Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: Advice Needed - Health Check  (Read 8412 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32371
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #45 on: May 13, 2017, 01:45:58 AM »

Or possibly a Zyxel.

I don't see that sort of format with my VMG1312-B10D.

From the GUI it has a very broken display. See the screen-scrape, attached below. But if I make ssh access, I have the full set of reliable Broadcom xdslctl commands available via the Busybox shell.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #46 on: May 13, 2017, 10:43:44 AM »

Yes it is a DrayTek Vigor 130. It just works. No evidence of anything wrong with it.  :P

That might be partly related to the limitations in what data it provides you.

This thread started out with:

What is the best way to health check your broadband line?
What tools can you use?
How can you tell a fault from a non-fault?
Can Broadband Boost or SFI2 improve things even if there is no clear fault?

The answers to the first three, without specialist test hardware, are generally:
- Use a modem that will give you complete statistical and synchronisation information, which describes the line state, and watch it for changes.
- Use a PC or Linux-based tool that interrogates the modem for that status data, and presents it in graphical form over a long, long period. Starting, preferably, when the line is healthy.
- By analysing the graphs of long-term behaviour, mixed with some skill from previous analysis ... distinct "on the job training" here. Key, though, is watching for changes over time.

When faced with a Draytek modem, I am reminded of the punchline to the old Irish joke:  'Well sir, if I were you, I wouldn't start from here'.

I assume that, when you presented the set of detailed stats earlier, you replaced the Vigor with something useful? They look more Broadcom-oriented.
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #47 on: May 13, 2017, 10:46:15 AM »

I don't see that sort of format with my VMG1312-B10D.

From the GUI it has a very broken display. See the screen-scrape, attached below. But if I make ssh access, I have the full set of reliable Broadcom xdslctl commands available via the Busybox shell.

My mistake, then.

I wonder what device I am thinking of, then?

I know I distrust Asus modems too, but they don't give that structured-text layout, so it isn't that one.
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #48 on: May 13, 2017, 10:51:56 AM »

From the GUI it has a very broken display. See the screen-scrape, attached below.

That, by the way, is horrible.

How long does it take to train your mind to skip around to the useful bits?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32371
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #49 on: May 13, 2017, 12:46:19 PM »

That, by the way, is horrible.

How long does it take to train your mind to skip around to the useful bits?

I never use the GUI to check important statistics; only the Broadcom xdslctl commands.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

CrazyTeeka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • A&A Customer - Home::1TB
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #50 on: May 13, 2017, 01:21:55 PM »

So I should bin this Vigor 130 and switch to a different router?
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #51 on: May 14, 2017, 03:43:34 AM »

As you said, it works. No need to bin it unless you get line problems that need investigating, and you feel the need to be the investigator. It just isn't going to be very good at giving you that comprehensive health-check information.

Isn't the 130 just a modem?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32371
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #52 on: May 14, 2017, 06:07:04 PM »

Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

CrazyTeeka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • A&A Customer - Home::1TB
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #53 on: May 14, 2017, 07:08:06 PM »

My reasons for picking this Modem are...

BT SIN 498 MCT Approved
Support for MTU1508 (Jumbo Frames)
VDSL Vectoring

and its still possible to capture the stats at 15 minute intervals then calculate the difference.

This is my 1st time using DrayTek, it doesn't seem that bad to me.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2076
Re: Advice Needed - Health Check
« Reply #54 on: May 14, 2017, 07:22:37 PM »

I thought some DrayTek devices do provide quite a lot of stats via their telnet commands, and can even adjust the SNRM, but I'm not sure if that extends to the 130.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]