Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: BufferBloat and HG612  (Read 1105 times)

Blokie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
BufferBloat and HG612
« on: April 17, 2020, 01:34:09 PM »

I've just replaced my BT HomeHub with a combination of a HG612 (flashed with B030SP08 firware and QOS disabled)) and a shiny new ASUS RT-AX58U (running Asuswrt-Merlin 384.16).

I'm getting poor bufferbloat performance (C rating (30ms idle, 60-130ms downloading, 30-210ms when uploading) on dslreports, and nothing I change on the AX58U seems to affect that bufferbloat score.  I've tried altering the bandwidth between 95% and 50% of my max line speed (max is 40Mb down, 13 up), and it just stays the same!

Could the issue be down to limitations with the HG612?  If so, what would a current recommendation be for a replacement?  Note - I would only need a replacement to act as the modem as the AX58u is only 2 days old!!
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1729
    • My Broadband History
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 02:34:59 PM »

It shouldn't be no, especially as by default the HG612 reserves 1Mbit of the upload to help avoid this (we usually turn this off after unlocking it).

Sounds like the AX58U QoS is not working correctly, as certainly if you've limited the speed by 50% you should see it making a difference.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9287
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2020, 03:05:40 PM »

What Alex said. Maybe the router is not using a good active queue management system algorithm for anti-bufferbloat.
Logged

Blokie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2020, 03:28:19 PM »

Thanks for the responses.

It's configured to use fq_codel, but setting to sfq doesn't seem to make any difference either.

I even went extreme and set to 10% of max line speed, and again the results were effectively full speed.

Support for this new model RT-AX58U only appeared in the latest version of the Merlin firmware, so maybe there are some device specific issues in that QoS?
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9287
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2020, 04:28:01 PM »

Then it should be doing the right thing. This kind of stuff is a nightmare to debug though. I donít think that changing modems is necessarily going to bring any improvement but itís a cheap thing to try. The latency/RTT with my own Firebrick FB2900 router + 4 * ZyXEL VMG 1312-B10A modems combination is not good, although Iím using ultra-long slow ADSL2 lines with high interleave so the basic DSL itself is a big factor.

It could indeed be worth messing about with trying alternative kit if you can get hold of some good stuff to try at low cost.
Logged

Blokie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2020, 04:53:44 PM »

Thanks.

I've just been having a play with Traditional QoS (as opposed to Adaptive), results as follows:

~10% hit on max speeds (about what would be expected)
Bufferbloat is practically eliminated
Speed limiting still doesn't seem to be working as dropping to 10% max still runs at max speed

..so that I think rules out the modem, and looks like some issues with the QoS implementation of this new router.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9287
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2020, 04:56:20 PM »

Disappointing. Sometimes we have to buy into systems first and then find out the truth afterwards, unless you have already know someone  who already has the same kit or software, that is.
Logged

mrk26

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2020, 05:05:43 PM »

I think you just have poor throughput on your broadband, but that shouldn't be suprise in these days where everyone is in home and working from home. What is your speed test without QoS. Repeat your speed test couple of times with speedtest on different servers and post results.
How is connected your router to pc/laptop, wireless or wired?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 05:13:35 PM by mrk26 »
Logged

Blokie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2020, 07:14:02 PM »

I don't think it's a throughput issue, as if I use Traitional QoS as opposed to Adaptive the bufferbloat reduces to almost nothing on both download and upload.

RT-The AX58U is a very new router, and I suspect some issues with the firmware (whether stock or Merlin related I don't know, as I don;t want to revert to stock to check!), in that Adaptive doesn't work at all and traditional works to a degree, but ignores max limits that you select.

I'm connected via Gigabit LAN by the way.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 07:17:17 PM by Blokie »
Logged

mrk26

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2020, 07:21:28 PM »

I got rt-ax88u, and I was using Merlin 384.13 as it was best for me, I always use traditional QoS rather then adaptive and never had issues with it, bufferbloat minimal. Now I use latest Asus fw as I had issues with never Merlin builds, where on latest Asus build router working perfectly.
Logged

psychopomp1

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 311
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2020, 07:57:03 PM »

I'm getting poor bufferbloat performance (C rating (30ms idle, 60-130ms downloading, 30-210ms when uploading) on dslreports

That's your issue: DSLreports. Its using mainly US servers to measure bufferbloat. I'm getting similar results on all 3 of my FTTP lines. IMHO absolutely nothing to worry about.
Logged
TTB FTTP 1000/115

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1729
    • My Broadband History
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2020, 08:23:40 PM »

That's your issue: DSLreports. Its using mainly US servers to measure bufferbloat. I'm getting similar results on all 3 of my FTTP lines. IMHO absolutely nothing to worry about.

Its usually pretty good, but less servers than usual seem to be available likely due to increased load.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

Blokie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2020, 08:34:09 PM »

That's your issue: DSLreports. Its using mainly US servers to measure bufferbloat. I'm getting similar results on all 3 of my FTTP lines. IMHO absolutely nothing to worry about.

If this was the case wouldn't I get similar results no matter what QoS I was (or wasn't) running?

Like I said above, if I turn on Traditional QoS the bufferbloat issues disappear to almost zero, whereas with Adaptive QoS or no QoS I get the same issue.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9287
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 ◊ 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: BufferBloat and HG612
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2020, 08:37:51 PM »

Agree with psychopomp1
Logged