Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26] 27 28 ... 30

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 67308 times)

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7719
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #375 on: May 31, 2018, 03:56:44 PM »

Does VM do FTTP as well as cable now?
Logged

sotonsam

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #376 on: May 31, 2018, 04:43:47 PM »

Does VM do FTTP as well as cable now?

In certain area's they are doing full FTTP installs, but they're not advertised as such. They're still advertised as their same tiers.
Logged
AAISP FTTC 80/20. BT Infinity FTTC 80/20. ECI Cab.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2606
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #377 on: June 01, 2018, 01:07:33 AM »

Does VM do FTTP as well as cable now?

New deployment areas tend to be full FTTP.
The fibre is converted to coaxial inside the customers property. Their modems and TV boxes still use exclusively coaxial.
I believe they still use DOCSIS 3.0?

They use RFOG (radio frequency over glass) to carry the DOCSIS signal over the fibre.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

johnson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #378 on: June 01, 2018, 02:01:21 AM »

New deployment areas tend to be full FTTP.
The fibre is converted to coaxial inside the customers property. Their modems and TV boxes still use exclusively coaxial.
I believe they still use DOCSIS 3.0?

They use RFOG (radio frequency over glass) to carry the DOCSIS signal over the fibre.

So even with an actual fibre into your house it still uses the same "signal to everyone" setup that normal cable modems use?

Edit: Realise this is kind of a stupid question, its been a long time since I lived somewhere with VM but I remember provisioning/contention being pretty abysmal, with the more houses connected to your streets node causing worse and worse peak time slowdowns, I attributed at least some of this to the way DOCSIS worked with VM, sending the same signal to every house and having actual streams separated by TDMA/CDMA, so more houses = worse performance, not like other topologies with fixed contention ratios. Is this still the case even with their FTTP?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2018, 02:15:02 AM by johnson »
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 7719
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 × 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #379 on: June 01, 2018, 02:40:26 AM »

Unhelpful comment alert: The RFoG docs I read were just confined to the (analog) physical layer basically the simplest optical-to-electrical transceiver/media converter, assuming I read it right. It was all about saving money and getting backwards compatibility at all costs because they don't have to swap out so much kit, nor have two lots of separate systems in some parts of the setup. Seeing that costs (which does include reliability) not performance are where it is aimed, then I wouldn't be too surprised if someone told me they were still using the same horrid broadcast system. But I have no idea, haven't found anything in my reading yet. Performance should be really good though because if the low SNR.
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1181
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #380 on: June 01, 2018, 09:34:52 AM »

The vast majority of FTTP uses a horrid broadcast system?
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3286
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #381 on: June 01, 2018, 10:14:43 AM »

@Johnson VM used to have loads of congestion issues, but thanks to the new average peak time speed advertising and the very bad press they got on BBC Watchdog last year most areas have been vastly improved. I've certainly had no issues yet  :fingers:
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

stevebrass

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #382 on: June 01, 2018, 11:33:20 AM »

Been on VM for a month and rock solid so far.
Logged
Netgear Orbi; Virgin Super Hub 3 in modem mode.

sotonsam

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #383 on: June 01, 2018, 01:57:53 PM »

From my experience, it's very area-dependant with regards to their capacity issues. I know where I live that I can get VM up to 350, but I just couldn't put myself through it again (I’ve been there before). I know people who are on my street and on the 350 package, they have a visit once a month from VM to attach new attenuators to their coax and they just cannot get anywhere near 100mb at peak. They're fully aware that our area is over congested and poor quality - it's based on the ex NTL/Videotron and hasn't been touched since those days, so seriously lacking investment.

So if you're lucky enough to be in a newish build area then you'll probably get good results. Not sure I'll be going near them for the time being though!
Logged
AAISP FTTC 80/20. BT Infinity FTTC 80/20. ECI Cab.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27387
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #384 on: June 01, 2018, 05:47:00 PM »

. . . The fibre is converted to coaxial inside the customers property. . . .

If you check the images that Ronski has provided (Pic4.jpg here), you'll see that the media converter (fibre <---> co-axial) is located outside the premises.  ;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1978
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #385 on: June 04, 2018, 04:38:37 PM »

I noticed there is an update on this story: https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2018/02/quick-update-virgin-media-hub-3-router-latency-fix.html

Quote
UPDATE 4th June 2018

Some of you have been asking for an update. So far the new firmware (e.g. v9.1.116.603 and .608) is supposed to have been deployed to both trial users and owners of the Hub 3.0 on Virgin Media’s top broadband tier (currently 350Mbps or 300Mbps before that), although Hub 3.0 owners on slower tiers have been left to wait.

A spokesperson told ISPreview.co.uk, “Further firmware updates are being worked on and we’re hoping to roll these out as soon as possible (testing permitted).” Sadly they couldn’t give a clearer indication than that.

As anyone used the firmware v9.1.116.603 or v9.1.116.608?

Did you find any improvement with the Hub 3?
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3286
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #386 on: June 04, 2018, 10:19:49 PM »

Certainly seems to have fixed mine.



Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3189
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #387 on: June 17, 2018, 10:35:38 AM »

Still no sign on roadsworks.org for Crow Hill being done. Did see  a sign yesterday which said coming soon which was just above Claire Court on the corner of Linden Avenue, but dont know if it is relevant or just not been collected. VM are ripping up Linden Avenue at the moment but until Crow Hill is done there will be no way to connect it as both ends are in Crow Hill.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Zico

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #388 on: June 17, 2018, 11:16:36 AM »

Crow Hill is still coming.
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3189
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #389 on: June 17, 2018, 11:21:05 AM »

Crow Hill is still coming.

I'm sure it is, just interested as to when we are being dug up  ;)

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220
Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26] 27 28 ... 30