Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 21 22 [23] 24 25 ... 30

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 95350 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #330 on: April 29, 2018, 07:30:47 AM »

Speeds certainly seem to be, done speed tests at various times last night and all was well. Yes I suspect it is the Puma problem, which luckily won't affect us for what we use it for.

The Hub 3 really is basic, also in router mode you can see the channels it's using but in modem mode you can't.

Cost is currently 37 a month, I did want Vivid 350 for the faster upload but its not available yet.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

niemand

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1839
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #331 on: April 30, 2018, 07:11:11 PM »

You can get information from the Hub in modem mode - try http://192.168.100.1 and don't log in - there should be something in the top right if I recall to get modem stats from.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #332 on: April 30, 2018, 08:24:14 PM »

Thanks, yes there is, "Check router Status" it's in the middle underneath the login, actually pretty good idea to put it there, saves logging in.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33033
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #333 on: April 30, 2018, 11:01:15 PM »

Sorry only just seen this thread as I've been distracted with other things.

Congrats on finally getting there.    :yay: :dance: :clap:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #334 on: May 01, 2018, 07:06:17 AM »

Thanks Kitz.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

niemand

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1839
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #335 on: May 01, 2018, 01:22:11 PM »

Indeed. You're in a good place both for DOCSIS 3.1 and EPON if they ever get around to actually rolling it out!
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #336 on: May 03, 2018, 11:04:49 PM »

Talking to someone who lives in Stone Gardens today it transpires that VM managed to cut the BT underground cable a couple of weeks ago while doing their thing in that cul-de-sac. They were without landlines and internet for nearly  24 hours because BT could not/would not come out till the next day to repair it. Several very unhappy bunnies in that road!

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #337 on: May 04, 2018, 01:23:27 PM »

A few years back the gas board cut  through about 200 lines near the exchange in Sandwich, that took a long time to fix, at least the broadband still worked.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #338 on: May 05, 2018, 12:41:24 PM »

Cancelled our Plusnet phone and broadband this morning, bit sad as I've been a customer for around 15 years.

Also upgraded to Vivid 350, CLOKent managed to get things sorted so it's now available  ;D

Finally a decent upload, oh and faster than 98% of the UK  ;D



Speeds seem very stable at peak times (so far) - see attached
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

supernoodles

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #339 on: May 05, 2018, 02:09:42 PM »

Cancelled our Plusnet phone and broadband this morning, bit sad as I've been a customer for around 15 years.

Also upgraded to Vivid 350, CLOKent managed to get things sorted so it's now available  ;D

Finally a decent upload, oh and faster than 98% of the UK  ;D



Speeds seem very stable at peak times (so far) - see attached

such a beautiful sight almost makes me wanna cry lol

i need some of that CLOKent loving
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #340 on: May 05, 2018, 03:12:13 PM »

@supernoodles have you tried speaking to EK Housings legal department or head office?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

supernoodles

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #341 on: May 05, 2018, 04:35:18 PM »

@supernoodles have you tried speaking to EK Housings legal department or head office?

Sadly not yet have been busy the last week will try to see what i can do tuesday
Logged

stevebrass

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #342 on: May 05, 2018, 04:40:22 PM »

Cancelled our Plusnet phone and broadband this morning, bit sad as I've been a customer for around 15 years.

We have been with BT for over 40 years. They did contact me about staying, but when I mentioned being 3k from the DSLAM and switching to VM, the guy accepted that BT could not compete on product speed.
Logged
Netgear Orbi; BT FTTP with Smart Hub 2

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4168
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #343 on: May 05, 2018, 05:53:44 PM »

Same here, although only 450 meters roughly, BTor copper/ally cables just can't compete speed wise, PN never once even asked me to stay. If I could get 80/20 I would of stayed.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2263
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #344 on: May 06, 2018, 11:51:34 AM »

Wow thats an awesome speed Ronski! :)

Can you feel the speed change?

I know when I happen to get interleaving taken off this line (happens about once a year) I feel the quickness in that extra 10MB.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab
Pages: 1 ... 21 22 [23] 24 25 ... 30