Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?  (Read 10242 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3365
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #45 on: December 10, 2017, 03:18:21 PM »

18/2 is only available on certain cabinets.
It's sold as BT Faster Broadband.
If you call and ask for the 18/2 package they likely won't know what you're talking about.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6406
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #46 on: December 10, 2017, 03:59:22 PM »

I have no issue with variable pricing on sync rate.  The problem is as kitz reply shows, there is now an expectation for some strange reason that isps should be charging based on their costs to openreach and nothing else.

e.g. the cost of backhaul is often not considered, a line syncing at a higher rate does have inherent higher backhaul costs because there needs to be capacity free to service that line "just in case" the end user utilises the connection, and 40mbps of capacity is cheaper than 80mbps of capacity on a percentile based burst billing model which is what the isp's pay for.

I also have no issue of really paying for what you get and the only way costs would be relevant is that they low enough that its a profitable service.  But the UK market at least in xDSL is not really run like this, certainly a factor is the ofcom regulation.  The original pricing model before ofcom got stuck in had 2mbps ADSL cost circa 80 month for the consumer vs about 40 a month for 0,5mbit ADSL.  The model before ofcom intervention had different openreach ports cost differently based on the burst speed, and also BTw backhaul was much more in line with industry standard pricing.  However ofcom wanted to push dirt cheap broadband to homes regardless of sync speed, so ADSL MAX came about with its fixed pricing for all, and BTw backhaul shot up in price to compensate BT for the lost revenue on the new access port prices. This horrible imbalanced model of course led to the dark days of UK broadband where isps were having significant capacity problems due to the cheap deployment of high speed ports alongside expensive backhaul to service those connections.  This model is what made LLU so attractive, as there was significant gains to be had on backhaul costs when using LLU.  Why the likes of ukonline, BE and sky could offer unlimited usage without throttling.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2017, 04:03:15 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

michty_me

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 618
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #47 on: December 16, 2017, 12:07:33 PM »

It would appear my line has recovered a lot quicker than when it was initially installed. Going back to my comment on page 2, The BT engineer carried out a full line check and reset everything. Bang on a week later, G.INP was applied to my line, Then over the past few days my SNR has slowly started coming down. I think I'm within a few Mb to what my line was originally before it wobbly fit.

I understand every line is different, But thought I would give you my timescales for my line to go back to 'optimum' speed.
Logged

ktz392837

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 558
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #48 on: December 16, 2017, 01:45:43 PM »

I understand every line is different, But thought I would give you my timescales for my line to go back to 'optimum' speed.

I think the main problem is qualifying for a line reset.  If you do not qualify your line never gets fixed especially if it is banded. 

Thankfully Plusnet have been decent for me but I only suspect it was because each time when they ran diagnostics the line failed so it qualified for an engineer to come out.

I am a firm believer that you should be able to request a line reset even if there is no fault detected on the line.  There needs to be safeguards but if a customer can give a reasonable reason (>6db margin db, banded, faulty modem, local event eg weather etc) the ISP should be able to click a button and it just happens.


Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2076
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #49 on: December 16, 2017, 03:40:03 PM »

>6db margin db, banded

I don't think those would be reasonable reasons for doing a reset. There's not really any point in having the DLM do banding if it's just going to lead to someone doing a reset because it's banded.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #50 on: December 28, 2017, 08:55:43 PM »

Well this took a bit of a turn didn't it.  :D

Just thought I'd update this thread a bit and mention that my line is exactly the same, no DLM changes at all. Best I can get out of a speedtest is now about 59Mb/s.  :(

On the 16th Dec I had a message in my Plusnet Member Centre saying that the cease on my line has been actioned. I didn't action any cease.  They say it was done at about 4 in the morning, sounds like an automated thing to me. No one could tell me what happened despite being transferred to the ones who would apparently know. ::)


They are awful and I want nothing more to do with them. So rightly or wrongly, I'm sacking off PN. I've lost all hope for them and their CS. I'm going back to Zen. In hindsight I wish to God I never bothered moving, hindsight's a bitch right!?

It'll cost me a bit, but worth it IMO. You live and learn.


Anyway Line stat for those who are interested and I'm .Sam. on https://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk/Container.htm if you're interested...

