Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Images in open pages  (Read 6448 times)

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Images in open pages
« on: May 03, 2008, 06:34:28 AM »

Hi, when I open linked pages(pages that open in another)sometimes the images don't display.When I first start using my pc in the morning everything is fine but as the day moves on and the more I open pages the images won't load.An example of this is 'more' link to click on the extra smileys in the forum.Its fine first thing but as the day moves on all I get is a blank window.Browsing in normal windows,email images etc are fine,its just when opening linked pages.
Logged

Pwiggler

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1542
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2008, 07:53:20 AM »

what if you reboot phil, is it then ok for a while or the same???
Logged
Paul

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2008, 08:20:23 AM »

Paul,When I reboot  then it is ok (for a while)
Logged

Pwiggler

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1542
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2008, 08:43:41 AM »

strange that it gets worse over time.

try opening internet options, click the advanced tab and click 'restore advanced settings' (in vista) or the 'restore defaults' button in XP and see what happens.

Logged
Paul

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2008, 08:57:32 AM »

Its as though it runs out of steam,so to speak the more I browse.I have 2GB ram and core 2 duo 2.13 processor.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8473
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2008, 09:37:57 AM »

Try Firefox.
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2008, 09:49:52 AM »

Try Firefox.

Or, even better, try Opera  :D
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32550
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2008, 11:32:08 AM »

tbh Im not entirely sure what is causing it so this is only a suggestion - but it could be an IE cache problem?   
Weird things do start happening once the IE cache gets full, so try clearing it.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8473
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2008, 11:33:36 AM »

That was going to be my next suggestion, to use something like Ccleaner.
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2008, 12:09:20 PM »

Phil,
It sounds like as you re-boot it is OK, so a shutdown is deleting your temp internet files which are probably filling up the file.
Which browser are you using?
In both IE6 and 7 you can either go Tools -> Options and delete the temp internet files or in the settings, increase the file size so that there is more room for temp files if your browser is on the go all day.
dave
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2008, 12:12:03 PM »

@ Dave IE7


Edit,just increased the file size from 50mb to 100mb
« Last Edit: May 03, 2008, 12:15:23 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2008, 12:28:43 PM »

Phil,
Open IE7 -> Tools -> Internet Options.
In the General Tab look for Browsing History. Click Settings and in the new window have a look at how much Disk Space is allocated. What ever it is, increase it, to start with to 250, You have plenty of memory so it won't be a problem.
Click OK and  then go to:
The  Advanced Tab and in the Settings window scroll down to Security and ensure there is a tick in "Empty Temporary internet Files when browser is closed". It sounds as though that will already be ticked as the file appears to be empty when you first start up, but check.

Try that for today and see if there is enough space.

If it re-occurs then repeat the first part and increase to the space to 500.

dave
Logged

Yorkie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • I'm working on my warm and fluffy side
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2008, 12:37:15 PM »

Have mine set to the maximum 1024, but I only have 512mb memory and I never clean out the cache, but thats an old habit from my dial-up days which is unneccessary on broadband really.

Please don't suggest I change browsers, it took me three weeks to tame this beast and I'm sticking with it.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2008, 01:32:20 PM »


Click OK and  then go to:
The  Advanced Tab and in the Settings window scroll down to Security and ensure there is a tick in "Empty Temporary internet Files when browser is closed".

Dave & Kitz have basically said all of which I would of advised, with the exception of.
 ("Empty Temporary internet Files when browser is closed")

The only problem with doing this is that you "may" find that sites you visit on a regular basis may take slightly longer to open as "ALL" of the information has to be downloaded onto your PC again before you see it.
But with BB we are probably talking in "Nano seconds" and may not be very noticeable, but almost certainly worth a try.

I think altering the setting from 50MB to 100MB should make a big improvement though.
(Mine is also set at 100MB)
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Images in open pages
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2008, 01:40:34 PM »


Have mine set to the maximum 1024, but I only have 512mb memory Please don't suggest I change browsers, it took me three weeks to tame this beast and I'm sticking with it.

I think you may be getting confused with System Memory.

Quote
Please don't suggest I change browsers, it took me three weeks to tame this beast and I'm sticking with it.
I know how you feel, you use a program for "years", have a slight problem and the stock reply is to change browsers.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2