Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details  (Read 2495 times)

machare

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« on: August 06, 2017, 01:35:56 PM »

I have a recently acquired VMG8924-B10A.  I appear to be able to enter multiple connection details, e.g. different userid/password, different ADSL/VDSL.

I have not spotted anything which lets me select which connection details to use. So how does the router work? Does it try each set of details in turn until it finds one that works?

So, is it possible to get the router to automatically re-establish my connection when I move from ADSL to VDSL with a different supplier? 
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2017, 02:03:23 PM »

It will determine the type of connection when syncing up, and then use the configured parameters for that type.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

machare

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2017, 04:17:18 PM »

Thank you. It does look like you can't have two identical connection types, so maybe switching between ADSL and VDSL might work, but switching ISPs for a particular connection type would not work if a password is needed.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4873
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2017, 04:35:56 PM »

I use a VDSL connection and also see a ADSL connection also which I might delete as it's not needed and may slow down the connecting time process at boot time  :-\

If you move to New ISP provider with VDSL your going to have to enter in the username & password at some point to get connected and you need to power down & up the modem to get the new connection or the DSL connection led will be RED or Blank once the switch over has taken place.

« Last Edit: August 06, 2017, 04:48:17 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

machare

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2017, 06:11:17 PM »

I have already entered the userid and password for the VDSL connection but if the router won't switch from ADSL to VDSL without a reboot that would be a pity.  I want to switch suppliers without being present. Maybe a time switch might help.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3633
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2017, 06:32:14 PM »

Surely if you switch from an ADSL supplier to a VDSL one it will mean a drop and re-connect of the router which would then use the VDSL connection details. I dont believe it is possible to do it any other way - unless one of the experts here knows more....

Stuart
Logged
ISP:BT Router:BT Smart Hub 2 Connection:FTTP

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4873
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2017, 06:54:56 PM »

There is a option in power management you could setup a rule/schedule for the DSL WAN and have it turn off and on at a specific time of day each day or any day you have selected.
Have not tried this so beware but it works for Modem LEDS  :)
Logged

machare

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2017, 07:09:22 PM »

There is a option in power management you could setup a rule/schedule for the DSL WAN and have it turn off and on at a specific time of day each day or any day you have selected.
Have not tried this so beware but it works for Modem LEDS  :)
Thank you, I will try that. Unlike another Zyxel ADSL router that I have, I have not found an option to automatically reboot the device at regular intervals.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3896
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2017, 11:17:10 PM »

You can set DslStats to send a custom command when it detects no DSL connection. You could set it to send the reboot command. It would mean the router reboots every time the DSL link drops though.
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9834
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2017, 09:13:15 AM »

I use a VDSL connection and also see a ADSL connection also which I might delete as it's not needed and may slow down the connecting time process at boot time  :-\


No need to delete it - you can just edit it and uncheck 'active'.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4873
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2017, 12:45:49 PM »

Following your advise tuberman I went back into broadband section found the active tick removed it and it causes a resync ah well ADSL is inactive now.

EDIT: it looked like a resync but it wasn't  :)
« Last Edit: August 07, 2017, 12:50:09 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9834
Re: Zyxel VMG8924-B10A - Multiple Connection details
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2017, 02:32:15 PM »

Following your advise tuberman I went back into broadband section found the active tick removed it and it causes a resync ah well ADSL is inactive now.

EDIT: it looked like a resync but it wasn't  :)

It will have dropped and reconnected the PPP side but not the physical connection.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A
 

anything