Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: DLM Invoked Resync  (Read 11395 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
DLM Invoked Resync
« on: January 29, 2018, 06:46:41 PM »

I am NOT very surprise as DLM act on my line just after 54 days stable and now DLM decided to reduced further but very strange removed G.INP but put interleaved on at 1363 against 1 :( More bad news. Can someone please explain why is this? Before interleaved was at 16 against 1 and G.INP Enabled with Sync rate of 74000. Just don't get it or don't understand why after 54 days stable.

Code: [Select]
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    1
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 27636 Kbps, Downstream rate = 83018 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69594 Kbps

Code: [Select]
Total time = 54 days 8 hours 55 min 0 sec
FEC:            22261           14773
CRC:            570             2207
ES:             11              1803
SES:            11              0
UAS:            65              54
LOS:            1               0
LOF:            7               0
LOM:            0               0

Code: [Select]
Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  11.3 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not available on VDSL2
Connection speed (kbps): 69594 19999
SNR margin (dB):        6.2 15.2
Power (dBm):            12.5 -1.3
Interleave depth:        1363 1
INP:                    3.00 0
G.INP:                  Not enabled Not enabled
Vectoring status:        5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)

Code: [Select]
1st resync: 11th Nov 2017

Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     11.5      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2     
Connection speed (kbps):   79999      20000
SNR margin (dB):           8.3      13.9
Power (dBm):               12.4      -0.6
Interleave depth:          8      8
INP:                       46.00      47.00
G.INP:                     Enabled      Enabled

2nd resync: 12th Nov 2017

Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     11.5      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2     
Connection speed (kbps):   73998      20000
SNR margin (dB):           10.1      14.0
Power (dBm):               12.5      -0.6
Interleave depth:          8      4
INP:                       52.00      55.00
G.INP:                     Enabled      Enabled

3rd resync: 22nd Nov 2017

Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     11.5      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2     
Connection speed (kbps):   74000      20000
SNR margin (dB):           10.0      14.4
Power (dBm):               12.4      -0.6
Interleave depth:          16      8
INP:                       49.00      47.00
G.INP:                     Enabled      Enabled

4th resync: 26th Nov 2017

Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     11.4      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2     
Connection speed (kbps):   74000      19999
SNR margin (dB):           9.9      15.1
Power (dBm):               12.5      -0.9
Interleave depth:          16      1
INP:                       49.00      0
G.INP:                     Enabled      Not Enabled

5th resync: 29th Jan 2018 (after 54 days stable)

Downstream   Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):     11.3      0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):   Not available on VDSL2     
Connection speed (kbps):   69594      19999
SNR margin (dB):           6.2      15.2
Power (dBm):               12.5      -1.3
Interleave depth:          1363      1
INP:                       3.00      0
G.INP:                     Not Enabled      Not Enabled



« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 07:15:33 PM by adslmax »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2018, 07:34:48 PM »

Hmmm...  have you been chasing a DLM reset?

Removal of G.INP and INP 3 is default DLM setting after a reset.

I cannot see anything detrimental in your stats which would trigger INP to be applied.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2018, 07:36:57 PM »

Nope never request DLM reset. Nothing at all. I been wait and patience for 54 days stable until this now by DLM itself. :( At first I thought DLM will removed banded 74Meg and put me back on 80Meg but DLM must have laughed at me, but instead reduced further sync rate. Something is wrong with OR DLM at the cabinet.

Now, I remember PN say if the handback is below then request an engineer and reset DLM. But at the present time BT Checker say 70Meg Handback but Sync rate now sitting at 69Meg. I doubt PN will not do nothing yet.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 07:40:48 PM by adslmax »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2018, 07:42:10 PM »

What happened to your line on the 22nd.   Looks like you may have picked up a new crosstalker?

Drop from 11dB to 8dB drop like that could be a sign of a new disturber being connected to your cab.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2018, 07:46:27 PM »

Few days ago I been watch SNR on the downstream was sitting at 11.4dB and then drop to 8.3dB for the last few days ago and today drop to 6.2dB. (this the first time of this lower SNR at 6dB since 2014)

I think it down to new connection at the cabinet as I saw openreach engineer enter next door neighbour today as there is new neighbour moved into next door just before xmas. Next door and mine are the same cabinet.

My throughput speed now at 60Meg :( from 75Meg to 69Meg and now 60Meg :(
« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 07:51:03 PM by adslmax »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2018, 07:50:57 PM »

This certainly looks like a new crosstalker. (swing between 11 and 8.3dB)

At around noon on the 22nd you lost a chunk of SNRm.   Then look at those spikes on the 25th, they are typical of a disturber rebooting their router.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2018, 08:04:02 PM »

It looks like there are 2 things recently going on with your line.

