pointless exercise in combe down.VM are in the process of doing many streets where the g.fast pods are & expanding their network ::) Probably beat OR to it considering the pods were fitted last summer and still not active.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 07:36:59 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, click for my ECI  line stats

click for  line stats by Pi3/Huawei 

KIAB

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #24 on: February 23, 2018, 07:48:21 PM »

bit of a pointless exercise in combe down.VM are in the process of doing many streets where the g.fast pods are & expanding their network ::) Probably beat OR to it considering the pods were fitted last summer and still not active.

Wonder if VM will finally find their way to Bathampton, we also had G Fast pod install last summer.

Checking the post code BA2 4DB (Holburne Museum) on link below, it is showing cab 31 is live & apparently accepting orders for for G Fast.
As is Cab 28 & post code BA24EZ, 17 Pultney Road.


https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/index.do
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 08:00:04 PM by KIAB »
Logged

smallal

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2018, 01:40:54 PM »

GRAYS.ESSEX.
Engineers fitted a G.FAST pod onto my local street cabinet this morning, though they didn't do any wiring.
They had a van full of them so I presume all boxes in my area are getting one.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2018, 01:48:08 PM »

We've had them for ages round here (one of the original trial areas), still no sign of them going live though....
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #27 on: March 11, 2018, 12:31:55 PM »

BT Wholesale has updated dsl checker for my cabinet saying g.fast as planned as 217/35 for my estimated speed on g.fast but there is no g.fast pod on the pcp cabinet 8 yet.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2018, 12:36:55 PM by adslmax »
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
    • skyECI line stats
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #28 on: March 11, 2018, 01:03:26 PM »

I wouldn't get too excited  ;) Mum's cab had a g.fast pod fitted nearly a year ago. They have just updated the btw and it still says planned even though it's in the trial area..

the planned rate for her is 200/28 or there abouts......
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, click for my ECI  line stats

click for  line stats by Pi3/Huawei 

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 614
Re: G.Fast Pods
« Reply #29 on: March 11, 2018, 01:08:43 PM »

I think BTw data is in the messy up incorrect speed estimated because I have checked next door to my both neighbours on the same terraced houses.

Left is next door is 330/50, Middle is my house is 217/35, Right is next door is 330/50 - doesn't make any sense at all in these three speed estimates compared?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2018, 01:20:30 PM by adslmax »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12
 

anything