Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 15 ... 30

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 69845 times)

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #180 on: March 25, 2018, 09:15:41 PM »

How are you guys covered for broadband at the moment? Is there a chance the uptake will be quite high?

VM will install the bare minimum of capacity and may be somewhat tardy about upgrading it, even though it'll be relatively easy to do so.

Ports cost money. Once the network is in the ground and live it moves to operational expenditure, and that particular purse string is tighter than a camel's sphincter in a sandstorm.

Incidentally do not order the Business 'Voom' service with a static IP address. VM cannot support this properly, know they cannot support it properly, but sell it anyway.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3381
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #181 on: March 25, 2018, 10:21:59 PM »

You seem to have changed you're tone a bit.

Speeds are not great on our estate, I'm just over 450 meters and get around 47/7, so I suspect uptake could be high.

I'm not going for a business package, wouldn't want to risk a 2 year contract,  will most likely go 350/20 just for the faster upload.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #182 on: March 25, 2018, 11:18:08 PM »

You seem to have changed you're tone a bit.

Bitter experience. Eyes have been opened to the absurd reality of how disconnected the budget for Lightning and the operational budget are - see my BQM in the thread for that, or this:



350 has never been available here, even to businesses.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27839
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #183 on: March 26, 2018, 12:17:59 AM »

. . . see my BQM in the thread for that, or this:



Yuck.  :yuck:

Is your service over a hybrid (fibre/co-axial) connection?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3381
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #184 on: March 26, 2018, 06:16:34 AM »

That is very bad,  can't remember the history on your area, is it new?

Awaits comments from BS ;)
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #185 on: March 26, 2018, 07:14:03 AM »

That is very bad,  can't remember the history on your area, is it new?

Awaits comments from BS ;)

Ha ha ..... would I !!  ;) ;D
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #186 on: March 26, 2018, 09:46:53 AM »

My street became live in September of last year. The node itself was built the previous year. It's a part of the Lightning build.

It is hybrid, not FTTP, however that's not a limiting factor really. Per http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/GRE-tunnel-endpoint-IPs/m-p/3686545#M178648 there is plenty of capacity free on the RF network.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3381
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #187 on: March 26, 2018, 10:15:33 AM »

Perhaps you need to speak to BBC Watchdog,  I'm sure they would love to know that VM are still carrying on in their old ways.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1414
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #188 on: March 26, 2018, 10:54:18 AM »

@Ignitionnet

I note the level of official response from Virgin Media to your posts. Is that typical?
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #189 on: March 26, 2018, 11:50:49 AM »

Yes. The social media team respond but are no help. The escalation team are giving the mushroom treatment.
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

supernoodles

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #190 on: March 26, 2018, 12:09:07 PM »

saw a guy in a virgin media hi-vis jacket today in my road (Clements road) opening the small grey cabinets writing something down then moving onto the next one sadly I was unable to go and ask if he knew how much longer I was looking to wait :(
Logged

hornet156

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #191 on: March 26, 2018, 07:06:37 PM »

saw a guy in a virgin media hi-vis jacket today in my road (Clements road) opening the small grey cabinets writing something down then moving onto the next one sadly I was unable to go and ask if he knew how much longer I was looking to wait :(

i saw him in the big grey box at the end of greenfield road
today looked like he was connecting wires in there
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3211
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #192 on: March 27, 2018, 11:29:53 AM »

Just got back from ASDA and there are two VM Vans right by the two cabinets by the roundabout with a tent over one of the cabinets so work is afoot on there for someting.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

supernoodles

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #193 on: March 27, 2018, 11:56:00 AM »

Two virgin media vans were outside my house at the small grey cab around 30 mins ago went out and caught one of them running some sort of test so asked when it was going live got told thats what they were doing so the service in my road is now live but gotta wait for the system to update and recognise that.

Also asked about up by Asda and he said a few of the roads connected to the big main cab should be live today but he didn't know which ones as he was working on the roads near me
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4981
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #194 on: March 27, 2018, 12:37:15 PM »

It's all getting exciting ...... looking forward to seeing ronski's 12Mbps speeds, veeeery soon !!  ;D ;D
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 15 ... 30
 

anything