Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?  (Read 604 times)

nodsa

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?
« on: January 30, 2018, 10:28:40 AM »

Hi all,
 could anyone point this old duffer to a clear guide for configuring dslstats for a Huawei hg 635,(unable to login to modem/router)
any help greatly appreciated
nodsa
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39081
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 12:44:46 PM »

Welcome to the Kitz forum.

As far as I understand, the HG635 currently issued by TalkTalk has the telnet interface disabled, so unless there is a way to unlock it, it won't be possible to get DSLstats to work with it.
Logged
  Eric

nodsa

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 07:20:25 PM »

@roseway
 many thanks,

any ideas on tplink TD-w9980 which connects ,but receives no sampling data ???
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39081
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 08:10:30 AM »

Sorry, I've no specific information on that device, but someone else here may be able to help. Can you log in manually by telnet and issue commands like "adsl info --stats"? The first part of that command varies from device to device, so you need to find the correct form for your modem.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31055
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 03:10:06 PM »

@roseway
 many thanks,

any ideas on tplink TD-w9980 which connects ,but receives no sampling data ???

The TDW9980 will not work with DSL stats. 
It contains a Lantiq VRX-268 chipset and therefore wont respond to BCM (Broadcom) commands such as adsl info --stats.
Try looking at ejs's thread here on StatPOSTer if you want more info from the TD-W9980


If you want to use DSLstats then you need
1) A modem with a BCM chipset
2) The modem f/w must not be crippled by the manufacturer to stop access to the BCM commands.   

TP-link always put their own f/w on their modems which has their own CLI. Regardless if the chipset is BCM or not, they deny access to the BCM CLI by default. 

Eric provides a list here of routers which will work with DSLstats. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

nodsa

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Re: DSLstats & HG 635 ?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2018, 06:49:20 AM »

many thanks guys,

regards,
nodsa
Logged