1).  On the 22nd you picked up a new crosstalker who has knocked 3dB off your SNRm.   3dB of SNRM is worth approx 11Mbps of speed on a line your length.  There is nothing you can do about that :(

2).  DLM has changed something today.   Removal of G.INP and application of INP 3 is the default DLM profile. This is what your line would run at after a DLM reset. 


Does anyone know if DLM decides to remove banding, does it set DLM back to default profile?

One thing I have noticed in the past.. if DLM decides to take negative action it will do so early in the morning.
Positive actions can happen much later in the day even though 6pm is rather late in the day.


No point asking PN for a GEA test as it will still show the old profile and be of no use :(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2018, 08:08:39 PM »

Thanks for useful Kit. It's a bit learning for me. Oh well. I have to leave it alone for next couple of days see what DLM will do next. One things is I never understand why removed G.INP on my cabinet? Maybe it put it back in couple of days later. Come on cabinet please enabled vectoring please.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33088
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2018, 08:45:08 PM »

I so wish there is a reliable way of getting your DLM profile.    Those obtained from a GEA test always seem to show old data.   I don't think this is specific to PN either as I saw someone who is with another ISP the other week also with old data :(

I'm not sure whether you should log this with PN or not.   
The latest action may have taken you below your MGAL so it could be worth it for that reason.   
However, its two fold.

1) If that is a crosstalker (and it looks like it may be) then you will have lost circa 10-11 Mbps from your headline speed.  There is nothing you can do about that.
2) If you are on default profile then Interleaving is possibly costing you about 6-7 Mbps.  I have absolutely no way of verifying this though.   
I cannot see any reason why DLM would have removed G.INP and applied INP3 other than if it is going through reversal stages to remove banding.

BUT I could be wrong and don't want to falsely get your hopes up.   That's why I was asking if you had sucessfully managed to get a DLM reset and also if anyone else had seen a line revert to INP3 after banding had been removed.    We know for certain this is what would happen if a manual reset has been done, but because automatic changes happen so seldom these days I dont know what process it goes through now.

Please don't jump to conclusions and say "Kitz said its DLM removing banding", because thats not what Im saying. 
I'm saying Im not sure, but it could be.  Without knowing your line profile I'm in the dark :(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2018, 08:56:58 PM »

No problem Kitz. It's just shocked to see G.INP was removed because G.INP does help with more speed gain. How cruel DLM can be. Sadly as for DLM Reset (I wish I have one with default open profile for 48 hours)

Nothing I can do about it now! Just sit back and wait for another 54 days stable again!
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3711
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2018, 10:30:45 PM »

I agree with Kitz, looks like a DLM reset to me.
You'll find out in the next few days/weeks when DLM applies G.INP.

I also think it looks like you picked up a new crosstalker.
This probably means you won't get the full 80Mb after G.INP comes back.
You will get 80Mb if the line applies a lower target snrm.

Looks encouraging though max. That might be the banding gone.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1683
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2018, 11:13:12 PM »

Yeah have to wait and see what happen in the next few days of weeks for G.INP to comeback. As for DLM Reset (that's very strange as I never have any fault team dealing with it) nothing at all.

Here is my latest BT Checker for my line as of today:

« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 11:16:33 PM by adslmax »
Logged

ktz392837

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 558
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2018, 11:39:58 PM »

It is a balancing act as to report it or not as don't forget BT may just lower the hand back threshold at anytime - at times I wonder if they automatic change it depending on your sync speed, but that would be too cynical.

Also if you have an impacted line the hand back is actually 49Mb so you are still above this value?  A joke really saying your line can run between 49-80Mb and that is acceptable!

Anyway I hope it will sort itself out if it is just ginp needs reapplying and/or a target of 3db.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 11:42:05 PM by ktz392837 »
Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2018, 12:42:12 AM »

I agree with Kitz, looks like a DLM reset to me.
You'll find out in the next few days/weeks when DLM applies G.INP.

I also think it looks like you picked up a new crosstalker.
This probably means you won't get the full 80Mb after G.INP comes back.
You will get 80Mb if the line applies a lower target snrm.

Looks encouraging though max. That might be the banding gone.

Definitely a DLM reset.  Just looking at Max's resync stats, the code for today's resync was 1 RDI.

It will be interesting to see where it goes from here.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3711
Re: DLM Invoked Resync
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2018, 01:21:58 AM »

Definitely a DLM reset.  Just looking at Max's resync stats, the code for today's resync was 1 RDI.

It will be interesting to see where it goes from here.

Just as a wee "by the way, did you know that..." but resync reason 1 - RDI Remote Defect Indicator doesn't necessarily mean it's a DLM initiated resync. It clearly is on this occasion as the DLM profile has clearly changed.

I think Tony might have fairly recently removed the word DLM from MDWS resync emails.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6