Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: HG612 & ASUS RTN-56U with TalkTalk FTTC  (Read 495 times)

bibacet

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
HG612 & ASUS RTN-56U with TalkTalk FTTC
« on: January 08, 2018, 10:52:38 AM »

Hi,

I can't seem to get an IP address. The TalkTalk router works fine. Can anyone see an issue with my settings?

HG612
Hardware version: VER.B
Software version: V100R001C01B030SP08
Firmware version: A2pv6C038m.d24j

ASUS RTN-56U Padavan 3.4.3.9-099

HG612 Sync: https://i.imgur.com/j2w4DAN.jpg
HG612 WAN settings: https://i.imgur.com/OMN8P5m.jpg
ASUS WAN settings: https://i.imgur.com/UdQNXBq.jpg

There's nothing major in the ASUS' log after I enable IPoE:

Code: [Select]
Jan 23 23:53:02 RT-N56U: Hardware NAT/Routing: Enabled, IPoE/PPPoE offload [WAN]<->[LAN/WLAN]
Jan 23 23:53:02 RT-N56U: Hardware NAT/Routing: IPv4 UDP flow offload - OFF
Jan 23 23:53:02 dnsmasq[401]: read /etc/hosts - 3 addresses
Jan 23 23:53:02 dnsmasq[401]: read /etc/storage/dnsmasq/hosts - 0 addresses
Jan 23 23:53:02 dnsmasq-dhcp[401]: read /etc/dnsmasq/dhcp/dhcp-hosts.rc
Jan 23 23:53:02 dnsmasq[401]: using nameserver 8.8.8.8#53
Jan 23 23:53:02 dnsmasq[401]: using nameserver 8.8.4.4#53
Jan 23 23:53:02 DHCP WAN Client: starting on eth3 ...

syslog is attached (PPPoE was getting an IP address, which seems strange).

Thanks.
Logged

JamesK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: HG612 & ASUS RTN-56U with TalkTalk FTTC
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 11:45:14 AM »

Looking at your screenshot, it looks like you need to configure the Asus router to using PPPoE, and enter the relevant user ID and password which EE should have supplied you with...

The information below I took from this EE page:
http://ee.co.uk/help/mobile-and-home-connections/broadband-gallery-mobile-broadband/home-broadband/broadband-set-up-guide

Quote
The settings you'll need to update your router are below:

protocol: PPPoE (over Ethernet)
broadband username: Format similar to yourname.orangehome.co.uk@fs or PRODUCTIONHQNUN123456@fs
broadband password: You chose this when you first registered, and it was confirmed in the welcome email

Hope this helps...
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 ECI Cab - Huawei HG612 + Asus RT-AC86U.

bibacet

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: HG612 & ASUS RTN-56U with TalkTalk FTTC
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 11:46:55 AM »

Looking at your screenshot, it looks like you need to configure the Asus router to using PPPoE, and enter the relevant user ID and password which EE should have supplied you with...

Thanks, but I'm with TalkTalk, not EE. :)
Logged

JamesK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: HG612 & ASUS RTN-56U with TalkTalk FTTC
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2018, 12:10:16 PM »

Thanks, but I'm with TalkTalk, not EE. :)

Ah, apologies for that... here's the TalkTalk settings.

https://help2.talktalk.co.uk/setup-non-talktalk-router
Looks like you'll still need to authenticate. So you'll probably need to change the Authentication to 'Yes' in the 'Special requirement from ISP' section.
Logged
Plusnet 40/10 ECI Cab - Huawei HG612 + Asus RT-AC86U.

bibacet

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: HG612 & ASUS RTN-56U with TalkTalk FTTC
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 04:36:07 PM »

Ah, apologies for that... here's the TalkTalk settings.

https://help2.talktalk.co.uk/setup-non-talktalk-router
Looks like you'll still need to authenticate. So you'll probably need to change the Authentication to 'Yes' in the 'Special requirement from ISP' section.

In the end a factory reset worked a treat.

Thanks.
Logged
 

anything