Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving  (Read 3384 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1426
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2018, 07:49:51 PM »

Your cap is so harsh you have 0 ES.
You wanted DLM to relent so needed a harsh cap to trick it in to returning to fastpath.
Now you want to trigger DLM. If there's 0 ES DLM will leave the line as it's incredibly stable.
Let the line run at full sync, ES will increase considerably. It should trigger interleaving/INP, and G.INP shortly after.

That was my advice in the other thread, and it worked!
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2018, 08:22:04 PM »

Right, I get you. Will remove the cap now. Ta!
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2018, 11:31:33 AM »

Many Error Seconds so far. Pretty sure DLM will intervene tonight.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2018, 01:51:21 PM »

No DLM so far, to my surprise, despite all the ES.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2018, 01:48:47 PM »

Interleaving was just applied to my line.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

KingJ

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • \_(ツ)_/
    • Miscellaneous Knowledge
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2018, 01:52:32 PM »

Interleaving was just applied to my line.

That's a good sign! Hopefully now G.INP will follow through shortly as it did for me.

Interestingly, your DLM intervention was around the same time of day mine was. I originally put that down to the time delay from when I applied my actions, but now i'm wondering if it applies actions around about this time? I always thought it was meant to intervene overnight when the line typically isn't being used...
Logged

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 598
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2018, 01:55:41 PM »

Interleaving was just applied to my line.

Your G.INP will applied in three days time (around lunch time on monday) just like mine did after interleave put on INP 3
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1426
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2018, 02:32:55 PM »

I always thought it was meant to intervene overnight when the line typically isn't being used...
It used to run overnight. There are just so many lines being managed by DLM now that it can't process them all at night. I've had DLM resyncs about 6pm in the last couple months. A couple years ago they were always between midnight and 8am.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2018, 02:45:04 PM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2018, 01:42:20 PM »

FFS.


Had a power cut this morning for a few hours from about 11:30.

Interleaving now up to 1503, but on the plus side I've somehow managed to sync at 76Mbps at 2.3dB.

Not sure how this will affect my chances of getting G.INP now....
« Last Edit: February 12, 2018, 03:12:12 PM by V_R »
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #24 on: February 15, 2018, 09:43:03 AM »

Still no G.INP..... :(

The line is holding steady with a SNR of ~2.2dB though. Anyone think that is luck or xdB? I'm guessing luck as its a straight drop from 6 to 2.2.
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

KingJ

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • \_(ツ)_/
    • Miscellaneous Knowledge
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2018, 10:33:44 AM »

Still no G.INP..... :(

The line is holding steady with a SNR of ~2.2dB though. Anyone think that is luck or xdB? I'm guessing luck as its a straight drop from 6 to 2.2.

That very much sounds like luck to me, xdB requires G.INP and is applied in 1dB decrements :(

Maybe it's worth leaving it for a few days, and the starting over again? The process definitely delivered results for me, so that power cut instability might have interfered.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2018, 10:37:54 AM »

Ah I didn't know xdB needs G.INP.... That answers that then.

Yeah I do wonder if that power cut might have scuppered my plans....  >:(
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 10:41:13 AM by V_R »
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 598
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2018, 11:50:54 AM »

I do sometimes just wish DLM take notice of any power cut and will ignore it. Unlucky V_R.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22242
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2018, 05:43:00 PM »

Actually it doesn't have to be the result of any action by the DLM process, Max:-\

I suspect that V_R's modem/router was one to train-up and synchronise quickly once the power was restored. It would have synchronised at the 6 dB target SNRM and only as other modem/routers trained-up & synchronised did the SNRM drop as a result of cross-talk from neighbouring circuits.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Capping my line to try and remove interleaving
« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2018, 06:37:22 PM »

Ah now that's an interesting thought, I do think I've got a/some bad cross talker somewhere, I used to easily sync at full speed, and now I can only just manage it with G.INP and 5dB. My Attenuation is only 10.2 for goodness sake....
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

anything