Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Internet problems at work  (Read 939 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2686
Internet problems at work
« on: January 05, 2018, 09:34:56 AM »

I updated our router over Christmas which is an Asus RT-N66U to the lastest firmware and also changed the DNS to 9.9.9.9.

All was fine afterwards, at least I had no issues, and no complaints from staff that were in the following Friday morning.

This week our office workers have been complaining of slow internet, and it seems to be DNS related so I changed the DNS back to Googles 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

But this doesn't seem to have made any difference, in the morning they don't appear to have any internet so have been power cycling the modem and router, but I can see from both MDWS & TB ping graph we have no connection issues in that respect. I haven't noticed any problems either, apart from some very rare slow page loads - again which appear to be DNS related.

My knowledge is very limited as is my time, I tried some pings this morning to get some IP addresses of websites, but the results seem a bit weird.

If I ping the bbc.co.uk I get a IP address of 151.101.0.81 and respectable ping times of around 19ms. But if I enter 151.101.0.81 into my browser (chrome) I instantly get the following error.

Quote
Fastly error: unknown domain: 151.101.0.81. Please check that this domain has been added to a service.

Details: cache-lcy19244-LCY

If I ping kitz.co.uk I get 185.24.98.37 and 21ms pings, but if I enter the IP address in the browser I get an error message saying sorry with the address of http://185.24.98.37/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

Pinging itv.com just times out, yet entering itv.com in my browser works, same for ebay.co.uk

Running trace cert also has more weirdness

Code: [Select]
Tracing route to mircrosoft.com [40.84.199.233]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.10.10.1
  2    19 ms    18 ms    19 ms  410.xe-2-2-0.central10.pcn-bng02.plus.net [84.93.253.72]
  3    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  411.be6.pcn-ir01.plus.net [84.93.253.75]
  4    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  195.99.125.136
  5    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  peer2-et-0-0-4.slough.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.118]
  6    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  109.159.253.203
  7   137 ms   136 ms   136 ms  be-72-0.ibr02.lon30.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.9.248]
  8    38 ms    27 ms    27 ms  ae7-0.pra-96cbe-1a.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.5.71]
  9    28 ms    28 ms    27 ms  ae12-0.pra-96cbe-1b.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.225.213]
 10   136 ms   136 ms   137 ms  be-9-0.ibr02.was02.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.5.30]
 11   137 ms   137 ms   136 ms  be-2-0.ibr02.was05.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.4.24]
 12   136 ms   137 ms   137 ms  be-9-0.ibr01.cnr02.bn6.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.4.26]
 13   135 ms   136 ms   135 ms  be-1-0.ibr01.cnr01.bn6.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.4.159]
 14   137 ms   137 ms   136 ms  be-6-0.ibr02.atb.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.4.49]
 15   136 ms   136 ms   136 ms  be-1-0.ibr01.atb.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.4.38]
 16   137 ms   137 ms   135 ms  be-6-0.ibr02.sn4.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.4.47]
 17   137 ms   140 ms   136 ms  ae81-0.sn4-96cbe-1a.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.9.89]
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Tracing route to itv.com [52.48.32.52]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.10.10.1
  2    18 ms    18 ms    18 ms  410.xe-2-2-0.central10.pcn-bng02.plus.net [84.93.253.72]
  3    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  411.be6.pcn-ir02.plus.net [84.93.253.79]
  4    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  195.99.125.140
  5    19 ms    19 ms    20 ms  peer7-et-7-0-1.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.92]
  6    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  109.159.253.121
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Running a trace route on kitz.co.uk worked fine

Code: [Select]
Tracing route to kitz.co.uk [185.24.98.37]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.10.10.1
  2    19 ms    18 ms    18 ms  410.xe-2-2-0.central10.pcn-bng02.plus.net [84.93.253.72]
  3    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  411.be6.pcn-ir01.plus.net [84.93.253.75]
  4    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  core1-BE1.colindale.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.125.132]
  5    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  195.99.127.81
  6    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  t2c4-et-3-1-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.244]
  7    20 ms    20 ms    19 ms  82.112.101.73
  8    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  ae-9.r25.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.41]
  9    21 ms    21 ms    22 ms  ae-2.r02.londen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.1]
 10    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  ae-1.r03.londen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.37]
 11    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  62.73.179.150
 12    21 ms    21 ms    28 ms  uk.slo.ld5.201.r1.misp.co.uk [185.52.26.130]
 13    42 ms    50 ms    44 ms  185.24.99.67
 14    22 ms    21 ms    21 ms  kitz.servers.eqx.misp.co.uk [185.24.98.37]

Trace complete.


