Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network  (Read 1966 times)

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
    • skyECI line stats
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2018, 08:24:17 AM »

Windows client?
screen shot of adapter info etc

what do you get for http://ipv6-test.com
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  Billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled 16th April 2016.
 
click for  line stats

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2018, 08:38:21 AM »

Screenshots attached
Logged

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2018, 09:41:40 AM »

Hi

Your details show no ipv6 dns servers unless itís my eyes sorry. Mobile screen very small

Many thanks

John
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2018, 09:53:04 AM »

Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
    • skyECI line stats
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #19 on: January 30, 2018, 10:50:30 AM »

ipv6 dns server has not populated to the client.

I would add google v6 dns server to the win 10 manually and test just to see if it works. I just vpn to my win 10 monitoring pc and it indeed has the correct v6 dns server under the network adapter where yours is missing so something is not populating- win10 all up to date etc?
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  Billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled 16th April 2016.
 
click for  line stats

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2018, 11:11:48 AM »

I've added manually the Google DNS servers, but still no joy, "Request timed out"...
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
    • skyECI line stats
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2018, 12:49:21 PM »

just checked my laptop and the ipv6 dns address shown is my routers ipv6 lan address. What about entering that and see if it helps ?

Is windows totally up to date as there was some time ago an issue with the ipv6 stuff but this was resolved not that long ago by way of an update etc.

Have you tested it on a phone- run the ipv6 test and see what you get in case it's your pc etc..

also it is worth  checking icmp echo status on  your firewall/ router etc..Opnsense has ipv4 and ipv6 options. what options have you got?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2018, 12:57:24 PM by skyeci »
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  Billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled 16th April 2016.
 
click for  line stats

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2018, 01:36:43 PM »

Hi

I think you may need to check your AV for firewall if it controls firewall

If not, win10 firewall has ipv6 firewall as well

My guess is AV stopping it but I donít use your AV

Many thanks

John
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4723
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2018, 01:55:34 PM »

[Resident-type antivirus. No way. I never ever have on any of my machines or allowed it on any of my customersí machines. Shudders. Just worse than pointless and ruins a reliable tested o/s.]

Apologies for sermon. Automatic allergic response  :-[
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2018, 02:20:27 PM »

Indeed, nothing to do with my AV/firewall... I did try to disable it but no change...
Logged

Weaver

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4723
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 3 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2018, 02:22:59 PM »

Damn, that would have been too easy. So swap-outs all round? Different box to test on, different router?
Logged

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2018, 02:36:58 PM »

Hi

Sorry but if you disable AV firewall I thought it reverted back to win firewall

Many thanks

John
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2018, 04:17:56 PM »

Yes, I did play with Windows firewall as well but it made no difference unfortunately...
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1426
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #28 on: January 30, 2018, 05:24:01 PM »

Have you tried from another device to narrow it down to the windows machine or the router?
Pingtools is a fantastic Android app  for doing 1001 network related tasks (ping/tracert/subnet scan/whois/etc). Worth a try if you have an Android phone.
Code: [Select]
traceroute to Google.com (2a00:1450:4009:801::200e), 30 hops max
Hop 1:
    From broadband.bt.com (2a00:23c4:2bc8:b000::1), 366 ms
Hop 2:
    *
Hop 3:
    *
Hop 4:
    From 2a00:2302::1103:100:3f, 335 ms
Hop 5:
    From 2a00:2380:3013:8000::3a, 344 ms
Hop 6:
    From 2a00:2380:13::7b, 326 ms
Hop 7:
    From 2a00:2380:2001:7000::19, 342 ms
Hop 8:
    From 2a00:1450:8000:266::1:1, 438 ms
Hop 9:
    From 2001:4860:0:1::232e, 340 ms
Hop 10:
    From 2001:4860:0:1::2482, 333 ms
Hop 11:
    From 2001:4860::c:4000:dd7a, 324 ms
Hop 12:
    *
Hop 13:
    From 2001:4860:0:1::259, 345 ms
Hop 14:
    From lhr35s01-in-x0e.1e100.net (2a00:1450:4009:801::200e), 32 ms
Traceroute complete: 14 hops, time: 36911 ms
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Prefix delegation IPv6 for Sky network
« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2018, 05:52:23 PM »

First of all thank you all for the support... I was able to try with a different laptop and now also with my Android phone :graduate: and guess what, I can ping/tracert etc IPv6... :blush:

So glad that my R7000 with DD-WRT is working pretty well :angel:
« Last Edit: January 30, 2018, 06:29:08 PM by hushcoden »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3