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 27247 Kbps, Downstream rate = 75468 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 66285 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.0 15.7
Attn(dB): 10.2 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.5 -4.6
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 26
B: 51 237
M: 1 1
T: 64 42
R: 12 16
S: 0.0250 0.3781
L: 20512 5374
D: 1297 1
I: 64 127
N: 64 254
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 557217303 1121912
OHFErr: 0 1666
RS: 913550789 4049181
RSCorr: 15569649 20249
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 2227963820 0
Data Cells: 1541471236 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 0 1152
SES: 0 0
UAS: 23 23
AS: 893646

Bearer 0
INP: 3.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 8 0
PER: 1.60 3.98
OR: 119.71 64.22
AgR: 66404.60 20063.54

Bitswap: 323658/323658 2349/2350

Total time = 1 days 8 hours 14 min 29 sec
FEC: 15569649 20249
CRC: 0 1666
ES: 0 1152
SES: 0 0
UAS: 23 23
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 29 sec
FEC: 16951 7
CRC: 0 2
ES: 0 1
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 13881 1
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 14 min 29 sec
FEC: 445443 726
CRC: 0 113
ES: 0 45
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC: 2291015 1170
CRC: 0 167
ES: 0 116
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 10 days 8 hours 14 min 5 sec
FEC: 15569649 20249
CRC: 0 1666
ES: 0 1152
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
#
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

fwdlink

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #51 on: December 30, 2017, 12:33:54 PM »

V_R,

I'm having a similar experience to yours, not as bad I admit, but not the greatest when I came from a solid 80/20 service from BT and over to PN I've had the worst stats ever on my line and I'm going 60 days plus with no real recovery in sight (same hardware on my side so hardware and line are not the issue.)  Still on a 6db SNR, still no sync at 80 and loads of errors on my upstream though it's not impacting the line as far as I can tell.

I wonder if on day 14 your line will have another reset and kick in G.INP and adjust your Interleaving downward as looking at your errors and SNR you should have a better line than I do and mine isn't terrible.

Fingers crossed, but totally get your frustration, I'm less than happy myself with PN and thought I was moving onto a winner from all the feedback I had from friends and colleagues, so far not in my case either.
Logged

V_R

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #52 on: January 04, 2018, 06:23:31 PM »

Hey guys,

Can someone take a look at my stats and tell me what might be going on? It started today, this afternoon. 18.08 was a manual re sync to try and take advantage of the extra SNR.

I'm .Sam. (at the top)

https://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk/Container.htm


I'm still not seeing a jot of difference in actual download speeds. Its still almost exactly the same as its always been.





Code: [Select]
Stats recorded 04 Jan 2018 18:26:09

DSLAM/MSAN type:        BDCM:0xa48c / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware:  AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                  Showtime
Uptime:                  0 hour 17 min 11 sec
Resyncs:                2 (since 04 Jan 2018 17:45:06)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  10.2 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not available on VDSL2
Connection speed (kbps): 69930 19999
SNR margin (dB):        6.2 15.3
Power (dBm):            13.4 -4.6
Interleave depth:        1369 1
INP:                    3.00 0
G.INP:                  Not enabled Not enabled
Vectoring status:        5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)

RSCorr/RS (%):          0.0341 0.0010
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        0.0000 0.0000
ES/hour:                0 4.87

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 25989 Kbps, Downstream rate = 80732 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 69930 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.2 15.3
Attn(dB): 10.2 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.4 -4.6
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 26
B: 51 237
M: 1 1
T: 64 42
R: 12 16
S: 0.0237 0.3781
L: 21640 5374
D: 1369 1
I: 64 127
N: 64 254
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 677559 259290
OHFErr: 0 2
RS: 173288386 2295462
RSCorr: 59053 22
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 138467626 0
Data Cells: 7766255 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 0 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 23 23
AS: 1031

Bearer 0
INP: 3.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 8 0
PER: 1.52 3.98
OR: 126.30 64.22
AgR: 70056.34 20063.54

Bitswap: 452/453 1/1

Total time = 17 min 34 sec
FEC: 59053 22
CRC: 0 2
ES: 0 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 23 23
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 34 sec
FEC: 8211 18
CRC: 0 1
ES: 0 1
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 50842 4
CRC: 0 1
ES: 0 1
SES: 0 0
UAS: 23 23
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 17 min 34 sec
FEC: 59053 22
CRC: 0 2
ES: 0 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 23 23
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 17 min 9 sec
FEC: 59053 22
CRC: 0 2
ES: 0 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
#
« Last Edit: January 04, 2018, 06:27:01 PM by V_R »
Logged
Zen Internet (80/20) on a Huawei 288 cab, via HG612 and an Asus RT-AC86U running Merlin FW.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: Advice needed - Is my line capped/banded?
« Reply #53 on: January 04, 2018, 08:24:37 PM »

It may be worth turning off the modem before you go to bed for that port on the DSLAM to relax it may need 6 or so hours and switch the modem back on in the morning and observe the DS SNRM.

EDIT: what ever it was it's fixed itself  ::)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2018, 09:32:20 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
 

anything