Not sure whether it's because I've not got a clue what I'm doing, or something is amiss somewhere.

Any idea's before I tell them they need to get someone else involved, or should I be contacting our ISP which is Plus Net Business?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 654
Re: Internet problems at work
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2018, 09:51:53 AM »

Hi ronski

Firstly, it can be normal when accessing a website by IP address to show those type of pages. It is simply showing the /var/www default - this depends upon how the hosting has been setup

Similarly with pings, these can be blocked or dropped depending upon setup/loading beyond your router

First, if your sure the router has correctly set the new dns, I would turn off router power fully, leave 1 minute or so, repower and run a test ping directly from within router

Then hook up a laptop hardwired into router, check make sure nic is set to dhcp and confirm correct settings from router you expect

Then see how it browses the Internet

If all fine, check your switches are on, perhaps repower switches

If computers then still no internet, turn off 1  computer and turn on again (do not do a restart but full shutdown)

When turned back on again, check nic settings are as you expect, if ok then see how it browses

I do not have experience with ASUís router sorry

Many thanks

John
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2686
Re: Internet problems at work
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2018, 11:46:55 AM »

Thanks John, I'll run through that when I get time or the problem forces me to.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

tubaman

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1557
Re: Internet problems at work
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2018, 12:41:23 PM »

Is it worth flushing the DNS cache on the PCs (ipconfig /flushdns)?
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Netgear D6220

d2d4j

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 654
Re: Internet problems at work
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2018, 12:45:38 PM »

Hi tuba man

I thought of that but I think main issue is no internet to computers (not plural), so all should not need flushing

I could be wrong though, but usually mass dns issues which need flushing is only if records change and you want quicker update

Many thanks

John
Logged

smf22

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Internet problems at work
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2018, 07:36:36 PM »

Not sure this adds anything, but some further thoughts and observations.

As d24dj says, using IP addresses in a browser will often not work. It's very likely the BBC web servers are front ended by a load balancing layer, and also possible the web servers themselves use some form of 'virtual hosting' i.e., one physical host serving different web addresses. The web server uses the server name i.e., www.bbc.co.uk, to direct the request to the appropriate pages. If you don't specify the name, they have no idea what content you're looking for.

In terms of the traceroute weirdness, did you mean to traceroute to mircrosoft.com instead of microsoft.com? I'm assuming that's a typo.

Interesting that mircrosoft.com (misspelling) is registered to a company called MarkMonitor:
 
smf22@lampu:~$ whois mircrosoft.com
   Domain Name: MIRCROSOFT.COM
   Registry Domain ID: 2048697_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
   Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.markmonitor.com
   Registrar URL: http://www.markmonitor.com
   [snip]


This is a company that "develops software intended to protect corporate brands from Internet counterfeiting, fraud, piracy, and cybersquatting" so presumably they register misspellings of brands as part of the protection service.

That said, I also get no response from microsoft.com though www.microsoft.com traces fine.
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A bridge mode + Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2686
Re: Internet problems at work
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2018, 08:10:36 PM »

The spelling mistake was not intentional - well spotted. Its useful to know that the IP addresses don't always work. I was trying to workout if it was the DNS failing by getting them to enter the IP address directly, but as it wasn't reliable for me I didn't bother.

I had a couple of slow responses this afternoon, and the odd thing is it seems to fail, then after a few more seconds loads the page (but not always apparently), and it was a site I visit regularly so surely that would be in the local DNS anyway on the PC?? It also comes up with Resolving something or other in the bottom left of the browser window.

All the PC's actually have the DNS servers set it their network properties, so doesn't rely on the router to supply it.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D